We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin was Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Denver Downtown

Save Saved
You added The Westin Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Denver Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 147 hotels in Denver
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Westin was Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Location: great.

Room: clean, modern. Heavenly bed was great.

Bathroom: clean, but just looks like a re-vamped older hotel bathroom. Heavenly bath was just a dual shower head and towels with the "heavenly bath" logo printed on them.

Parking: $21-24/day but worth it because the valet service is so efficient.

Food: Only had the breakfast buffet, felt it was overly priced for the quality. I should have just ordered individual items off the menu.

Pool: Just a lap pool that goes from inside to outside. Was pretty clean, except for some leaves floating around. Was nice being able swim outside in November.

Checking in and checking out was with ease.

**bottled water is no longer complimentary.

  • Liked — Valet Service
  • Disliked — Breakfast Buffet
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    257
    105
    38
    22
See reviews for
83
124
66
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We have just returned from staying 4 nights at the Westin in Denver - we had a fantastic time and the hotel was ideal for what we wanted. The hotel was centrally located within a 1 minute walk of the 16th Street Mall which is surrounded by a number of different eateries - in fact, we commented on how many different eating options there are in Denver City. We requested a room with a view and they kindly gave us a room overlooking Invesco Field and the mountains, much to the delight of my husband because he is a huge Denver Broncos fan !! The room was great, large, clean and contemporary. The hotel has a swimming pool which is inside and outside which was fantastic and it opened at 5am which was perfect for us because of the time differences we kept waking up early, so this helped fill the time !! This hotel is great for exploring and the concierge lady was fantastic and helped us out a couple of times. There is a starbucks and they even deliver to your room !! We caught the light rail from Union Station to Invesco Field (you need the E to Lincoln train going there and the E Union coming back) and it only cost us $6 (for both of us) which was ideal for when we went to see Denver play the Jacksonville Jaguars. We also caught a bus from 15th Street, California to Golden, so we could visit the Coors Factory tour - When you find the bus station, walk around the corner, you are looking for 16L and not 16 - get off in Golden when you see the “Howdy Folks - welcome to Golden sign !!! And then turn right, the factory is just down there - you cannot miss it. Returning to Denver, you need the 16L which you can catch opposite the Coors factory tour gates (there is a green booth by the liquor store). We had a fantastic day at the tour as it was interesting and we were glad that we visited Golden because there is some history there (although the town itself does not have much there). For both of us it cost $9 for a day pass which we brought from the Denver Tourist Board on 16th California. We can definitely recommend both the Westin and the Coors Factory Tour. One last tip, we would recommend exploring the riverfront park area which was beautiful - you just need to walk to Union Station and then you will see a big white bridge they are building (it is call the Millennium Bridge and looks identical to the one in London - lets hope this one doesn’t wobble!!), walk over that and you will then see it all. Have a good vacation !

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, CO
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Stayed one Saturday night. Check-in was the fastest I have ever had anywhere. Had a room on the 17th floor overlooking the 16th street mall. Great views! The room was comfortable, clean, stylish. Unlike other hotels that charge $4.00 for the bottled water in the room, their bottles were complimentary. You can't beat the location for the Market Street bars and restaurants, and the shopping on the 16th Street mall. Valet was $21 but downtown you are going to pay at least that. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and you can even have it delivered to your room. This is a great hotel and I will stay here again!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — $21 for overnight parking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

We reserved the room at the Westin a few days in advance. Checkin was smooth, the staff were friendly and helpful, especially with working out parking, which was not immediately obvious in downtown Denver. The location was great, with the back door of the hotel opening onto a little park, which connected to the 16th Street pedestrian mall. One unusual thing was the lobby was actually on the second floor of the building, so you had to go up an escalator to talk to the front desk.

The room was large and well-appointed, comfortable and extremely clean, with great views and a chaise lounge in front of the window to enjoy them with. There was a minibar but it had nothing special.

  • Liked — the chaise lounge + the view
  • Disliked — the elevators from the garage to the lobby
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

I go to Denver at least once a month and I have stayed in many hotels downtown. When I got to the Westin the bell staff wasn't nice or helpful, when we got to the front desk things got even worst, the front desk clerk was rude he was acting like he was doing us a favor by checking us in!!! We got to the room I wasn't impress at all, we only decided to stay there for one night and then we move to the Hyatt regency it was a lot better and the staff was helpful.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Service was really bad
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

My husband and I just spent 4 days in Westin Tabor and wanted to share a few thoughts. We are recent starwood members so we are now trying to stay in their properties. Overall, we were very pleased with the Westin Tabor...it's a pretty hotel in a great location. The rooms were standard (we found the Heavenly bed way too hard for our tastes), but nice. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We'd probably give it a 5 if the beds were more comfortable...we really liked the Sheraton's beds better. The location was probably the best part of the hotel. We were able to walk to many restaurants, brew pubs, shops, and Coors Field. I'd recommend staying at the Westin to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

I recently stayed at the Westin Tabor Center for three nights and was sadly disapointed. This hotel is NOT up to Westin standards. I bragged to my fellow co-workers who had never stayed at a Westin about the Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower only to find the bed was hard as a rock and I had torn sheets two nights in a row. The Heavenly Shower was broken and the remodeled hotel overall was disapointing as a Westin. The food served at the hotel was AWFUL!! The steak was served rare and was hard as a rock. They didn't even have steak knives for us. The big joke was who brought their own chain saw to cut their steak. Breakfast was powdered eggs, old dried up bacon and fruit that was brown and nasty because it obviously had been cut a few days prior to it being served. The wait staff during our meals and conference acted like it was a chore for them to be there and rarely interacted with us or even smiled. The only good thing about this hotel was its location to all the downtown attractions and the many conference rooms that facilitated our needs. But, there are plenty of other hotels to choose from for that. I will never go back to this hotel!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Not up to Westin standards
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Address: 1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#27 Business Hotel in Denver
#33 Family Hotel in Denver
#36 Spa Hotel in Denver
#39 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.