We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Mountain Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dillon Reservoir

Dillon Reservoir
Dillon, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Dillon
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recreational reservoir between Dillon and Frisco.
Dillon
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fun Mountain Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good services, slips boats for rent. ez access. Many opps for rec on lake or around. Ride you bike to Dillon and take the water Taxi to Frisco!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TN
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We called the Dillon Marina (http://www.townofdillon.com/index.aspx?page=6) and rented a pontoon boat for two hours. The rental was easy, the staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and explained things well. We took a picnic lunch and ate while cruising the reservoir. Because of the water temperature, swimming & other water activities aren't allowed - but we knew that so we just enjoyed the sunshine and the gorgeous views. It was one of the best daytime activities (and a great value) during our week in Summit County.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“such a great afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I love going on the Dillon Reservoir and rent a platoon boat, it is so much fun! the bicycle path is also very well maintained and quite perfect. You cannot swim in the reservoir - however, you can fish in it (I never caught anything!)

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Swan Mountain bike path notes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Just rode this part of the Dillon/Keystone/Frisco/Breckenridge rec path(s). I picked it up in the vicinity of Swan Mountain Road and Highway 6. The ride to the summit of Swan Mountain is a little more than 4 miles and ends pretty much at the summit parking lot where there is a restroom and a spectacular view of the reservoir from Sapphire Point. For now, if you want to ride down to Highway 9 from the summit, you will have to ride on the road. It's about 2 miles and there is quite a bit of traffic including trucks. I chose not to do this and instead rode back down the way I came up. This trail takes a bit of fitness, in my opinion. The grades are relatively steep and long. Over the last few days I have ridden from Keystone Village down to Dillon and on around the reservoir past Frisco on the path along Highway 9 that heads up toward Breckenridge. Nothing in all that riding has come close to the challenge presented by the Swan Mountain leg of this rec path system. I'd like to ride it again and I'm hoping that eventually the path will be completed down to Highway 9. That would be one great loop!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Best views of Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are here during the summer you should definitely come here. The views are great, the track is flat which makes it an excellent place for biking.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dillon Reservoir also viewed

 

Been to Dillon Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dillon Reservoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.