We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A palace indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 147 hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A palace indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved my short stay at this gem. History at one's fingertips and everywhere around, complete with high tea. Staff goes out of the way to make the stay amazing, and the spa is really, truly, first rate. I would plan to stay here over any other property, and may just have to return to Denver for the experience of this hotel. I adorded the place. Really.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    679
    185
    69
    49
    34
See reviews for
134
391
106
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Capitola
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Four of us had afternoon high tea at Brown Palace. It was delightful: good food, delicious tea, live piano music and excellent service. I would highly recommend the experience. Tea was served in the lobby, which is beautiful. We didn't stay at Brown Palace Hotel but it is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Brown Palace Hotel offers a tour (in fact several themed tours) to guests and non-guests (although we non-guests have to pay $10). But it's well worth it! The hotel actually has its own historian, and she's delightful. Reservations for the tour are required, and can be made on the hotel's website. The hotel -- once one of the finest in the nation -- is very historic, and still lovely and impressive. And its history is fascinating. The tour takes about 1:15, and you visit several of the dining rooms, the impressive atrium, and -- usually -- several rooms...the historically kept rooms, if they are vacant. There's the Eisenhower Suite, for example, where Dwight and Mamie stayed (Mamie's family lived in Denver during the Eisenhower presidency). This really is a top notch tour, and you are allowed unrestricted photography!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights last week. It was awesome. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!! The place is beautiful and has so much character. The bell men, valet attendants, wait staff, maids, coffee shop worker and concierge were are so nice. We had such a great time that we were sad to leave. You can walk to many areas downtown and it is an easy drive to many other areas of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Brown Palace is a great historic hotel with very impressive architecture. The rooms are on the smaller side (to be expected in a 100+ year old hotel), however very quaint and cozy. We loved the Keurig and ample amounts of stocked coffee. For my birthday the hotel treated us to some delicious macaroons, berries and Evian water during the first night's turn down service. Which was a very thoughtful treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I think I just got a bad room...toilet made noise, and I had to jiggle the handle to stop the water from running, and then the hot and cold mix for the shower didn't work, which made showering unpleasant. My key card didn't work on check-in either. Also, no coffee replenishment on my second day - that's rough for a business traveler.

Service was excellent - the gentlemen in the front, the front desk, the bell captain - meeting service - all excellent.

Not sure I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We deeply regret the concerns you encountered with several items in your guest room, as well as for the oversight with replenshing your coffee amenities. This is certainly not in keeping with the type of experience we build our reputation on and we are truly sorry for the incovenience caused to you.

We do strive to quickly correct any issues once known and hope that are staff was able to make your stay more comfortable once aware of your concerns. We are very happy to read that you did receive excellent service from our team, which we hope will entice you to return so we may be able to provide you with the proper experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed one night to celebrate our 25th anniversary, including dinner at the Palace Arms restaurant. With construction and one-way streets, we ended up making a circle before we got to the valet parking area, but not a big deal.

This historic hotel is amazing and beautiful inside. Just missed the afternoon tea, will have to go back for that.

Check in was prompt, but then we had a small delay with the elevators not working. Bellman took us up in the service elevator, since 8 floors was too much with luggage. By the time we went down for dinner, elevators were working fine.

We were upgraded to the Eisenhower Presidential suite, which was awesome. It was huge, with a dining table for 8, large living area including desk area, good size bedroom, large bathroom and extra 1/2 bath off the foyer. On a corner right in downtown, with many large windows, you heard zero outside noise. Although this is now a Marriott property under the Autograph collection, it maintains a luxury and service level not found in most Marriotts. All of the cords for lamps had cloth cord covers; little touches like that are everywhere. It was nice to have a small dressing table with chair and lighted make-up mirror in the bedroom.

Room service was prompt and even faster to correct an error. Dinner in the Palace Arms restaurant on site was a special occasion splurge of delicious food with outstanding service. We wanted to take our time over dinner, and the pacing was just right. Service was friendly and attentive, never intrusive.

Valet parking attendants very on the ball, friendly, offering bottled water for the road and tips on road conditions where we were going.

We will definitely stay at this lovely property again, and highly recommend it particularly for celebrating a special occasion in Denver.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#14 Business Hotel in Denver
#18 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.