We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lives Up to It's Reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Lives Up to It's Reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. First class in every respect. The concierge service was fantastic. Much thanks to Mike and Gabriel.

We'll be there next year. I've stayed around the country in first class hotels and this had to be one of our most pleasant stays. Small and intimate = attention to our every request.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear your wedding anniversary was a memorable success! The Oxford is a unique setting for special occasions such as yours. Our staff takes great pride in helping create memories for those special moments in life. We look forward to sharing beautiful wedding anniversaries with you!!

Best Regards,

Brandon S. Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    109
    43
    17
    14
See reviews for
69
216
32
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Playa Coronado, Panama
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This classic Denver hotel is a very convenient place to stay if you want to be downtown and close to a lot of activities. We stayed three nights, went to a Rockies game (walked), dinner twice (walked and rode in their limo) and spent time all over LoDo.

The downtown location probably makes it easy to overlook some of the less than modern conveniences that you might find in a big brand hotel chain. Our biggest issue was the old fashion tumbler locks on the room door. They were easily jammed and difficult to open at times. Also, there are no ice machines in the hotel, so be prepared with lots of bills to tip the room service staff for ice.

Front desk crew was friendly and easy to deal with. The best PR folks in the hotel are the car jockeys and bell staff. They know where to go, how to get there and are very eager to help. James and Stewart were two of the best in our book.

We booked the room with a AAA discount but it was still a couple hundred a night and overall it wasn't worth that much. We'll probably try something different next time we're in downtown Denver.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Oxford is not only the oldest hotel in Denver, it is the best. Located about a block and a half from the Union Train Station, it is in Lodo, or lower downtown. This part of the city is filled with restaurants, shops and old buildings that are being gentrified. The Oxford is just one block from the 16th Avenue mall, a pedestrianized shopping district that has a FREE "shuttle" that runs from one side of the city to the other. The shuttle is really a bunch of comfortable electric buses that you can get on and off of at will. We were in Denver the weekend of the "chalk art festival" and the arts and crafts fair, which were on opposite ends of the city. The shuttle, so convenient to the Oxford Hotel, took us back and forth all weekend long.

The Oxford Hotel is a lovely "grande old dame" of a place. Stained glass windows and period furniture add to the allure of this place. There is beautiful original Western art everywhere. When we stopped a staff member in the hallway of the lobby area, to ask a question about one of the windows, he gave us a 20 minute guided tour of the hotel and its history!

The bedroom was lovely, clean and comfortable. The bed was excellent. The bathroom was very clean...really perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

The only somewhat negative for us was the restaurant, Wollensky's, a branch of Smith and Wollensky's. It is a seafood restaurant but also has steaks. I was very disappointed that they didn't have Maine lobster available even though it was on the menu. The server encouraged me to order the surf and turf, which was steak and lobster tails, instead. The steak was badly overcooked but the lobster tails were quite good. Unfortunately the next steak that was sent out to replace the first one was so rare (i had ordered medium) that I couldn't eat it. By this point I had become very frustrated and had lost my appetite. My husband's meal was perfect. To their credit the restaurant comped our entire bill for both of us, AND brought us dessert and fancy coffee drinks. So, one of us enjoyed his meal entirely and the other was disappointed, but the restaurant handled it perfectly in the end. Can't fault them for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guest,
You certainly chose an exciting weekend to visit Denver! The summer time here in downtown is non-stop and when we are not working, we cannot help but to participate in the city’s events and festivals. I highly recommend that travelers check out www.denver.org to see what might be going on nearby while they are here.

The history of the hotel is rich and each of the employees here has picked up different tidbits of information. Even after years of working here, I still get to learn new things from my colleagues. Next time you visit, check out the space that used to be the hotel’s carriage house or discover the history behind the art deco panels in the Cruise Room.

I am sorry to hear about the food at the restaurant. People make mistakes, but I’m happy to hear that there was no mistake made with the service you and your husband received. With so many restaurants so close to the hotel, your choice in food is anything but limited; we do hope that you’ll try the restaurant again during your next visit. As always, please let us know if there will be anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I booked The Oxford in Denver a month in advance. I booked two queen size bed room
and I was charged for it, but when we got there the room had only one queen bed and one sofa bed, and I was charged for a two queen bed room. Front desk was slow service and often not available and it's not close to the train station as advertised. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We realize how disconcerting it can be to experience something unexpected during your travels, and we are sorry the accommodation provided that type of surprise for you. When we realized we wouldn’t be able to accommodate you in the room with two queen beds, our appropriate action was to upgrade you to a parlor room. We do apologize that you experienced slow service at our front desk and we will share your comments with our team so that we can improve in the future.

The Oxford Hotel is just a block away from Union Station. Until Union Station reopens as the transportation hub of the Denver area in July of 2014, the temporary station is at 20th Street and Wewatta Street. We are still the closest hotel in Denver to both Union Station and the temporary station. While the distance is walkable, we would rather have guests load their luggage into our complimentary car service to make the five-block trip. Our car service is available 24-hours a day and operates to and from any location within two miles of the hotel on a complimentary basis.

