We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FISH TACOS!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimayo Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chimayo Mexican Grill
324 Dillon Ridge Way, Dillon, CO 80435
970-262-6734
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 33 Restaurants in Dillon
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Fast Food, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Most recognized for serving the County's BEST fish and shrimp tacos and burritos. Also in demand are homemade chili rellenos, Mexican-inspired burgers, fajitas, and the County's biggest build-your-own burrito averaging 1.25-1.5 lbs! Catering, Kids Menu, HD TV, Beers on Tap and More! Locally-Owned & Operated since 1998.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FISH TACOS!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I ordered the crunchy fish tacos and they were delicious. They came with white rice, which was just ok, and black beans, which were good. If you like a lot of fish meat order an extra strip of fish for each taco.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food... consistently fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Whether we eat in or get food to go, Chimayo is consistent in quality and freshness -- everything is made to order and with very fresh ingredients. The fish tacos (lunch special on Wednesday!) are truly my favorite, with the steak burrito or carnitas taco salad a close second! Unlike the "other" guys (the chains that serve similar food), Chimayo has excellently seasoned meats -- never too spicy like I have had elsewhere. Looking forward to my next visit...

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fish tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The best fish tacos I've had outside of San Diego. The fish is lightly battered, but is light and has no fryer oil taste to it. So freaking good!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Best fish tacos outside of San Diego. This restaurant is an order-at-the-counter establishment. We all ordered the fish tacos and I was impressed to see the fish fried to order. Two young men were working behind the counter and they were quick and courteous. We ate dinner early around 5:30 just before the dinner rush. There was only one other family ahead of us but I can see with larger crowds the two employees could use an extra set of hands.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Fish Taco's!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stopped in here two years ago when I was in the area for a week and had the fish tacos and classic burrito which were both great. Just stopped in there this week and brought my crew of people, service was a lil slow but there were quite a few of us for lunch so it was understandable but the fish tacos were just as I remembered: Great!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChimayoGrill, Owner at Chimayo Mexican Grill, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Awesome!! Thanks for your patronage and feedback! Hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimayo Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chimayo Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimayo Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.