We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place kids loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McGinty's Wood Oven Pub

McGinty's Wood Oven Pub
11115 W Hwy 24, Divide, CO 80814
719.686.7703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 restaurants in Divide
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place kids loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We went to McGinty's twice on our recent Colorado vacation. My kids loved this place. They loved making there own pizza. Food is good prices are decent and the view of Pikes Peak from the outdoor seating is awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    27
    22
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family and I just ate at this restaurant. We loved it! We had the fondue appetizer-veggies and beer bread and cheese sauce. It was good! Light and just the right amount for an appetizer. The kids (ages 7 & 10) had pizza from the kids menu. They loved it because they got to make it themselves. That was a huge plus with our kids. The kids got to choose their toppings. My husband and I got a pizza. We enjoyed it. Nothing outstanding but it but was delicious. We got the Stout chocolate cake for dessert-very good! The place is clean, the service was prompt and friendly. We really liked the atmosphere- grill/pub but upscale. Prices were very comparable to places we've eaten before. Servings were good size for prices!! We would definitely go back!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Eat West of Woodland Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've visited McGinty's Wood Oven Pub in Divide three times now. It's not a large establishment, but then again, Divide wouldn't support a large establishment. What sets McGinty's apart is the fact they're like a metropolitan restaurant and bar, except halfway into the wilderness. You simply won't find a better restaurant west of Woodland Park, Colorado, and I'd argue McGinty's gives any Woodland Park restaurant a run for the money. The place boasts a small Irish pub with a full service bar, separated from a small restaurant with large booths (that will accommodate 6-8 people) and tables. The food is excellent. On various occasions, I've enjoyed the Friday night fish fry (a HUGE portion of white fish in beer batter -- delicious), pizza (again, a huge portion that could easily be shared among 3-4 people) and a salad (the name escapes me, but it was a large serving of mixed greens with a grilled chicken breast, mozzarella slices, tomato, and balsamic vinaigrette). Beyond the food, the ambiance can't be beat. McGinty's offers an outdoor seating area with large fireplace/pit during the warm season and fantastic views of the surrounding countryside to those who prefer to eat indoors. The service is courteous and efficient, even when it's busy (which it usually is). Even the restrooms are clean and elegantly appointed. The only negative thing one can say about McGinty's is this: if only it were twice as large! I will continue to frequent McGinty's each time I make the pilgrimage to Florissant, Colorado. You can't go wrong here. Oh, and by the way, it's a very kid-friendly place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprise, it's NOT a wood oven!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We're not sure how they can call themselves a "wood oven" pub, since they don't use wood, but anyways...great food, especially the sandwiches and pizza. Breakfast items are on a smaller scale to any other restaurant in the area. They do use quality ingredients for everything. But, it really doesn't matter what time you go to the restaurant, you will not be quickly served food...that's just how all the cooks in Teller County, CO roll (very laid back, you're not in the city, folks). You will get your drinks quickly because they do have the most experienced servers, so have patience and don't go when you're already starving because you'll be in for a rather long wait. Also, keep in mind that they do NOT take reservations...a real bummer on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stop by and give it a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice little family pub. GREAT unique pizza and decently priced, really good fish and chips on Fridays, and genuine Irish specialties. Saturdays special prime rib is good and for the price it should be. Maybe they are a little pricey on some menu items but it is not like they have much competition in Divide, CO. Stop by and give it a try!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGinty's Wood Oven Pub also viewed

 

Been to McGinty's Wood Oven Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGinty's Wood Oven Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.