We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circle K Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Circle K Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Circle K Guest Ranch
27758 Hwy 145, Dolores, CO 81323   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolores
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family travelled to Colorado for a family vacation. We were interested in a place with beautiful scenery, lots of peaceful nature, and affordable prices. We hit the jackpot with the Circle K.
Now this is not a fancy dude ranch. We stayed in the Columbine cabin. It was clean and basic. The staff were wonderfully helpful, friendly and kind. The wrangler was very accommodating. I am not crazy about horseback riding, but he talked me into it with assurances of a calm horse and beautiful scenery. He kept his word.
Our family purchased the full service plan that included 3 meals a day. The food was bountiful and good. My teenage son said this was one of the things he looked forward to the most each day. The cook was great about accommodating any dietary restrictions too.
Just a note, the cable slide/zip line is not in service this year due to some new regulations, but they hope to have a new one up next season.

Room Tip: I suggest booking a cabin rather than one of the 'motel' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Emerson, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It was a great place. Very beautiful location. Cabin's were clean. We booked late in the day, they were able to accomodate us. The cabin was waiting with the door unlocked and the light on. We left early the next morning and had a great time. Thank you....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Well , This was one the best locations too stay on the way from dolores to telluride , we took a cabin and it was really nice. Staff was courteous and helpful. Strongly recommend this to anyone travelling to SW colorado.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a fun place to stay to wind down and relax. My family and I enjoyed our stay so much, we didn't want to leave. My girls (ages 10 & 11) claim this was the best part of our two week vacation. We rode horses, went wading in the Dolores river, played in the game room, rode the zip line and just relaxed! Our trail guide for horse back riding was "Michelle", she was fantastic ! Very knowledgable and patient.

The motel rooms were nice and comfy with a heater (I was suprised to find we needed heat at night during our August stay), but a little crowded for our family of 4. Also, I made the assumption there would be a TV and fridge. Not a big deal for us, but just worth mentioning. The place is rustic - what I would expect for a ranch. No frills, nothing fancy.

Room Tip: Consider choosing something other than a motel room, if a family (larger than 2).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

There is no other place we would rather stay than at the Circle K Ranch, along the Dolores River, in South West Colorado. Surrounded by the tranquillity of nature, the majestic mountains, the river, privacy, and peace. This is a perfect place for escaping the non stop and hectic life of the big city "jungles".
The cabin's are well stocked with essentials for making a good home made meal, they are clean, and well maintained, and just simple enough to be comfortable.
We found the staff to be very friendly and curtious, no matter how great or how simple our request might be, they always met and at times exceeded our expectations.
We have decided we will be returning here next year, and were able to look into the motel rooms, lodge rooms, and other cabins. Although the motel and lodge definately have some age on them, they are being updated on an ongoing basis. All were clean, and decorated in the old west decor.
No, there was little or no cell phone reception, there were a few channels on satellite tv, however if you are there to enjoy the adventures of the days in Colorado, by night fall, sleep was a very welcome thing, and we did not miss the inability at times not being able to "connect" with the busy outside world.
If you are hoping to spend some time in a place that has no equal, good location, fishing, horseback riding, hiking, and sight seeing, as far as we are concerned, this is the place to be. Just step back to a quiet place in time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were displaced from our home for more than a week by the 2012 wildfires of Colorado. We needed a place to stay on short notice with our pets, and by good fortune discovered Circle K. The location along the Dolores River is gorgeous. Our cabin was comfortable, well-maintained, clean, and quiet. There are many wonderful hiking trails within a mile or two of the ranch. Everyone at Circle K was so helpful and friendly - they turned our evacuation into a vacation, and everything turned out well.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Columbine Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had several special request and the Ranch made sure we met and exceeded our expectations. The trail ride up the mountains on a cool drizzly day could have been miserable but instead it was made into one of the most beautiful and amazing rides.

Everyone, and I mean everyone including the other guest made us feel a part of the ranch.

Room Tip: We had the Columbine Cabin (the last cabin open.) While it didn't look like a standard resort c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circle K Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle K Guest Ranch

Address: 27758 Hwy 145, Dolores, CO 81323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Dolores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dolores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle K Ranch is a fun, family friendly ranch where you can enjoy lodging along the beautiful Dolores River, home cooked meals and amazing horseback adventures through the spectacular San Juan Mountains. Fall hunting packages available for elk and mule deer hunters. Great Value!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Circle K Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circle K Guest Ranch Colorado/Dolores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle K Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.