We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay in room in room 101” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Walsh's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Walsh's Hotel to your Saves list
Walsh's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walsh's Hotel
53 Main St, Maghera BT46 5BN, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Maghera B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay in room in room 101”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

we stayed in the hotel on a Saturday night in January. The room that they gave us looked fine and very presentable. The issues I had with the hotel I will relate here but the hotel did nothing to sort any of these out and did not really do much by way of apology.
Room 101 was above the bar and there was a disco in the bar until 01.30. We could not even stay in the room whilst the disco was on let alone sleep!
A stag party and a hen party were staying in the hotel that night and many of the people involved spent the whole night running around the hotel banging doors. Sleep was impossible until 07.30 when they finally stopped the noise.
The shower in the bathroom did not work and there was no plug in the bath so we could not wash easily in the morning.
I asked for vegan food for breakfast and was told that that would not bew a problem. It was a problem. There was virtually nothing I could eat. When we asked for some toast the waiter had to go to the small supermarket next door to get some bread!
The receptionist was brilliant and did what she could to help and it soon became obvious that the management of the hotel were not that concerned about the issues I raised. She reduced our bill by 10% and said she could not go any lower.
I wrote to the hotel management and got a cursory letter in return that nearly apologised but offered us nothing for a night of no sleep, no food and no washing facilities!

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 - check out hen/stag parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    7
    15
    6
See reviews for
13
31
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co.armagh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I have stayed at walshs numerous times but have not entered a review until now having casually read some of the contributions below.I can honestly say that I have stayed as small and large parties for many years and have had nothing but courtesy from the staff.To me the rooms are lovely with nice character,exposed brick etc,the food in the bar and dining room is top rate and reasonable,and jacks bar is an excellent location to have a drink or two.In summary i have nothing but praise for the hotel and would advise anyone thinking of going to give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

group of 14 girls went to this hotel for my 40th. on arrival we were made stand in reception til we paid balance in full. when this was done they insisted on security deposit from each of us. while waiting in reception no one was allowed to go to toilet or go to bar. apalling. then we were told that the night club was not on that night,but it was in our price we paid for night club. when we got to our rooms the smell of damp was awful and rooms were freezing.plus our tiolet never worked.we reported this an at 2.30am a bar man came to fix toilet an informed us we need a plumber. plumber never arrived. the hotel is very run down. wish i had of known how bad this hotel was before i took my friends there.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maghera hotels

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

i stayed at walshes last saturday nite 22/1/11 and found the place to be very run down with bad smells in the room, it has let its standards slip drastically...we were made stand like criminals till every penny was handed over and not allowed to even use the toilets until they were paid in full....once we paid we were told there was no nite.club on that nite(which was included in the price) the toilet wasnt workin in one of the rooms and they didnt send anyone up till 2.30am the heating wasnt on for our arrivals...there was also 2 vegetarian girls on our group who didnt take desert and asked could they have an irish coffee..the waiter said sure and then charged them 9 pound...i found the place appalling the staff ignorant and certainly wouldnt recommend for any future parties

Stayed January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Haven't stayed at the hotel but have spent a bit of time here. It's a great spot for drinks and food with friends. Very friendly staff who even made calls to microsoft to help me fix my computer problems!! Great Lunch Carvery at brilliant price! Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband and I booked into this hotel for three nights while attending a family wedding. Our first surprise was to find that the hotel was on the corner of a very busy junction and the 'hotel car park' was, in reality, three spaces outside the main entrance and some public parking near the local shops.
We were warned that the hotel would be noisy until 1 a.m. but did not expect to be disturbed until 02.30 when, in desperation, we phoned reception to ask if they would intervene to quell the party that was taking place under our window. The noise finally abated at around 04.00.
The main problem that we encountered was that our bedroom stank of cigarette smoke. Attempts had been made to disipate the smell by opening the window and propping the inner door open with a fire extinguisher. However, once we had closed the window, (in an attempt to reduce the noise level), and disturbed the soft furnishings the smell of cigarette smoke became overpowering. The room did have a smoke alarm which was obviously not working properly.
We complained the next morning to the hotel manager and he quickly and efficiently transferred us to another hotel.
Although the food was of a good standard and the rooms more than adequate, I would not recommend the hotel as a place to stay unless you are part of a loud, noisy party, are deaf or a very heavy smoker (bearing in mind that smoking in hotel bedrooms is against the law!)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Walsh's Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
At Walsh’s Hotel we strive to continuously improve the hotel and the service we provide. Our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards and are checked by Management on a regular basis. We are very sorry it escaped the attention of our staff that there was a smell of smoke in the room. All our rooms are non smoking and we strive to enforce this policy. Generally, the guest would have immediately been moved to another room, but being fully booked this was not an option on this occasion. The General Manager did however deal with it as best as he could, as soon as he was informed of the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walsh's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walsh's Hotel

Address: 53 Main St, Maghera BT46 5BN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Maghera
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walsh's Hotel is a traditional country style hotel, conveniently located halfway between Belfast and Derry, just off the main A6 Glenshane Pass and is central to all major tourist destinations in Northern Ireland. It offers home from home comfort in each of its beautifully appointed rooms, free parking, free wifi access, and encompasses Jack's Bar, Jack's Grill Bar, The Silverhill Restaurant & Wine Bar, & Gravity Nightclub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Walsh's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walsh's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.