We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oxford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
“The Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 night. Very nice place with a wonderful staff. The fitness center is excellent for those of you that work out. This hotel is in walking distance of tons of great restaurants. Take the free shuttle bus to the 16th Street mall (shopping). Great City

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing The Oxford Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be convenient! Our fitness center is certainly a big asset of our property. It’s quite a sizable sanctuary for any type of workout. I hope that you will visit us again, soon!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    112
    43
    17
    15
See reviews for
75
229
34
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We took Amtrak to Denver. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Union Station (currently under renovation - 5 blocks from temp. station). In the heart of "LoDo", it is easy walking distance to restaurants, galleries, bars Coors Stadium.

Nicely renovated classic hotel with a comfortable lobby and interesting art collection. Service was good if a bit familiar - every member of staff called us "you guys." Maybe that's a Denver thing.

Our room was 408 - very spacious with King bed, comfy armchair (one), TV, armoire instead of closet. Classic architecture with decorative moldings, high ceilings, arched windows that open but not old fashioned or kitsch. Contemporary fabrics, etc. The bathroom had black and white mosaic tiles and a stand up shower, no tub.

The room was 4th floor right on the main street (corner building so it has two busy streets) and on a Friday night you could hear the people partying in the outdoor restaurants. Back rooms would be quieter.

Breakfast in the dining room was good, variations on the usual American selections, portions too big, etc.. We had lunch in the bar area - not sure of the name. Not memorable. Creamed spinach came with tons of parmesan on it but this wasn't mentioned on the menu - floating in oil. Huge portions again but at New York or San Francisco prices. Pronto, the Italian restaurant across the street, however, had great food and was half the price - a much better option.

They had a complimentary SUV service to drive you anywhere within a 2 mile radius, which was convenient.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the outdoor restaurant noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for both visiting and writing about your experience! Next time you are in the neighborhood and need a place to stay, we would love to have you back to experience one of our other uniquely appointed rooms. The particular features you experienced in room 408 are similar to our other deluxe rooms, but every room in the hotel is different. For example, some rooms will have a closet instead of an armoire, some will have a shower-tub combination in the bathroom, and some will have two chairs and a small table rather than a large chair with an end table. Many of our repeat guests request the same room each visit, but some others like to try out different rooms or room types on their return trips.

The hotel was built in a U-shape, thus there are options to stay in a room that is off of the street. On days that there is a Rockies game, there is a lot more action in the streets and the 17th Street side of the building sees less traffic than the Wazee Street side.

With the car service, there are many excellent restaurants within range so that you can find the dining experience you want. The hotel restaurant’s daily fresh fish selections often demand a premium price but there are many options on the menu. Just within a few blocks of the hotel, guests can explore French, Italian, American, Asian, Mexican, and Brazilian cuisine!
We look forward to your next visit! Just let us know and we will help you book your reservation!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed our room. The Cadillac Escalade shuttle was very convenient and helped us a lot. The rooms are clean, well kept, and very nice. Getting a cold bottle of white wine was difficult because the wine in the room is not chilled, so the concierge was very nice and brought us a bucket of ice, then had to come back with a cork screw. All in all we enoyed our stay and we would stay at the Oxford again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review! We should have thought to bring up the cork screw the first time, but we do have ice available 24-7. The hotel recently transitioned from having minibars to honor-system snack baskets. It is much greener to not have 80 minibars running in the hotel and the rooms seem even more spacious without them.

Next time you are in town and need a convenient place to stay, we hope you stop by for a visit. See you again soon!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay here at the Oxford. It has lovely older architecture charm but super clean and amazing rooms and lobbies. Friendly, helpful staff. We just had one night here on our way to grab the Amtrak to Utah over the mountains (Also highly recommended! ) and it was the closest hotel that just happened to be fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! Your description of the hotel is spot on - while we are a historic landmark, there are so many contemporary and modern touches throughout that it makes the hotel feel relevant and up to date! Thank you for mentioning our staff, we will definitely pass on your comments and give them our thanks, as well! There are a lot of lovely hotels in Denver, but the thing that we feel sets us apart is our terrific team! Thank you for mentioning them. We hope that you will visit us again, soon.

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wife and I spent Labor day weekend after seeing a show in Denver and had a nice experience at hotel. Large rooms and well kept up for hotel over a hundred years old. A historic hotel. Friendly staff and helpful. No complaints, Nice touch is the carpet in the elevators changes daily with the name of the week noted as you get on.
Close to sports venues for baseball, basketball, hockey, and could have hotel SUV take you on the short hop to the football stadium.
Also near some very good restaurants and 1 block to get on shuttle for 16th st Mall that gets you to most places in downtown Denver

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for joining us! It sounds like you had a fantastic weekend of leisure, culture, and recreation. It’s true: each night at midnight we switch out the mats in the elevators to match the day of the week. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, a hot cup of Oxford Blend coffee and a reminder of what day it is will help you start your day! We would love to have you return so let us know when you will be visiting Denver again!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for 18 hours and needed to stay there between transport options. The hotel is very attractively furnished and staff were very welcoming. We chose it because we needed an efficient transfer and a good nights sleep. Failed on both counts. The hotel has a courtesy bus which was one reason we chose it. Called them when the California Zephyr arrived. They told us 5 mins. 20 mins later still not there and we were waiting on a street at night with few people around. Could have taken a cab. Then when we needed a sleep in, the alarm in the room went off at 5:30 from previous customers. Come on housekeeping...basic stuff to turn off alarm after each tenancy. To top it off in response to the "Hope you enjoyed your stay" I informed the tall cleanly shaven gentleman that we did not appreciate the alarm going off at 5:30. No response. No apology comment or anything. Didn't help much. Small problems but annoying. To be fair. It is a very nice hotel and this was possibly out of character.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a great historic hotel in the heart of LODO. We thoroughly enjoyed happy hour at McCormicks and the Cruise Room was perfect for a late night snack.

We had a mix up on our room which resulted in our getting an unsatisfactory room, however I received three phone calls from management. They were sincerely concerned and I was impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

The truth is that we certainly do care! On rare occasions, we do come across a mistake on a reservation or a maintenance issue in a room. Our business and reputation depends not just on mitigating the frequency of errors, but also addressing them in a way that recognizes that our customers are the most important part of our success. We sincerely hope you do return to have an experience at the hotel that matches your experience with the bar and restaurant!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#2 Spa Hotel in Denver
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#9 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.