We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for picnic right on beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dillon Reservoir

Dillon Reservoir
Dillon, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Dillon
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recreational reservoir between Dillon and Frisco.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for picnic right on beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

While staying in Breckenridge we visited Dillon Reservoir. Very pretty and scenic. Free parking right off of highway. We walked with kids maybe .25 mile and brought our backpack and blankets and a picnic lunch. Kids stuck thier toes in the water. Trail system in use, many hikers and runners, and dogs on trail. Just us and another family were the only ones on beach area the day we were there. Very nice to spend family time, enjoyable afternoon. We skipped pebbles and rocks. Wear your sunscreen, bring water, can be very warm with high altitude and reflection from water. Saw a few boats as well. Such a beautiful place. Fun for all ages and families or nice romantic couple time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Makes the mountain-top view special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I like that you can boat on it, bike around it, hike around it, and look at it from various vantage points. I dislike that you're not allowed to swim in it. Really, powerboating is ok and swimming isn't? (But I bet it's colder than heck anyway).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful water retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to dillon area of Colorado go years Usually for hiking, biking, shopping and beautiful drives. This is the first year we checked out the marina and were very glad we did. They had many different options so we rented a pontoon for 7 of us for 3 hours. The boat had a grill so we also enjoyed lunch while viewing the surrounding mountains. Beautiful. The marina staff was also extremely helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, KS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“History and fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fantastic tour of Dillon Reservoir from the Dillon Marina given by members of the local historic society while you tour the lake in a pontoon boat. Fascinating! BUT--do not waste the time taking children on the trip. They will be bored to tears. Trip is 1 1/2 hours. Reservations through the Marina are essential. The tour is only given Tuesday morning at 9 a.m. Cost is $20 for adults.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fun Mountain Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good services, slips boats for rent. ez access. Many opps for rec on lake or around. Ride you bike to Dillon and take the water Taxi to Frisco!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dillon Reservoir also viewed

 

Been to Dillon Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dillon Reservoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.