We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Mexican Dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'corazon

D'corazon
1530 Blake St Unit C, Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)
(720) 904-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 2,606 Restaurants in Denver
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“True Mexican Dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

All the dishes are prepared true south of the border style.
I love their crispy rellenos and also the carnitas. Their green chili and salsa and chips always are tasty and satisfying. I always take extra to take home. Pleasant servers make this a good experience as well. They also serve great margs!
Open for lunch and dinner, located right in the heart of LoDo. Very popular place. That says it all.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Packed at lunch by11”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I work about 4 blocks away and when you never have to go alone because everyone loves it. The combination plates are wonderful Their green chili is top-notch and I'd putt the chili rellenos against just about any in town.
The irony is that the biggest Mexican restaurant in the area is directly across the street and compared to D'Corazon, Rio's food is not actually food. Try D'Corazon, you'll love it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We had the carnitas platter and fajitas. Both dishes were good. The carnitas was fresh meat and not over cooked like other places. The fajitas was good too. Don't order guacamole as an appetizer because its included in the entree.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not what at Texan is used to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I rate this poor for food, but good for service. Pretty good, strong margarita, but the food..... My friend and I ordered mixed fajitas for one to share. The tortillas were large like Lupe Tortilla, but the meat was pretty tasteless, like they didn't put any spices on. The salsa on the other hand was so hot and spicy, we couldn't eat it. We also ordered queso to go with the fajitas, but what we got was nothing I'd call queso. When I told the waiter it was so hot and not cheese, he said it was green chili sauce with a touch of queso. What I say is it was a waste of $6! The waiter was the best part of the restaurant. Although my friend from Iowa could not understand a word he said, me being from Texas understood his Mexican accent perfectly. He was funny and understood why we were not pleased with the food, but there was nothing he could do. Needless to say, if I return to Denver, I will not be eating at D'Corazon. I may stop by and say como esta, but that's it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food in Downtown Denver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great, family run, Mexican restaurant in Downtown Denver, very close to the 16th street promenade.....Chips and Salsa arrived promptly, without any request, within a minute after our arrival at the restaurant. The salsa was very good, a little on the spicy side. Chips were nice and crispy and NOT over salted (a pet peeve of mine)......The queso dip with beef was the best I have ever had anywhere......the Carnitas was also delicious and I would put these in the top 3 of any dish I have ordered at a mexican restaurant.....Refried beans were decent but nothing special. Overall, I would give this place a solid 9 out of 10, all things considered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'corazon also viewed

 

Been to D'corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'corazon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.