We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Circle K Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Circle K Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Circle K Guest Ranch
27758 Hwy 145, Dolores, CO 81323   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolores
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good overall experience. Enjoyed the horseback ride. Motel section recently renovated and rooms are nice. Shower a bit small. No maid service the second day. Large youth group made a lot of noise late into the night but didn't come to close to the motel part.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our family has stayed at Circle K Ranch many times. It is our favorite summer vacation spot. The scenery is fabulous, and famous destinations such as Telluride and Durango provide plenty of exciting things for the family to enjoy. Or if you are just looking for some R and R, there are plenty of fun things to do at the ranch, such as horseback riding, fishing, swimming in the river, and hiking. The home-cooked meals are excellent, and the staff are very accommodating and make you feel right at home instantly. I recommend at least a 4-day stay at this wonderful place. You will not want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagtsaff, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are not used to it, it may seem scary to go to a ranch instead of a motel. But we did just that and LOVED it. The people were warm and friendly. The food was wonderful after long hours on the road. Our room was very simple but very clean and sufficient. The beds were comfortable.
We loved this place. and if you have children it is even better as they have horses to ride!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family travelled to Colorado for a family vacation. We were interested in a place with beautiful scenery, lots of peaceful nature, and affordable prices. We hit the jackpot with the Circle K.
Now this is not a fancy dude ranch. We stayed in the Columbine cabin. It was clean and basic. The staff were wonderfully helpful, friendly and kind. The wrangler was very accommodating. I am not crazy about horseback riding, but he talked me into it with assurances of a calm horse and beautiful scenery. He kept his word.
Our family purchased the full service plan that included 3 meals a day. The food was bountiful and good. My teenage son said this was one of the things he looked forward to the most each day. The cook was great about accommodating any dietary restrictions too.
Just a note, the cable slide/zip line is not in service this year due to some new regulations, but they hope to have a new one up next season.

Room Tip: I suggest booking a cabin rather than one of the 'motel' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It was a great place. Very beautiful location. Cabin's were clean. We booked late in the day, they were able to accomodate us. The cabin was waiting with the door unlocked and the light on. We left early the next morning and had a great time. Thank you....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Well , This was one the best locations too stay on the way from dolores to telluride , we took a cabin and it was really nice. Staff was courteous and helpful. Strongly recommend this to anyone travelling to SW colorado.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a fun place to stay to wind down and relax. My family and I enjoyed our stay so much, we didn't want to leave. My girls (ages 10 & 11) claim this was the best part of our two week vacation. We rode horses, went wading in the Dolores river, played in the game room, rode the zip line and just relaxed! Our trail guide for horse back riding was "Michelle", she was fantastic ! Very knowledgable and patient.

The motel rooms were nice and comfy with a heater (I was suprised to find we needed heat at night during our August stay), but a little crowded for our family of 4. Also, I made the assumption there would be a TV and fridge. Not a big deal for us, but just worth mentioning. The place is rustic - what I would expect for a ranch. No frills, nothing fancy.

Room Tip: Consider choosing something other than a motel room, if a family (larger than 2).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circle K Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle K Guest Ranch

Address: 27758 Hwy 145, Dolores, CO 81323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Dolores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle K Ranch is a fun, family friendly ranch where you can enjoy lodging along the beautiful Dolores River, home cooked meals and amazing horseback adventures through the spectacular San Juan Mountains. Fall hunting packages available for elk and mule deer hunters. Great Value!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Circle K Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circle K Guest Ranch Colorado/Dolores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle K Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.