We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoped for more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Hoped for more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

A great location and promising pedigree had raised our expectations, but candor compels the admission that our expectations went unmet. If the hotel were a liquid, it would have to called lukewarm.

The hotel had our reservations just as we expected. Checkin was easy. Parking was not quite ideal, as valet is the only realistic option: there is no garage available for self-park. That's life in a downtown, perhaps. But both our rooms had key issues; it was never possible to get both keys to work. One key would work, and the other wouldn't. Strangely, that curse afflicted both rooms. Hardly life and death, but odd.

The bathrooms had no bath. There was a nice shower, but no tub. Pity. The bed was very comfortable, but once again, with a catch: the reading lamp and night table were on one side only. It was not possible for two people to lie in bed and read. Upon checkin, the bed cover was quite wet (all over). Likely it had just been washed, as it was certainly clean, and housekeeping rapidly replaced it with great energy. But the phenomenon was unsettling, as you can imagine. And after the fiasco with all the non-working keys, we began to conclude that the Brown Palace was more brown than palatial.

Retrieving the car from valet the first time was easy. Retrieving the next time (upon checkout) was maddeningly slow, taking at least 20 minutes despite no great crowd. Again, nice staff. Just a puzzling disappointment.

Visited the concierge three times. Twice with excellent results. Once with nobody there, for so long that surrender and abandonment became the only sensible solution. Yet again, it was a story of some very positive experiences, tempered by a disappointment.

What's the bottom line? If you are forced to stay here, don't fret. You won't go badly wrong staying here. Nothing terrible will befall you. You may even have a great experience. Ours could have been one of those random glitches that happens to all human enterprises. But all things equal, our forgettable stay will lead us to take our chances elsewhere next time, not out of anger or even annoyance, just out of the firm conviction that we can do better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    215
    79
    55
    38
See reviews for
154
434
110
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
denver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I didn't stay at the hotel as I live in Denver. Just stopped into the spa for a pedicure in between a stressful house move. It was just what I needed to feel refreshed and focus on unpacking.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

After a two week holiday in self-catering accommodation of varying standards, and staying with friends, it was nice to splash out for our final night in Colorado. It was nice to stay somewhere with a piano player in the lobby but the service was a bit over-attentive and we didn't feel we could just sit there without having over-priced cocktails in front of us. Our bedroom was nice but the bathroom could have done with a bit of refurbishment, I've stayed in classic rooms before and old doesn't have to mean shabby. It was a pleasant experience and the exchange rate took some of the sting out of it but I did wonder why you have to pay for the wifi in the posh hotels when it's free in the budget places like La Quinta.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Brown Palace for our first anniversary. We couldn't have had a better stay. The Brown Palace gave us a complementary room upgrade and sent up champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to help us celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay at the Brown Palace again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel was so beautiful!! The staff was very friendly and the resturaunts were delicious! The spa was very relaxing, I would definitley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We found an unbelievable package deal on the internet for the Brown Palace. Having heard many positive comments about the hotel over the years, we decided to book a night after finding a really terrific rate of $129 a night (for a Friday). Since we were celebrating our anniversary, we decided to add the romance package which included an 80-minute couples massage, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, rose-petal turndown service and breakfast at one of the hotel's restaurants. We were really pleased with the hotel itself; beautiful, old-fashioned charm but nicely updated. The valet service was prompt and professional, and when we asked about a room upgrade, our request was cheerfully granted. Our room was cozy and charming, just as we'd expected, and the bed was comfy and slept well. Our breakfast at Ellyngton's (sp?) was delicious- great variety, delicious coffee, and the fruit and granola and yogurt parfait was really special.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We should have taken the miserable reservation process as a sign to NOT stay here. They couldn't get our reservation correct, and when the BP finally did get it right, they messed it up once again on our arrival. Front desk staff COULDN'T HAVE CARED LESS that our reservations were wrong--and their fault. We had to unpack, log on to our computer, pull up our confirmation and then? no apology. Complete and utter disregard for the customer's convenience & happiness. Rooms were large but stuffy, hard beds, decent bathrooms. But the snarky staff doesn't justify even the nicest accommodations. Stayed there 2 nights and then went over to Hotel Teatro with amazing beds, a better rate, windows that open & a fabulous, well-staffed restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrownPalaceHotel, Director of Revenue Management at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
Dear xnjgirl,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and truly value your feedback. Our reservations accuracy scores are consistently well above luxury industry standards and I am very disappointed to hear that you were not shown the level of service we pride ourselves in. I assure you, exceptional customer service is always our number one priority here at The Brown Palace and if you wouldn’t mind contacting us regarding the details of your reservations and check-in process, I would really like the opportunity to research your concerns. My sincerest apologies for your experience.

Kind Regards,

Marre Brantner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#24 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.