We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tea and scones” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House of Commons

The House of Commons
2401 15th St, Denver, CO 80202 (Highland)
303-455-4832
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 2,556 Restaurants in Denver
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Highland
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful tea and scones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Best tea and scones I've had outside England. They have good salads and sandwiches too. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the staff very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great English Teahouse in Denver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very nice English teahouse in the downtown area. Excellent selection of teas and cakes to enjoy inside or outside. run by people who have lived in England and know how it's done.. Took another couple from England with us and they really enjoyed a taste of home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great tea shop! Lovely brunch and afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just love this little place. Great little lunches here and reasonably priced. Very friendly service. I always like stopping in for something with out of town ladies who like to have an honest to goodness tea time!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a early afternoon tea at the House of Commons. The wait staff was very friendly and the selection of teas was almost overwhelming. The tower of tasty bites was very good. The atmosphere is informal with many people stopping for carry out orders. If you are looking for romantic, this isn't the place. If you are looking for an informal, affordable afternoon tea experience near downtown with great teas and yummy food, they got it. I agree with others that the address is misleading in that the storefront is actually on Platte, not 15th.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I'm certainly no "afternoon tea" expert, having only experienced the event a few times in Hong Kong, but I do like great food, great tea, and friendly people. My wife and I found all three, when we wandered upon this little hidden gem in Denver. I say "hidden" because the street address is 2401 15th street, but the entrance is actually 1/2 block NORTH of 15th on Platte. It's on the left hand side of the street, as you are heading north on Platte. Black awning, very reserved signage so easy to miss. But the hunt for this little treasure is well worth the effort. The sandwiches are truly out of this world good. Fresh baked bread, fresh vegetables and quality meat. The tea selection is beyond anything I've encounter in Denver and the owner and her staff treat you like good friends stopping by for a visit. House of Commons is a fantastic! I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Commons also viewed

 

Been to The House of Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House of Commons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.