We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and Historic Choice in Denver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting and Historic Choice in Denver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Four of us spent two nights at the Oxford recently. We enjoyed this unusual property along with the benefit of shops and restaurants in downtown Denver. The hotel lobby was slightly underwhelming and the dark color scheme was downright depressing. Although this color may be historically accurate, I sincerely believe the lobby could benefit from lighter colors, the better to show off the wonderful Western art on the walls. Reception desk was small but we received a warm welcome. It's startling to receive old-fashioned room keys rather than a card, but the keys worked fine! We also received complimentary water. Our party's two rooms were different: one with two queen beds was fairly large, but had a small bathroom. Another with a king was smaller, but had a huge bathroom, a fireplace and a potted plant. I LOVED the older furniture and antiques in each individually decorated room. It's just unfortunate that guests bang up lovely furnishings. Some of our furniture was slightly scuffed up. Climate control was good, beds were comfortable, linens of a high standard, and bathrooms were really nice and super-clean, with an old-style black-and-white tile décor in perfect condition. Interesting touches were antique Western prints, heavy brocade drapes from the floor to the high ceilings, and a cedar-lined closet. Some things I missed were a coffee maker in the room and a full-length mirror. Unfortunately, the mini-bar was present. Wish hotels would do away with the mini-bar concept and replace with empty refrigerator space for guests to use as they please. We eventually discovered free coffee on the second floor near the stairs, apparently available each morning. This property was fun and interesting; staff was always helpful. Others in our party enjoyed the restaurant. Check out the lighting in the Cruise Bar.

Room Tip: We had no view; our rooms faced other parts of the building, but they were quiet and the old painted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful you chose to stay with us! As a boutique property, we choose to constantly adapt our methods of delivering extraordinary guest experiences while maintaining historic nuances of our business. Your feedback regarding the color scheme and minibars is part of the voice of our valued guests that helps us understand what new decisions our hotel will make.
We hope you will be excited to know that the minibar concept is vacating the hotel and there will be coffee makers in each room starting Monday, July 15th! In addition to this change, during your next visit, you may also notice different furniture, even if you stay in the same rooms. We maintain a collection of antique furniture that gets rotated in and out of rooms as it needs repair. This is another way in which we take very special care of our property to highlight one aspect of the hotel that gives us pride.

Please let us know when we will next have the pleasure of having you visit and thank you for your comments!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    106
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
61
208
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I loved the hotel. The location could not be beat. We were within walking distance of the ball park and there were many interesting restaurants and sidewalk cafes in the area to choose from. Inside the hotel is a bar modeled after the Queen Mary. Our room was small, but beautifully appointed and it had the MOST comfortable bed and the BEST pillows I have ever experienced in a hotel. They were actually down pillows! Looking at the diagram of the hotel, I could see that our room was, indeed, among the smallest available. I would like to have seen some of the larger accommodations because as small as it was, ours was lovely. My one criticism would be that the bathroom had no place to put toiletries....but then again, that is understandable because it is an old fashioned bathroom---updated, but in keeping with the retro feel. Valet parking is the only option and it's expensive, but staying in any center city area is expensive. The staff was friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Given that our room was wonderful even though it was small, I assume any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear you spent some time enjoying our neighborhood! There is certainly no shortage of restaurants, art galleries, historic buildings, and shops here in LoDo. Next time we have the privilege of having you with us, we would like you to try a larger room type. It may interest you to stay in a room with an upgraded, five-piece bathroom; you will find the additional bathroom space you are looking for and the same comfortable pillows. Naturally, if there is anything else we will be able to do to make your stay more comfortable, let us know!

Regards,

Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Though we want to rave about how much we absolutely loved the Oxford, we're hesitant because we want "our" room to be available whenever we're in Denver. Our search for a historic downtown Denver hotel brought us to the Oxford. We booked online after a recommendation from our son who has frequent meetings there. The hotel is gorgeous with period furnishings and friendly professional staff. Upon arrival, valet Stuart came to open my car door - how lovely. Then at the front desk we were assisted by Tracy, who couldn't have been a more welcoming host.
Our room was on the 3rd floor corner. Beautiful, comfy bed, pillows and sheets. Immaculately clean bathroom. Room darkening curtains. And the hotel sits right in the middle of the city with easy access to public transportation and walking distance to great restaurants. We were grateful to Stuart who arranged hotel transport one evening after being exhausted from walking all day. Valet parking is available. High speed internet computers are available on the 3rd floor (not sure of other floors) as well as morning coffee on each floor. We always travel with a sound machine which drowns out any exterior noise so I can't comment on traffic noise since I never heard it.
Each evening upon our exit, the staff would inquire of our plans and sometimes add some recommendations. And when we came back in for the night, the staff always inquired if we had a nice night. We have traveled throughout the world and these are the things that make a great hotel become a memorable experience.
Our original reservation was for the beginning of our trip to Denver only. We hadn't realized that we wouldn't want to leave! Inquiries to the front desk came back with no room available for our remaining nights. But before we gave up, we saw Tracy again and amazingly, she found our room for us again. We are so very appreciative. We went off for one night and returned missing our new home-away-from-home. The Oxford kept our luggage for us and welcomed us upon our return like long lost family.
The Oxford has become one of our top 5 hotels - ever. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for raving about your experience with us. We completely understand the notion to keep this place as your little secret, but we are eager to share our home with amazing customers like you! We want business people, vacationers, history buffs, and avid travelers like you to appreciate our little community, our modest hotel, and our quaint family. Please let us know next time you will be in Denver and we will make your next trip just as memorable!

Regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stumbled upon this hotel while searching for a place to stay while on business in Denver. Didnt want to stay at a big modern chain again. This hotel was just the right place. Its perfectly located in the City and the staff is incredibly helpfull and professional. Rooms are very large with really nice beds and big robes in the closet. The hotel is totally retro but with all the modern conveniences including a great gym and spa. The bellmen and concierge staff are absolutely the best of any hotel I have been to (and I travel frequently). Just an overall great experience and when I return to Denver I will absolutely stay at this hotel. Just an awsome place. Wish more citys had places like this.

Room Tip: I had room 200. Was huge and faced the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your glowing review! It’s everything that’s important to us to help a guest, especially a business traveler like yourself, find a relaxing retreat that’s convenient for your business. Don’t be shy about letting your colleagues know that we would love to do the same for them! We are excited to see you on a return visit!

Regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The foyer and our room were beautiful to look at. The hotel has been wonderfully renovated and it's character makes more modern hotels look plain - first impressions were great. Our room was spacious and clean and well presented. The furniture was in keeping with the building, but looked almost new in it's cleanliness.
However, we found the bed to be smaller than we expected for a "queen" (more like a double) and the typical feather pillows that american hotels seem to adore flattened away to nothing when you put your head on them, no matter how many you stacked on top of each other.
The curtains were more like light filters than light blockers and by 6am they were essentially useless. Also, we were on the 3rd floor and following advice from other travelers on this site, in a room facing outward, but, the windows are single-glazed and by 7am the morning traffic was loud enough that sleep was no longer possible.
Finally, following more advice from this site, we considered parking in one of the lots down the street to save money, but on balance, you have to park after 6 or 7pm and have the car out before 6am or you are charged by the hour. The end cost made little more than $5 or $10 difference, so we went with the valet.
All-in-all, a pretty hotel with a lovely bar. Great for romantic couples who will be exhausted enough to sleep in the light and noise or those who rise early.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest possible floor. If you like a big bed, get a "king" room, the &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I’m happy we had the honor of having you as a guest on your last visit to Denver! As a historic property, we work hard to maintain the building and perpetuate the classic character you got to experience while you were here. The hotel maintains a collection of antique furniture that reside in the public areas as well as the guestrooms of the building. Of the 80 rooms in the hotel, most actually have a king bed. When you make your next reservation, just let the reservations agent know that you prefer the larger bed. It sounds like there are a few other simple things we can do to make your stay more comfortable. Our hotel receives primarily business travel so, in most cases, the lively nature of the neighborhood isn’t a burden on guests.

On your next visit to The Oxford Hotel, I hope you’ll allow us to find a king-bedded room on the 17th Street side of the hotel for you. That side of the hotel is more northern and receives less traffic so the morning sun and hustle won’t bother you. Of course, if there are any ways in which we can make a guest’s stay more comfortable, it is in the nature of our hotel to find a solution to enhance their experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Denver!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Oxford Hotel. The hotel is truly unique with rooms decorated in the 1920s style-- a huge improvement over many antiseptic modern hotels. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel has a good sized fitness center. It's also located near great restaurants, and it's an easy walk into downtown. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful you chose to stay with us! Working with such a unique property with amazing history is something I have really developed a fondness for. I’m so proud of our hotel and its associates. The fact that we are near awesome restaurants and attractions just makes me even happier to be a part of the neighborhood.

Thank you very much for your compliments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next Denver trip!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A friendly welcome at the door, a lobby reminiscent of New York's Algonquin Hotel at its finest, a check-in complete with a real key...And that's just the first 5 minutes! Comfortably sized and furnished rooms, free wi-fi, and the bathrooms (some with soaking tubs) are squeaky clean. On the hotel premises, an Art Deco bar called The Cruise Room feels like a pleasant time warp trip to the speakeasy 20s, with a reddish glow infusing the atmosphere. McCormicks, part of the McCormick & Schmick chain, offers scrumptious food right there. The hotel is situated in the heart of LoDo, the lively yet not frenzied part of Denver. One block off the 16th Street free bus, easy walk to REI and the Platte Valley trolley and hike/bike trails, getting around on the public bikes makes Denver a breeze. Every time we came back to the hotel, we were greeted personally by bell staff and concierge...we enjoyed hanging out in the lobby where the New York Times, Denver Post, Wall Street Journal awaited, along with free coffee in the mornings. I was ready to plan a trip to come back even before we left!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter (off the street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon H, Director of Sales at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Denver! If you are a big fan of using those deep-soaking tubs, you might ask for our complimentary bath butler service next time you are here. We truly work to enhance the LoDo experience of each person who walks through our doors. Being part of the neighborhood we are so fond of means that when you visit, you are one of our friendly neighbors!

Depending on what season you visit, there will be many different ways to enjoy Denver. Your next visit will be just as memorable!

Best regards,
Brandon Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denver
#4 Spa Hotel in Denver
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#11 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.