We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Spent 3 nights here during off season so hotel was no where close to full. Room was above average in cleanliness. Beds were comfortable. Lake view was nice. Only issue was no way to control the amount of heat in the room with the thermostat. Simply opened the window when we went to bed & that kept the room temperature comfortable. Asked front desk about it & we were told that AC is set to be installed.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    128
    37
    8
    15
See reviews for
126
139
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Center, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Check in was fast, the view of the lake was nice. Rooms were clean, no a/c or fan so rooms were warm. Ok breakfast with fresh fruit and boiled eggs. Helpful at the desk. Coffee pot in the room was clear across the room from a water source. Comfy beds. Loud area and if u open window for air, it gets noisy. Behind the hotel is a restaurant where people gathered outside the back of the restaurant for a loud drinking party and bar b que.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Loudness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean, and the staff is very friendly & helpful. The bed was extremely comphy. Was a beautiful location, right near the huge lake and marina. It's also pet-friendly. We walked our dog around the lake and took pictures. It's a scenic area. Plus we noticed they are very diligent about keeping the parking lot free of ice and snow. :) There is also a pub & grill nearby, I forget the name, but it's also really good (the food is very expensive - but the beer isn't too pricy and is brewed there, so it's unique & tasty). Our only complaint about the hotel is that the water pressure in the shower was not good, and there was this constant loud 'banging pipe' sound in the wall. We informed the staff when we checked out, so maybe they fixed it. We think the best part about the hotel is it's awesome sauna and hot tub! Would recommend if you're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed one night at the Best Western Ptarmigan lodge / hotel on Lake Dillon. We have stayed here on several occasions. We stay here because it is right next to the lake and within walking distance to several restaurants. We stayed here for the 4th of July 2008 and wanted to be able to walk to the ampitheater to listen to music and watch the fireworks show and then when it was over just walk to our room & not have to deal with all the traffic trying to leave out of town.
We booked a smoking suite (smoking was the only room available that had a mini kitchen in it that we needed). However, I could not really tell it was a smoking room. This was one of the cleaner rooms I have seen in a hotel recently, the bathroom was nearly spotless, I was impressed. The suite came with microwave, stove, sink, oven and mini refrigerator, two small kitchen tables, cooking pots & pans, silverware, plates, etc. t.v. coffeemaker, free in room coffee, bathroom and 2 double beds. We requested a crib and it was in our room upon checkin. There was one ceiling fan and no a/c. Most places in Summit County do not have a/c in the rooms. There is no bathtub in the bathroom only a shower. We stayed in room 205. Step out the door and you have wonderful view of the lake.
We did not try the continental breakfast this time as last time it was not that great, bread was dry, muffins dry & not a lot to choose from and the room you eat in is tiny. Plus we brought our own breakfast to cook it in our room and did not care for the continental this time around. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here this time, the front desk staff (owner) was wonderful and willing to help with anything, check in and check out went quickly and smoothly.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio rancho nm
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Very nice hotel. The room was very clean and was very quiet. Beautiful area. The lake is right out front of the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a walking, bike path easy to get to for exercise. The breakfast the next morning was satisfactory to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

An unexpected stay here due to horrible weather/roads. Was so glad to see the VACANCY sign in the lobby window. Walked in, asked for the rate, and 10 min later we were never so happy to enter a hotel room. Polite staff and property was well-groomed considering the feet of snow all around.
Room seemed a bit longer than a typical room, but had standard layout - two beds, and two chairs around a table. A sliding glass door leading to a large balcony would be nice in the summer.
We had dinner at a great spot next door to hotel - Arapahoe Cafe & Pub. Reasonable prices, cozy, good service.
Lack of insulation as the morning was very noisy with people in/out of their rooms, slamming doors, talking loudly to someone else already down the hall.
A good continental breakfast in the lobby area - cereal, yogurt, bagels, fruit, juice, coffee, and some small packaged snacks for the road.
Normally, Dillon CO is about an hour from the Denver area. On this Friday afternoon/evening it took 3.5 hours. Interstate 70 was closed at the Eisenhower Tunnel due to a jack-knifed semi. For those who didn't already pass the exit, traffic was being detoured over Loveland Pass (US 6). Was an intense adventure over the worst road conditions I've driven.

  • Liked — location, price, view, free wi-fi
  • Disliked — thin walls, showing age
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

We stayed for a night at this Best Western while in the area for skiing. Room was clean and spacious, comfortable bed. Hotel is comprised of three smaller buildings, our first floor room had a door to the outside which was permanently locked. Must enter/exit through hallway. Not sure as to why, but wasn't a problem for us. Noticed ski lockers in the hallway, but we didn't use them.

Main complaint was the temp - though thermostat is in the room, it does not appear to work; we kept cranking it up, but temp did not go above 65 degrees, which is a little too cold for my taste after skiing all day.

Bed did not have a fitted sheet; the mattress has a flat (not fitted) pad that does not extend over the sides, and the flat sheet goes over that as the base layer to sleep on. Definately not five stars, but we didn't care.

Continental breakfast room is small, not enough seats for everyone, but has a nice view overlooking Lake Dillon. Bland coffee, juices, milk, cereal, hard boiled eggs, bakery items, bagels, and a nice assortment of fruit was available. Nothing fancy, again, but for cheap digs, it was good enough.

Would stay again for price and location to ski resorts.

  • Liked — location, location, location.
  • Disliked — a bit on the chilly side.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge

Address: 652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel Dillon
Best Western Dillon
Dillon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.