We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes the mountain-top view special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dillon Reservoir

Dillon Reservoir
Dillon, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Dillon
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Recreational reservoir between Dillon and Frisco.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Makes the mountain-top view special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I like that you can boat on it, bike around it, hike around it, and look at it from various vantage points. I dislike that you're not allowed to swim in it. Really, powerboating is ok and swimming isn't? (But I bet it's colder than heck anyway).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful water retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to dillon area of Colorado go years Usually for hiking, biking, shopping and beautiful drives. This is the first year we checked out the marina and were very glad we did. They had many different options so we rented a pontoon for 7 of us for 3 hours. The boat had a grill so we also enjoyed lunch while viewing the surrounding mountains. Beautiful. The marina staff was also extremely helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, KS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“History and fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fantastic tour of Dillon Reservoir from the Dillon Marina given by members of the local historic society while you tour the lake in a pontoon boat. Fascinating! BUT--do not waste the time taking children on the trip. They will be bored to tears. Trip is 1 1/2 hours. Reservations through the Marina are essential. The tour is only given Tuesday morning at 9 a.m. Cost is $20 for adults.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fun Mountain Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good services, slips boats for rent. ez access. Many opps for rec on lake or around. Ride you bike to Dillon and take the water Taxi to Frisco!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We called the Dillon Marina (http://www.townofdillon.com/index.aspx?page=6) and rented a pontoon boat for two hours. The rental was easy, the staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and explained things well. We took a picnic lunch and ate while cruising the reservoir. Because of the water temperature, swimming & other water activities aren't allowed - but we knew that so we just enjoyed the sunshine and the gorgeous views. It was one of the best daytime activities (and a great value) during our week in Summit County.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dillon Reservoir also viewed

 

Been to Dillon Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dillon Reservoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.