We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Dillon
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ski trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for a 4 day ski trip which included one day at Keystone, Breckenridge, Vail, and Copper mountain. You can't beat the location. The view of Lake Dillon is great. The rooms are clean and adequate. They were able to give us late checkout so we could spend our last morning on the mountain. The only complaint would be that the walls are a little thin, but since most people are there to ski and get to bed early this wasn't a real issue. The free breakfast is excellent. Since my last stay the rooms have been upgraded to include modern white bedding with duvets, and new beds. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    109
    28
    7
    14
See reviews for
102
107
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and value of the Ptarmigan Lodge. The hot tub was big and clean and the free breakfast went beyond our expectations. The front desk was friendly and welcoming. The location is great - close to Keystone, Breck, Copper and a fairly short drive to Vail.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is nice and has great views of lake Dillon. The room is good size and has a refridgerator but no safe. The beds are very comfortable as well as the pillows. The room and bathroom are very clean. The only problem is that the lights to the vanity room and bathroom are clear inside by the bathroom so you have to walk in the dark through the little doorway and vanity room to turn on the lights for the bathroom. Also the water pressure in the shower is not that good and teh bathtub drained very slowly so by the time you are finished with your shower you are standing in soapy water up to your ankles. Also they do not have a soap dish to put your soap in after wahing your hands. The hot tub and sauna are nice. When we checked in the girl was not friendly and she was not very informative about anything. We asked what there was to to and she said there is nothing to do in Dillon and that they are a summer resort. We asked what there is to do in the surrounding areas and she said nothing. We were actually there for the snow sculpting competition in Breck but she never mentioned that. Also when we went to go to the hot tub we couldnt find how to turn it on. we touched everything but nothing worked. so we went and asked her how to turn it on and she said there was a switch on the wall and i asked her where and she said it was down low so i asked her what wall it was on and she didnt know. ??? The morning lady told us where it was and it is on the hottub itself. The breakfast was very good sausage, eggs, waffles, juice, coffee, cereal... The morning lady extended out checkout so we could go sit in the hot tub and she is very nice and informative. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were very pleased when we arrived at this hotel. The setting had beautiful views of the mountains and Lake Dillon. There are a few restaurants close by and the outlets are about a mile away. Downtown Frisco was a couple of miles away, but worth a visit--nice shops and restaurants. Our room was large, had two very comfortable queen beds, with nice sheets. The bathroom was very roomy and updated. They have ski lockers in each building, which was very convenient. They offered a nice warm breakfast in the main building. Overall we were very pleased and hope to return in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge during January 2013. Our room was very clean and comfortable and there was a limited view of the lake from the balcony. The facilities seemed to be very well kept especially for one located in a snow/ski area. There were lockers for equipment storage available to the guests in our building. The breakfast was average and the dining area is small, however this was only a problem on one of our mornings when we showed up late with the younger crowd. My girlfriend had several requests which were all handled by the staff. She was very happy with the young lady's on the day and evening shifts. We did not have an opportunity to use the hot tub or even see the facility during our visit. I have stayed in several other hotels in the area and would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lots of variety at Dillon but much better to have a lake view than a freeway view down in Silverthorne.Rooms are clean, warm and have all you need. Breakfast is good but does get busy at times. If you want to ski Breckenridge but also Vail and Beaver Creek you had better stay in Dillon. The Ptarmigan is the best place in Dillon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge

Address: 652 Lake Dillon Drive, Dillon, CO 80435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel Dillon
Best Western Dillon
Dillon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ptarmigan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.