We do hope that on your next trip through Denver you will give us another chance. We do not arbitrarily change room types on reservations. If there is an issue with the selected room type, such as a maintenance issue that makes the room unavailable, we must provide some alternative accommodation. I am sorry we did not have another room with two queen beds for you those evenings and look forward to having you back as a satisfied customer.

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I prefer smaller hotels where attention to detail is experienced. The Staff at The Oxford is wonderful: the Bellmen's greeting at the curb, the Desk Clerks' welcome at the Front desk, we so enjoyed their gracious welcome; if we had questions about restaurants, directions, museums, all were answered with enthusiasm for Denver and its delights. Housekeeping and maintenance do an incredible job maintaining this beautiful hotel. The Oxford is a charming hotel where each individual is working to make your stay most enjoyable. Meet Stewart at the door for he is delightful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

There are so many intricate parts to the operation of this historic hotel and we are immensely grateful to have the amazing staff that we do. Our bellmen and front desk agents are some of the friendliest people we could find. Our housekeeping, engineering, and maintenance persons are detail-oriented like the craftsmen that built the hotel over 100 years ago! Thank you for recognizing them, but also let us recognize you, the guest that appreciates all of the little moving parts of a boutique property. We hope we get to see you here in Denver again soon!

Best regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Oxford over the 4th of July weekend. We came up from Colorado Springs to get away for a couple days and can't tell you how pleasurable our visit was. We like to stay in places that are not owned by super corporate, places like the Boulderado. The lobby is full of dark wood with comfortable couches and a few cloth covered benches. I actually enjoyed my coffee down there as opposed to taking it right back to my room. We stayed in a king room that was extremely clean. There was a stocked mini fridge and bath robes for us to use. The service was so personal, we took advantage of the shuttle service to several places during our stay. James, Josh and Greg were available in an instant to take us to the Aquarium and a few other restaurants that were too far for me to walk. We would call when we were ready to come back and they were there almost immediately. They also had great tips for places to eat and or drink...we were in search of our Moscow Mules. We finished dinner early on our last night there and decided to go into the lounge for a quick drink, and that's where we met Baldino?? (not sure of the spelling...so sorry. i remember his first name but its only for his mother and girlfriend to use, so i won't divulge) Tell this mixologist what you like, and I promise he will make all the flavors happen. He made my husband an old Old Fashioned and it was very nice. Ended up visiting for more than just that quick drink we went in for and met other nice people as well. All in all, The Oxford Hotel was warm, personable, clean and classy. We'll be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,

I remember the first time I was introduced to that refreshing elixir they serve in frosty copper mugs… After that first fateful sip, I took it upon myself to take a mule tour of LoDo and Denver! The truth is, there are quite a few places in the area that have incredible treats, both libations and cuisine, that fascinate the palate. We are immensely lucky to live in such an amazing neighborhood and we are also lucky that we have guests like you who help sustain our business. Please let us know when you will return for a visit!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I booked a room here knowing nothing, and boy was I impressed. First, the location, lower downtown Denver, it is a renovated 100 year or so hotel, and they did a wonderful job renovating the place. The hotel is part of an redevelopment project area in downtown Denver, surrounded by restaurants, coffee houses, interesting bars, office building, law firms aplenty, and Coors Field where the Rockies play baseball is just a few blocks walk, and it all works pretty well. You can walk to the baseball stadium, and any number of restaurants, and you do not need to rent a car. DO NOT RENT A CAR. It is an $11 comfortable bus ride from the airport, which has only 2 stops, and it drops you off 2 blocks from the hotel. A cab is $60, so figure out how to take the bus back and forth. The hotel staff is super friendly, the guys at the front of the hotel know everywhere to go for breafast, lunch etc.. The restaurant in the hotel, McCormick and Schmicks, is very good, but there are many good restaurants within walking distance as well. The gym at the hotel is to die for, a true spa with classes, etc. You don't have to pay extra to just workout, and they have up to date equipment, free weights, apples, water, towels, you name it. Very friendy gym staff as well. One last thing, I am gluten free, and Denver has gluten free options aplenty so enjoy. If you must stay in a brand new room, look alike box, this is not the hotel for you. If you admire older construction and history, you will not be disappointed. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I had an interior room and wondered if I would miss having a view, which was fine, as there are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,

One philosophy that we, as hospitality professionals, strive to saturate our business with is that we can offer an environment to guests that feels like home. Thank you for becoming part of our family! You wanted to spend some time in this area and we got to show you some of our favorite things about our building, our business, and our neighborhood. It sounds like you really appreciate the boutique and historic nature of The Oxford. While it may not be ready on your next visit to Lower Downtown, in July of 2014 the Union Station will reopen with 112 more boutique hotel rooms that will be an extension of our hotel. We would be honored to have you return!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#3 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#11 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.