We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Extended Weekend Special
Ranked #18 of 145 hotels in Denver
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Classic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I loved staying at this hotel. We arrived really late but they took care of us well. The hotel has a lot of old charm and it was great roaming around with my son throughout the historic complex. The rooms were comfortable and the location was perfect-- right downtown. If we were to stay in a similar place in San Francisco, we would be spending triple. Other reviewers who complain about a lack of amenities should understand the trade-off. Don't look for a Hyatt business type room if you are staying at the Oxford.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    81
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
40
171
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close to the station. The station has relocated during a long refurbishment programme. The hotel is also very overpriced for its location and our room was in need of a makeover. No coffee machine in the room. A cold white tiled bathroom like a morgue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Oxford Hotel reminds me of something you would expect to see in a movie from the 50's - grand, elegant and charming. The staff are fantastic, providing a level of service many other establishments could learn from. The rooms some of the most comfortable i have stayed in - the beds are hugely comfortable, and shower and bathroom ameneties are brilliant. The locations is great for the Denver nightlife (downtown is pretty easy to navigate), and all of the best bars are within a 10 minute walk - unless you wish to use the complimentary car.

Can be a tad expensive at times (USD 370 a night when i last stayed due to the Denver Beer Festival), but generally this hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We came for "city escape" -being folks from the more rural part of the area - and just had a fabulous time! Location can not be beat!! Rooms are charming, quiet and well-appointed. Bed was uber comfy. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Oxford for our anniversary. Everything was perfect from start to finish. When making the reservation, our room was immediately upgraded because it was our anniversary. The room was gorgeous, extremely clean, and had a beautiful remodeled bathroom with a glass shower and huge claw foot soaking tub. Shortly after we arrived, Patrick the manager sent up a bottle of wine to our room. After 3 hours at the spa, we came back to the room to find a bottle of champagne chlling and rose petals all over the bed and floor. Very romantic and unexpected. Dinner at McCormick's was great...sounds crazy but we ordered shrimp and andouille sausage mac and cheese and it was eye-rolling delicious. The seafood gumbo and parmesan encrusted flounder with butternut squash orzo and sugar snap peas was delicious as well. Both of us received fantastic spa treatments from Michael and Anitra....reflexology and the Moor Mud Bath. Holy relaxation! It was amazing. Drink lots of water before the mud bath as it is very detoxifying and left us feeling a little woozy and spacey for the rest of the evening. The room was a little noisy from late night revelers outside, but other than that, it was PERFECT. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for the Park and Stay Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'm not a big "consumer" of hotel services - am usually too busy with work to use the hotel for much more than sleeping and using WiFi.

The Oxford Hotel is one of those grand historic hotels that makes you feel like you've entered a different era. I generally prefer hotels that are more modern and here are my thoughts on The Oxford:

NEGATIVES (in my opinion)
- Beds are too soft
- Rooms themselves feel a little outdated

POSITIVES
- Public areas are amazing
- Staff is THE BEST I've ever had
- Gorgeous bathrooms
- Convenient location
- Free shoe shine
- Free black car service to take you around downtown
- Did I mention the great staff?

A hotel can often run into issues that are minor and not the fault of the management and rarely have I encountered a hotel where there has been such a proactive response and well managed approach to making it right.

I don't write reviews of at least 2/3rds of the hotels I stay at because they don't leave an impression on me but The Oxford Hotel's staff is something other hotel's management should envy. Literally every staff member is happy, willing to help, and genuinely seems to care.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

it is a year or so since i visited but it was brought to mind when a friend wanted a recommendation for Denver.
Not the easiest place to find if you have a car so take a taxi if possible, situated
in the historic part of town, all the old part of the city is within walking distance.
A limousine is laid on if you want to go further afield in the town.
Its small, intimate and comfortable, not cheap but I got a good deal.
Denver itself is pretty boring part from the area immediately surrounding hotel.
Visit Molly Browns house{of Titanic Fame} have afternoon tea at Browns hotel,
visit the Tattered Cover" book shop and that is pretty much it but then of course you are
so close to some of the most glorious scenery in America.
There is a good restaurant at the Oxford but I would go elsewhere for breakfast.\
Treat yourself to a short flight to Rapid city and visit Mount Rushmore.

i

Room Tip: It is not a Hotel with views so I cannot help with this
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Denver
Address: 1600 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#8 Family Hotel in Denver
#15 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.