We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel With Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
21208
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel With Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I recently stayed at the Brown Palace while on business. This is a nice historic hotel with a lot of character. The grand lobby takes you back to the turn of the century . Room decor is maintained for the period with comfortable beds, huge windows but updated with well-controlled central air and a nice large screen TV. The one downside was the plumbing. The bathrooms have been maintained with the original tile floors and walls, the tub is the original tub so, the bathroom is somewhat dated but large and functional. My bathtub had a drain problem with water not emptying out for quite some even after calling maintainence. Also had a problem with the sink (severely leaky faucet) but otherwise a nice room. If you need a modern bathroom this might not be the best choice for you. Staff were very attentive and helpful and the location is convenient to most downtown attractions. Free internet access as well as a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel. There is also a spa but I didn't utilize that. Overall a nice historic hotel, comfortable, with character.

  • Liked — Interesting historic building and ambience. Huge room with character.
  • Disliked — plumbing issues with bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    215
    79
    55
    38
See reviews for
154
434
110
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

First Impressions not to be trusted! Stayed one night in Denver after a great vacation in Estes Park/Rocky Mountain National Park. Upon arrival at Brown Palace, was most impressed with the hotel and staff. Hotel was beautiful and staff was very nice, professional, welcoming.
Until 10 PM when we started hearing what sounded like a cross between an alarm going off and a truck backing up - an intermittant BEEP BEEP BEEP of varying lengths. Impossible to sleep. Called the front desk at 12:45 AM. Was told that they were cleaning the banisters and that it would only be a couple more minutes. Sound continued for another hour. Called front desk again at 1:45 AM. Again told it would be a couple of more minutes. Eventually, at 2 AM, we were moved to the top floor where we could not hear the cleaning machines. Finally fell asleep around 3:30 AM and had to get up at 6:30.

When checking out, we were asked how our stay was. When we said that we had a terrible night, had almost no sleep and that it was caused by the hotel itself, we were met with blank stares and a very weak, "Well, have a nice day."!! Not even an apology.

If you prefer sleep to ultra-clean banisters, do not stay here.

  • Liked — Historic, great location for downtown Denver
  • Disliked — No sleep, hotel cleaning noise all night, rude staff, no apology from hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

I recently stayed at the Brown Palace with my husband and 2-year-old daughter. My husband was there for a short conference so we tagged along.

This hotel definitely has a charm to it. It has a very interesting history, which the bellman filled us in on while showing us to our room. In fact, there are tours of the hotel two times a week.

The room wasn’t large, but was well appointed. The décor and furnishings seemed to accurately reflect the historic aspects of the hotel as well.

We did not use any of the hotel restaurants so we can’t comment on that. The afternoon tea in lobby looked great and I would definitely give it a shot on another visit without a 2-year-old.

Only problem we had was with the lack of hot water. In fact, we never had hot water – only lukewarm.

The location is definitely a plus. It is right off the 16th street mall and is within walking distance of the art museum, etc. The downtown location makes it convenient to take the bus to various places as well. We grabbed the 32 bus to get to the zoo and the 20 bus to go to the science museum. Both picked up and dropped off right across from the hotel. The little one was free and adults are only $1.75 so it was a great deal.

There are a lot of places to eat within walking distance or by using the free shuttle along the 16th street mall. There’s a lot of chains, but there are some good local options as well. We tried Mici (Italian / pizza), Wynkoop Brewery and Apaloosa Grill, among others. All were very good. Also had cupcakes from Yum Yum bakery. OK, but I’ve had better “gourmet” cupcakes.

Tip: The hotel charges for Wi Fi access; however, if you cross the bridge to the Comfort Inn, you can get it for free in their lobby!

  • Liked — historic feel and location
  • Disliked — no hot water!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

The toilet leaked and the toilet tank would refilled in the middle of the nigh. The conceirge gave me incorrect directions and ignored me on another request. I was even charged me for a meal I never ate even though they said I would not be charged. The worst is when I wrote to the managing director to complain and received a form letter that never addressed my issues but thanked me for bringing my problems to his attention and assured me that my next stay will be better. Oh well, I guess some things do float to the top!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff, including the managing director
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We spent a Saturday night at this beautiful hotel. Right in the heart of Denver and the outdoor mall, we had a wonderful time. I enjoyed a message in the spa and it was one of the best I have had. On our way out of town on Sunday, we had Brunch in the restaraunt at the hotel. I have to say that it was truly the best brunch I have ever had. I definatly will be back to the Brown Palace.

  • Liked — Sunday Brunch
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

The Brown Palace was absolutely fabulous! Everyone was very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Just before we arrived their computer system went down, and they handled it beautifully. Not many places could run that smoothly without the computers. Everyone was so wonderful, they made you feel like you had come home. I also strongly recommend the Spa, my massage was wonderful. I will definately stay at the Brown Palace the next time I am in the Denver area.

  • Liked — It was gorgeous
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I can't wait to go back to the Brown. We did the Light Up The Night Package, which was delightful and a good deal for the level of service we received. The free car service, knowledgeable concierge and consistently helpful and friendly staff made our anniversary stay so memorable. Our room was small but cozy and authentic to a turn of the century style. The only down side was that some things in the room did not work properly (shower drain, clock radio,..) but we were having too much fun hanging out in the atrium and soaking in the history, so we didn't report it. I'm sure if we had, the staff would have remedied the situation promptly.

  • Liked — History
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#24 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.