We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stoney River Lodge to your Saves list
Stoney River Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Idlewild Lane, Drake, CO 80537 (Formerly 2 Eagles Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drake
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed in this resort for 2 nights in May and we really enjoyed it. There are no fancy equipments in cabins, yet you can find everything you need to cook, BBQ, entertain and relax.
It is located near Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park, which makes it ideal for spending several days in the area. My kids loved it and our friends, who came from Washington State also enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

wanted to put a good word in for 2 eagles resort in Loveland Co. My wife and i have been there 3 time in the past 7 years , and have always enjoyed our stay . the sceneary ,and Hospitality are top notch . the resort is very clean and with plenty of things to do during your stay .
i highly recommend this resort for your next stay in the loveland area , and bring your fishing pole because there are plenty of trout right in front of 2 eagles in the Big Thompson River .
two thumbs up for Rhonda and her staff !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We had a great time staying at 2 Eagles Resort. We brought our small dog and stayed in the Cowboy room, big enough for two people and containing a kitchenette, perfect for our trip. We used 2 Eagles as our base camp, as we spent most of our time in Rocky Mountain National Park. We choose 2 Eagles because it was affordable, pet-friendly and located just 20 minutes away from Estes Park. It was quiet at night and had many ammenities that we just didn't have time to partake it such as a hot tub, children's play area and access to the Big Thompson River. There was a campfire at least two nights (although we were so tired from our hiking during the day that we just crashed at night. Many other patrons also brought their dogs. I would highly recommend 2 Eagles Resort as a great "base camp" for activities in and around Estes Park.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

My daughter and I were looking to find a very relaxing cabin for some relaxation and quality time together. We were also looking for a cabin that accepted our 2 dogs. 2 Eagles Resort (cabins), was more than accomidating in getting us what we were looking for and at a very reasonable price. They were very personable during our stay and made sure we had everything we needed. The cabin had that "rustic" feel that we were hoping for, not to mention being clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend 2 Eagles to my friends and we will definitely go back in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Quite, rustic cabins on a beautiful river. Cabin we stayed had plenty of space, linens were clean and in good shape. It was close enough to Estes Park to enjoy that area and still be able to return to the cabin in a reasonable time. The kids and the dog really enjoyed out stay adn we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Enjoyed the river and fall weather. Enclosed play area keeps little ones safe while you enjoy watching the Big Thompson flow by. Enjoyed our "Cowboy" room, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I have been going to 2 Eagles Resort for wow I guess 6 to 7 years. I have gone with gal pals, romantic interest, mother and sisters, and also by myself. I love the fact that I can bring my dogs. Rhonda is a huge animal lover, but there are certain cabins that she does not allow animals in. It is a great place to open the windows at night and here the sounds of the river right outside your room. There is a nightly fire to sit by and reflect on the day. your life, whatever you feel like reflecting on. There is great hiking directly behind the cabins. The hottub at night is soooo relaxing. This is truly a place to go if you want to unwind from the daily stress of life. It is smack dab between Estes Park and Loveland, so if a restaurant, site seeing, or shopping is on your list of things to do you are close to both towns. Rhonda is great at giving suggestions on things to do, should you so desire. You can be as active with those also staying there as you want, or as secluded as you want. I WILL NOT stay anywhere that is not clean. The cabins I have been in (and I have stayed in most of them at one time or another) have ALWAYS been clean. I recommend this as a quiet, restful, and friendly vacation spot.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney River Lodge

Address: 80 Idlewild Lane, Drake, CO 80537 (Formerly 2 Eagles Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Drake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney River Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the river and in the woods...just the way we like it. 2 Eagles Resort is located just 15 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is a great alternative to "in town" lodging. We offer a variety of affordable accommodations ranging from kitchenettes, to suites with full kitchens, to completely self contained cottages. The atmosphere is "family" and the attitude is left behind. Hike our secluded trails, fish outside your door, play horseshoes and volleyball. Or you could just kick back and enjoy the serenity. Smoking outdoors okay. Dog friendly units available. FREE WI-FI and Sat TV Some units with fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Stoney River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Eagles Hotel Loveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.