We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 148 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Brown Palace countless times. Without exception, this hotel is one of the best in the world. Some of the rooms can be small - it is a very old hotel after all - however the rooms have been uniformly well decorated and comfortable. On our last stay, my husband and I had a beautiful double room and we loved our stay. The staff was welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel has a large atrium in the center that goes up several floors (I don't remember if it g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    215
    79
    55
    38
See reviews for
154
433
110
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is very charming. The lobby is breathtaking and invites you in. I would love to go back to do the afternoon tea service. No time when we went. The rooms are very comfortable and modern despite the old world feeling of the rest of the hotel. Ate at the pub. It was very good, excellent service but a little crowded.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A wonderful visit with my granddaughter. Spent my wedding nite there 52 years ago. The quality of service and the beautiful hotel remains the same. Hope to return many more times when I visit Denver. Agree the shower was a new addition from last visited probably have stayed 8 or more times in the past 52 years always a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited this hotel while in town for a concert. Unfortunately some of the exterior was under construction but we never did hear any related noise while in hotel. Staff is genuinely friendly and polite. It was also our anniversary and we were treated to a nice complimentary upgrade. Very spacious room, comfortable beds with high quality linen.

Valet parking is $32 per 24 hr period (can park elsewhere but the in and out privileges made it worthwhile).

Only complaint I had was the lack of quality ( worse them dialup) wifi in the lobby (free). I brought this to the attention of the front desk, they immediately gave me free access to the not typically free In room wifi....works great!


Would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to The Brown for 3 days for my birthday and had a perfect stay. Now I only live 7 blocks away so i didn’t have to go far so the travel time was awesome. We had a King suite which was incredible and large. I ate at every restaurant and drank at every bar and everything was fantastic. The center atrium is amazing and the staff goes out of their way to make for a grand experience. I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Denver or just looking for a Stay-Cation close to home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As a Platinum Elite Marriott member, I was excited to stay at this Autograph Collection Hotel. I stay 200+ nights a year in hotels and it was hands down one of the nicest stays I have ever had.

The Hotel:

It is an extremely historic property that is immaculately maintained.

Service:

The Valet and Bellhop were very professional and friendly.
The front desk attendants were very helpful and really seemed to care.

Platinum Recognition:

Upgraded from a Deluxe King to a Palace Suite
Breakfast Vouchers for a Fantastic Restaurant in the Hotel
2 Flutes of Champagne for my Girlfriend and I at Check-In
500 Points as Platinum Amenity

The Rooms:

I was upgraded (Platinum Recognition) to a King Corner room. It was an accessible shower (which I do not prefer) so I requested to be switched. A front desk attendant met me at my room with another set of keys and showed me my other option. They went that extra mile to make sure I was not inconvenienced--I did not have to go down to the front desk, etc...

They offered me the "Palace Suite" room, which had a non-accessible shower with 5 shower heads.

They sent someone to gather our belongings and bring them to our new room.

The room was perfect--Stately furniture in excellent condition, with new, high quality fixtures.

Modern touches like a one-cup coffee machine, iPod Dock, and Plasma TV do not feel out of place with the decor.

Nothing was broken or dirty, or seemed old. I was nervous, though, as some "Historic" hotels have dated bedding, furniture, carpet, and feel dark and antique. This was NOT the case.


SUMMARY:
If you are spending a weekend in Denver, stay at the Brown Palace. The staff, including Ryan and Brandt will definitely make it a trip to remember.

Room Tip: King Corner Rooms are Large. Windows are thick so even rooms on lower level are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for one night while in Denver for a family function. We used our Marriott points for this great hotel. Everything about our stay was first class. We loved the historic architecture and the room was perfect. Quiet and beautifully appointed. Great towels and luxurious bedding. The shower was awesome. A great place to stay in the heart of downtown.

Room Tip: Even though this is an atrium hotel, the room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#15 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#17 Business Hotel in Denver
#25 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.