We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business became leisure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #21 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Business became leisure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Admittedly, I'm slightly biased to the Brown Palace being a Colorado resident and knowing the history and quality of the hotel and its staff. I've stayed once as a personal treat and most recently while attending a conference for work, and have been equally impressed on both occasions. The staff are always pleasant, knowledgeable, kind, and willing to help. The restaurants supply good food (inside or room service) and a well trained staff. The Ship's Tavern is the hotel's only casual restaurant and is often extremely busy, but the food and atmosphere is worth the wait and hectic staff. I have had the good fortune to go to the Spa as well and have enjoyed the experience. Honestly, I travel for business frequently and rarely rely in multiple diamond ratings and other awards as I am often am disappointed by these well-ranked, highly priced hotels, choosing to stay at less costly hotels because the arrogance is minimized and I am frugal with the corporate dollar. But, as a Colorado resident, I can proudly say that the Brown Palace is the exception to the rule (even if jeans are frowned upon if dining or having high tea/brunch in the lobby) and I recommend treating yourself and a loved one for at least one night if you are ever in Denver. Just remember to take the tour - you'll never forget it!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    228
    86
    59
    40
See reviews for
166
457
116
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Simple elegance.
A wonderful hotel. I can't wait for a reason to return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We had a lovely time staying in downtown Denver for the New Year celebrations. The Brown Palace is a vintage hotel that takes you back in time will luxury! The appetizers and drinks were plentiful in the main lounge and it was so nice just to be able to step outside and see all the fireworks and people celebrating. Denver had fireworks at 9 and midnight - a double treat!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

What charm and elegance! From the music at tea time to the graciousness of their staff, as someone who travels 100,000 miles a year, I appreciate good service and value. I originally booked the Sheraton and changed my mind at the last minute because of some internet specials. Boy was I glad. The Sheraton down the street had broken bathroom doors and flimsy tissue; whereas the amenities at The Brown, offered thick towels, comfy robes and free wify with late checkout if you join the Preferred Hotel group at no cost. Special thanks to Donna, who works in the Tavern for her outstanding customer service. If you want a great value and want to be treated like royalty, stay at The Brown!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Of all the Denver hotels, this one has the reputation for class, and I'd say it deserves it. The room was comfortable, spacious, and light, with great amenities. The building itself is beautiful, and the location could hardly be more convenient for enjoying downtown Denver.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrownPalaceHotel, Hotel Management at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 24, 2009
Dear jwinhsv,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our great amenities. We are fortunate to be located within walking distance to Denver’s top attractions, shopping and nightlife and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

In the Spirit of Hospitality,

Brown Palace Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Many years ago I used to find myself in Denver fairly frequently and always enjoyed my stays at the Brown Palace. Last week my wife and I went back and the Brown lived up to my memories. We were very well received at the front desk, particularly when they upgraded us to a fantastic room. Dinner at the Ship's Tavern was excellent and that comes from a Bostonian who ordered sea scallops thousands of miles from any salt water. Breakfast the next morning was gracious and I would say fairly priced for the quality of the food and the surroundings. It was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrownPalaceHotel, Hotel Management at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 24, 2009
Dear Minotlight,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Ship Tavern’s scallops pleased the palate of a Bostonian! Our six dining outlets take great pride in serving only the best. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

In the Spirit of Hospitality,

Brown Palace Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel is living off of their past glory. It was the highest priced 4 star offering in downtown Denver, but the other than being unique and having a bit of history, is significantly lower quality than the modern hotels in the vicinity. Our thermostat was broken and the room was way too hot. I called the front desk to get something done, and they said it would be taken care of immediately. Nothing happened, and the next morning it was still way too hot. A good nights sleep is the first job of a hotel, and this hotel failed in that key area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSSDDD, Public Relations Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 25, 2009
Dear ChesapeakeTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We take great pride in providing an exceptional experience to our guests and I sincerely apologize for your disappointment. I understand your frustration with your guestroom and it is unfortunate that this was not corrected. I assure you that the comfort of our guests is a top priority and it is very unusual for our front desk not to follow through. Although we have had very few incidents regarding temperature issues, we have taken immediate action to address this. Through guest feedback, we have identified a few rooms for evaluation to ensure we are equipped to provide our guests with the most comfortable stay possible. Furthermore, I was disheartened to see your statement about being low quality. As Denver’s only Four-Star, Four-Diamond hotel, we feel that we have a unique and exceedingly high quality experience to offer guests. Our amenities include a luxurious Four-Star spa, six distinct dining options, and unparalleled ambiance & service. Our guestrooms were recently renovated with re-upholstered chairs, updated artwork, new carpeting, new tiled entries, and new television armoires and flat screen TVs. We are also near the completion of an $8 million renovation of our bathrooms which feature dual showerheads, granite countertops and marble tile. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best,

Shannon Dexheimer-Hulsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#19 Business Hotel in Denver
#24 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.