We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 149 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
Capitola
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Four of us had afternoon high tea at Brown Palace. It was delightful: good food, delicious tea, live piano music and excellent service. I would highly recommend the experience. Tea was served in the lobby, which is beautiful. We didn't stay at Brown Palace Hotel but it is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    220
    81
    57
    38
See reviews for
160
441
111
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Brown Palace Hotel offers a tour (in fact several themed tours) to guests and non-guests (although we non-guests have to pay $10). But it's well worth it! The hotel actually has its own historian, and she's delightful. Reservations for the tour are required, and can be made on the hotel's website. The hotel -- once one of the finest in the nation -- is very historic, and still lovely and impressive. And its history is fascinating. The tour takes about 1:15, and you visit several of the dining rooms, the impressive atrium, and -- usually -- several rooms...the historically kept rooms, if they are vacant. There's the Eisenhower Suite, for example, where Dwight and Mamie stayed (Mamie's family lived in Denver during the Eisenhower presidency). This really is a top notch tour, and you are allowed unrestricted photography!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights last week. It was awesome. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!! The place is beautiful and has so much character. The bell men, valet attendants, wait staff, maids, coffee shop worker and concierge were are so nice. We had such a great time that we were sad to leave. You can walk to many areas downtown and it is an easy drive to many other areas of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Brown Palace is a great historic hotel with very impressive architecture. The rooms are on the smaller side (to be expected in a 100+ year old hotel), however very quaint and cozy. We loved the Keurig and ample amounts of stocked coffee. For my birthday the hotel treated us to some delicious macaroons, berries and Evian water during the first night's turn down service. Which was a very thoughtful treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I think I just got a bad room...toilet made noise, and I had to jiggle the handle to stop the water from running, and then the hot and cold mix for the shower didn't work, which made showering unpleasant. My key card didn't work on check-in either. Also, no coffee replenishment on my second day - that's rough for a business traveler.

Service was excellent - the gentlemen in the front, the front desk, the bell captain - meeting service - all excellent.

Not sure I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We deeply regret the concerns you encountered with several items in your guest room, as well as for the oversight with replenshing your coffee amenities. This is certainly not in keeping with the type of experience we build our reputation on and we are truly sorry for the incovenience caused to you.

We do strive to quickly correct any issues once known and hope that are staff was able to make your stay more comfortable once aware of your concerns. We are very happy to read that you did receive excellent service from our team, which we hope will entice you to return so we may be able to provide you with the proper experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed one night to celebrate our 25th anniversary, including dinner at the Palace Arms restaurant. With construction and one-way streets, we ended up making a circle before we got to the valet parking area, but not a big deal.

This historic hotel is amazing and beautiful inside. Just missed the afternoon tea, will have to go back for that.

Check in was prompt, but then we had a small delay with the elevators not working. Bellman took us up in the service elevator, since 8 floors was too much with luggage. By the time we went down for dinner, elevators were working fine.

We were upgraded to the Eisenhower Presidential suite, which was awesome. It was huge, with a dining table for 8, large living area including desk area, good size bedroom, large bathroom and extra 1/2 bath off the foyer. On a corner right in downtown, with many large windows, you heard zero outside noise. Although this is now a Marriott property under the Autograph collection, it maintains a luxury and service level not found in most Marriotts. All of the cords for lamps had cloth cord covers; little touches like that are everywhere. It was nice to have a small dressing table with chair and lighted make-up mirror in the bedroom.

Room service was prompt and even faster to correct an error. Dinner in the Palace Arms restaurant on site was a special occasion splurge of delicious food with outstanding service. We wanted to take our time over dinner, and the pacing was just right. Service was friendly and attentive, never intrusive.

Valet parking attendants very on the ball, friendly, offering bottled water for the road and tips on road conditions where we were going.

We will definitely stay at this lovely property again, and highly recommend it particularly for celebrating a special occasion in Denver.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I don't think that anyone can enter this hotel without a sharp intake of breath. It, without a doubt, has one of the most beautiful lobbies I have ever seen. A gorgeous atrium area soars high to a bright stained glass ceiling, with intricate wrought iron enveloping every open floor level along the way. A lovely tea room occupies the center of the lobby, live music filters through the air, and details of great craftsmanship are seen everywhere. History permeates the place. Our bedroom, a basic king, was very nice. High ceilings, a small updated bathroom, a desk, flat screened TV, and small table and chairs make the room quite comfortable. The bed and the rain shower in the bathroom were especially good. The hotel's service was excellent all around, and our visits to the cigar bar, the Ship Tavern for lunches, and the Ellyngton restaurant (for breakfast), even a salon purchase, all were positive experiences. All around, an outstanding place to stay in Denver.

The only negative I found in this hotel was the location of the bathroom in our particular room (Room 528). It opened to the bedroom right at the bed, and a slatted wooden double door separated the two. It did not afford much privacy, and as this older building has only a passive exhaust system (no fan), some people might find it... indelicate.

Oh, and WIFI will put you back a couple bucks (about $13) each day. Silly, really, in this day and age. However, I suspect that most of the people who stay here don't mind.

Again, this was a wonderful hotel experience. A beautiful, elegant treat. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#15 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#18 Business Hotel in Denver
#29 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.