We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Visit to Dunton Hot Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunton Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dunton Hot Springs to your Saves list
Dunton Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   52068 West Fork Road 38, Dolores, CO 81323   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dolores
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Family Visit to Dunton Hot Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our family visited Dunton Hot Springs at the end of a long vacation visiting Arizona and New Mexico as well as Colorado. I would agree with the other reviewers that this is a very special place. There is both a feeling of pristine wilderness, a sense of outlaw history and well thought through rustic chic. The hot springs further add to the uniqueness. The only comparison I can think of is staying at a thermal Ryokan in Japan. Dips into the various hot pools quickly became part of our daily routine.

We found the hotel management to have a high attention to detail. They were also very helpful when one of our teenagers was delayed flying in from Canada and we were offered free calls to sort out complicated new travel arrangements.

There are a few important caveats to absolute perfection. Dunton is so isolated that all meals are in the hands of the resident chef. We had a few less than perfect meals. Chewy pasta or tough dry fish. The additional outdoor activities (we sampled the horse riding and the fishing) were well done, but perhaps double the cost or more than similar experiences in other resorts in the South West. The lawns in between the cabins had been left to go wild (maybe to encourage wild flowers?) and the outside spaces of the resort looked somewhat uncared for. We also found it hard to find initially, the resort is not clearly posted from the nearest main road and we missed the turning a number of times.

Overall we had a very nice week at Dunton Hot Springs. There is an atmosphere that sets it apart and it offers a genuine break from the outside world.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
95
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katie in Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Visiting Dunton Hot Springs for a wedding and all i can say is ON MY GOSH. It was frustrating to find, truly in the middle of no where and very remote but once we arrived, it was transporting..... gorgeous surroundings, top notch accommodations. Granted we were spoiled because the whole town was rented out for the wedding so it was just us but it was enchanting and superb in every way. Staff was charming, hot springs were lovely and grounds were wonderful to explore.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Dunton is such a special place that it is hard to find a place to start the accolades. A quick glance of the other reviews here clearly show that this is an exceptional location, but you always wonder if a place will live up to its expectations....fortunately, for us, it exceeded them.

I must say that Dunton is not for everyone. If you look solely at their pricing and figure that it is on par with their industry 5 star rivals, they are not. This is probably not the place for the regulars to the Four Seasons or the Mandarin Oriental. If you need 2 butlers to shadow you and fluff your self-promoting ego, this is not your place.

However, if you appreciate the true beauty of the SW Colorado area and appreciate true solitude and relaxation amongst the company of others seeking the same, this place will never leave you.

From the quality of the dining (every meal exceptional)...to the staff members...to the waters of the hot springs, Dunton will only frustrate you with the sad fact that eventually you will have to go home and back to reality.

You can go to many 5 star resorts and they will hand you everything that your money can buy, but Dunton will offer you an experience that no amount of money can buy.

Needless to say, not a matter of if I will go back, just a matter of how long before I can get back there.

Room Tip: Consider traveling during winter rates. They are less expensive than the busy summer season. We trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

From the moment we made the last turn in from Telluride and the town of Dunton appeared in front of us, we felt like we were back home. You will read a lot of reviews that talk about how special and magical this place is...and, well, their right. The seclusion, the beautiful starlit evenings, the fantastically laid back, yet attentive staff, stellar food, and overall ambiance are simply hard to beat. We were lucky enough to have Dunton mostly to ourselves on are most recent trip, but had the pleasure of spending the first evening with a couple from LA (in the film industry) and the second night with a newly published and well reviewed writer. These guests made our trip all that much better as the conversations lasted well into the night. I will take special note to thank Eduardo, General Manager, for his seemly effortless ability to share stories with us over dinner and make us feel truly at home. We will look forward to seeing him and the staff again on our next trip. This round, we chose to go fly fishing once again and it didn't disappoint. The miles of private river and setting are simply wonderful. In close, the last evening we were there, the town received a light snow which was breath-taking, especially as we drove out back to the Montrose Airport. We stayed in the Dolores Cabin (Honeymoon) down by the river, and loved being tucked tight up to the river.

