We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in May!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Denver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Denver Downtown to your Saves list
The Westin Denver Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #22 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend in May!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Great, clean room. Friendly staff. I was there with my boyfriend. He had plans to go out with college friends, and I had a law exam the following Monday. Upon finding out, Aubrey from the front desk sent up study snacks! So thoughtful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    327
    123
    44
    22
See reviews for
106
173
76
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I went down for a quick dinner at the bar and much to my surprise, the Westin has two newer bartenders, Andrea and Elizabeth, who really understand customer care. They were attentive to every detail for my tired and weary evening. They even made me a wonderful non alcoholic drink that definitely perked my spirits. Good job Westin, for having two great employees looking after us!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Our organization decided to meet in Denver we choose the Westin for the host for our meetings. Bethany and JoLeah in sales went above and beyond to accommodate our meeting needs. The staff was beyond helpful and attentive to our participants, especially Johnny and Lito!! With the help of the Westin staff we had very successful meetings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We were at the Westin for a conference.The rooms and bathrooms are nice but no refrigerator and the internet access from your room is $ 12 per day! This is also charged if you use their business center computers. Two tips: the internet connection is free in the lobby and (I heard but did not try) in the Starbucks on the street level. We didn't eat here because they are more reasonably priced restaurtants right outside the hotel. The "mountain" view was a stretch!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My daughter and I flew to Denver to celebrate my birthday. The first night we were "walked" because the hotel was sold out. They sent us to the beautiful Sheraton just down the street, so we were not troubled by being walked. The next day when we checked in, we were given a room with a view of the mountains, sent a bottle of wine, strawberries, and nuts to snack on with a big apology for "walking" us the night before. On my birthday, two days later, another bottle was sent up to wish me a happy birthday from a wonderful young man working in the breakfast area. Turns out, he is the husband of the wonderful front desk supervisor who sent up the first bottle!! These two know how to make you feel special. Westin is lucky to have such customer service focused folks who know how to make you say "WOW!" We really were treated like rolyalty.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I am the co-chair of a professional association annual conference, and the staff of this hotel is falling all over themselves to be 100% certain our every need is met and then some. When I look up, someone from the hotel is always there, and can direct me to the quickest help. The few times I've had to use my hotel service cell, they answered on the first ring and came running. Szilvia Viktoria Szocs, the Director of Banquets, has been like a third co-chair, making sure set ups are correct, helping us resolve problems, clearly telling us what to watch for, and even going so far as to make a special cocktail, named after our association, in our group's color - purple! Our thanks to everyone on the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I teach customer service through my company WAYMISH (www.waymish.com) so I pay close attention to it when it is both good and bad.

Tuesday, I was in Denver to address a group of Senior Customer Service Execs from the telecommunications giant, Comcast.

While waiting to give my presentation outside the room in which I would present, I had the pleasure to meet a customer service genius named Lito Hernandez. As I was waiting, Lito and I began to chat while he set up an informal lunch for the participants I was about to address. We talked congenially about all sort of things in the 30 minutes I was waiting.

At some point he asked me if I would like to have something to eat before my group broke for lunch and I had to go in and set up for my presentation. I let him know that I prefer to present without just having eaten, but thanks for the thought.

And then, it got AMAZING and demonstrates how GREAT customer service can, in just a flash, make a customer for life out of a first time visitor.

He then asked me if I would like him to keep some food for me so that I could eat it after. Not wanting to bother this gentleman, I thanked him again and said that I was certain that 60-90 minutes from that point when I was done, he would probably be long gone, lunch broken down, and he on his way to other assignments.

And, then it got AMAZING.

He said that was true, but why didn't I pick out what I liked and he would keep it hot for me in the kitchen so that I could not only eat, but eat the offerings as they were meant to be eaten. . . . hot.

Wow. WOW! When I got out and was saying my good byes, there was Lito standing with a package I could take with me, napkins and utensils all included.

The key to GREAT customer service is taking care of customers. Anticipating their needs and meeting them. And, sometimes even exceeding them.

Bravo Lito, you did all three -- in spades. I salute you and your colleagues. You and Westin get it. It's all about taking care of people!

I told the story to the 50 people in the meeting and will tell thousands more. Not only will it bring me back to the Westin, but it will undoubtedly bring many more customers to the Westin just because of what Lito did. And, that is another benefit to great customer service -- people want to tell their pals about it resulting in even more business.

One suggestion. Make LITO King of Customer Service for Westin. Make him a trainer for everyone else. Recognize and acknowledge him for a JOB VERY, VERY WELL DONE!!!!!!!!!!! You will be glad you did.

All the best,
Lee Tomlinson, The WAYMISH Guy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denver Downtown

Address: 1672 Lawrence St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#18 Business Hotel in Denver
#21 Family Hotel in Denver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel is a four-diamond hotel located in the Tabor Center, located near the famous 16th Street Mall, Colorado's leading tourist destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Westin Tabor Center
Westin Hotel Denver
Westin Denver
Denver Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.