We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge, Dillon, COLORADO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge, Dillon, COLORADO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel with unbelievable views! It is dog friendly in separate buildings, but did not disturb us at all. Clean, Quiet and affordable! Cannot believe a Hot Breakfast with Eggs, Sausage, and Great Waffles. What a surprise! This will be our preferred stop now......and we can bring our dog with us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06098, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and plan on staying again in the future. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    116
    33
    7
    14
See reviews for
117
122
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been staying at this BW for over 10 yrs now and we consider it our home away from home. We love the all the upgrades to the place because it just makes it even better. We've stayed at numerous other BW in many other states, but hand down this is the best one we’ve ever stayed at. We look forward to seeing everyone that work there because now we consider them our extended family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06098, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you have noticed the upgrades around the property. We thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice property with a great view of the lake and mountains depending on your exposure. Walking distance to restaurants. The amphitheater is across the street for the free summer concerts. The rooms and the grounds are well maintained. The breakfast room is too small when the occupancy is a above 50-60 %. The bed pillows are lacking in size and plumpness. Building 4 has very nice bathrooms but bath towels akin to Brillo pads

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06098, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the property and surrounding area. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay at the Ptarmigan Lodge every year, at least once and are always very happy with everything. We sometimes take our dog and the pet friendly rooms are very clean and comfortable. Close enough to the lake to enjoy the view and hear the music from the amphitheater across the street. We always check the availability of the Ptarmigan when travelling to Summit County.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06098, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you choose us for you hospitality needs when in Summit County. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durango
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cannot beat the value for the accommodations. Great location, right on the lake. Nice rooms, hot tub & sauna. Nice size bathroom with good shower and hot water. Super restaurant next door for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Have been staying there for years whenever in the area. Highly recommend it. No bed bugs to worry about here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This facility offers a relatively large room and is very clean and well-maintained. The breakfast has the usual assortment of cereal, breads, scrambled eggs and sausage. Not gourmet dining, but decent and coffee is good. The breakfast area is small and seating can be in short supply, but there is the option of eating outdoors in nice weather.
The big positive is the location, right on Lake Dillon. It is a short walk to a couple restaurants and also to the marina and amphitheater. It is very picturesque.
We have stayed here a number of times over the years and are happy to report that there are steady improvements that have been made over time. The big surprise this trip was that there was an individual room air-conditioner in our room in building 3. The buildings get quite warm in the summer and don't readily cool down without the a/c, even with the cool overnight mountain air. The a/c unit was a bit noisy, so we learned to cool down the room before we went to bed and then turn on the ceiling fan to keep air circulating. That combo did the trick.
The only small annoyance we experienced was the somewhat muffled sound of a rhythmic mechanical "whoosh" that we could hear all night. I don't know what it was. Our room was near the ice machine so that could have been causing it, but not sure. Otherwise, the experience was genuinely pleasant and you just can't beat the location.

Room Tip: If you need A/C, ask to make sure the room has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Looking for your dollars worth this is the place clean a caring staff and a beautiful views. The rooms are clean and redecorated and the food in the mornings is plentiful and the new out door area is perfect to have a picnic in or for just looking at nature.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
06098, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoy the new patio area with the beautiful views of Lake Dillon and the surrounding mountains. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge

Address: 652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel Dillon
Best Western Dillon
Dillon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.