No one is able to combine the feeling of rustic lodge, town and seclusion with the level of luxury tied to it that Dunton supplies. Worth every penny and we will be back again.

Room Tip: All the cabins are special in their own way. Some are smaller, some are larger...spend some time lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying three nights at Dunton in The Major Ross cabin. It was sublime. There is no place like Dunton in the world. It really is a special, secluded property. Yes, you pay the price for such seclusion and luxury, but the experience we had there was well worth it. The staff, the food, the surroundings, the hot springs, nightly conversations with other guests, drinks in the saloon - all perfection. We had the pleasure of dining with the owner, Christophe one afternoon and sampling wines (a lot of wines into the wee hours) with the colorful character and property wine supplier, John Sutcliffe. We will be reminiscing about our stay at Dunton for a long time to come.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

From the initial welcoming cocktail at the saloon we knew we were going to be in good hands. Within the first hour of meeting some of the other guests, the idea that the world is small place was reaffirmed. The beauty of Dunton Hot Springs, and what sets it apart from any other place, is the balance between utter privacy yet true communal bonding. After taking a walk through some of the most serene nature around, you swap stories with the other guests at one communal table savoring some of the most incredible food.
While we were there on our honeymoon we enjoyed everything from lavender french toast with fresh berries in the morning to a BBQ at night of meat that had been smoked and slow cooked all day. On our last night, we even met the resident Winemaker John Sutcliffe and sat for 4 hours enjoying his company. Priceless.
It is hard to do justice to the special interactions you have with the guests and staff alike or really describe the utter rustic luxury that Dunton exudes.
We are already planning another trip back and can't stop talking about our special, incredible 2 days there. The post cards of Dunton are hanging on our fridge as a constant reminder.

Room Tip: we stayed in the General Store - cabin which has it's own small hot spring. It blew away expecta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We recently celebrated our wedding at Dunton Hot Springs. I can honestly say that I could not have pictured it any more perfectly. We had never been there before, booked it online and are very glad that we did. We invited ~40 of our closest friends and family to share a few days at Dunton and I wish it could have been longer! The scenic drive to Dunton is stunning. We started our weekend with a fantastic outdoor (gourmet) BBQ and the food didn't stop all weekend long. Chef Dave and his team were outstanding. From a massive cold seafood platter to fois gras stuffed elk burgers, every meal was delicious and decadent. Dave even built us a "wedding cake" out of wheels of cheese! Ed and his team of staff went above and beyond to make sure all of our needs were met. They arranged for the wedding flowers to be stored before our arrival, ordered some special out-of-state beer and made sure our wedding was truly fantastic. Bojo and her trusty pup led us on countless adventures (swimming through frozen stream!); there was horseback riding, rock climbing and wonderful fly fishing in the freshly stocked river! After all this excitement we even enjoyed relaxing spa treatments. The cabins look rustic, weathered and historic from the outside but are immaculate, luxurious and yet very cozy on the inside. The hot springs were probably the hit of the weekend; so many to choose from, the different temperatures and locations around the town add some nice variety. Just be careful, they can be a bit slippery (especially after a few drinks ;). The wonderful bartenders kept the drinks flowing and even made us late-nighters a midnight snack of grilled cheese sandwiches and heirloom tomato salad, yum!
All of our guests have commented on what a wonderful weekend and wedding it was. Every little detail has been attended to at Dunton, even wifi in this very remote town for those who need to stay in touch.
I can't wait to go back! One year anniversary maybe?!!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are amazing. I like Well House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunton Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunton Hot Springs

Address: 52068 West Fork Road 38, Dolores, CO 81323
Location: United States > Colorado > Dolores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dolores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunton Hot Springs 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering luxurious and private cabin rentals in Southwest Colorado. Our cabins are in the San Juan Mountains. We offer an all-inclusive vacation. Enjoy our full service spa, fine dining, lodging, and activities. Book the entire town for your corporate retreat or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Dunton Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunton Hot Springs Dolores
Dunton Hot Springs Hotel Dolores
Dunton Hot Springs Colorado/Dolores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunton Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.