We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a WONDERFUL stay at The Brown Palace. Upon check-in, we were advised that we were upgraded to a King room. I mentioned to my husband that it must be for his birthday (that day). The clerk heard me and asked my husband if it was his birthday, which he confirmed. She then thanked us for spending his birthday at the hotel. A few hours later there was a knock at the door and an attendant came in with a "gift" from the hotel. It was a plate of macaroons with fresh fruit, Evian water and a letter from the hotel manager wishing my husband a happy birthday and their gratitude that we were staying with them. It was a simple touch that meant so much. The room was very comfortable and quite large. The coffee maker was a Kuerig and plenty of coffee was supplied with it. We loved the dual shower head in the bathroom! We had a nice lunch in the Ship Tavern. We enjoyed listening to the piano player before heading out for the evening. It was a very enjoyable stay and we hope to go back someday. We never did find the 2 upsidedown panels in the atrium =( The only disapointment was the price of parking, which if I remember correctly, was $31

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Brown Palace Hotel to celebrate your husband's birthday! Our Front Desk staff will be very happy to know that their personalized and intuitive service had ensured a truly memorable celebration for him.

We're also delighted to read that you enjoyed the upgraded accommodation, the live music in the Lobby and your lunch at Ship Tavern. We hope you will return so we will have an opportunity to show you the location of the upside-down panels around the Atrium.

I also want to thank you for your feedback regarding the overnight parking charge. I have shared your comments with our management team for future consideration. Please be assured that our parking fee is competitive with other luxury hotels in the Denver area, which we continuously monitor to ensure our pricing is fair.

Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    228
    86
    59
    40
See reviews for
166
457
116
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a good old fashioned elegant hotel with fine china, a beautiful lobby, comfortable rooms with tasteful touches. There are many choices of restaurants that vary in terms of cost and style. The lobby itself just makes one smile. They do, however, seem to need more help. When I arrived I waited quite a while while one lone fellow at reception handled two people checking out and multiple phone calls. He literally checked me in while multi-tasking. The next morning my wake up call was forgotten. When I got to the lobby no one was to be found. I went outside thinking I'd have the bell man hail me a cab. Nope. No bell man - cab would be hailed by me. Odd to actually see absolutely no one around. Worth a visit, and definitely worth a meal in the beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the elegant touches of the hotel, from the Lobby to the guest room, as well as the varied choices of dining on property.

We are disheartened to know, however, that you had experienced delays upon arrival and that you had difficulty in locating staff to assist you during particular periods of your stay. This lapse in service you encountered is not in keeping with the quality experience we strive to provide for our guests and regret the impact this had upon your visit.

We will be sharing this information with our management team to ensure we have the appropriate staffing levels at all times to assist our guests. We are very grateful for your constructive feedback and hope to have an opportunity to demonstrate a more true Brown Palace experience in the future.

Please let us know if we may be of any assistance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went to the Brown Palace for a girls weekend. It is a beautiful, luxury hotel. The room was perfect- we loved the double head shower. All of the staff was helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to meet any request we had. We did the afternoon tea- pricey but wonderful. Location is right downtown and an easy walk to many places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are delighted to read that your girls' getaway with us was a wonderful experience and are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our exquisite Afternoon Tea service.

We hope you will join us for many more memorable getaways in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thanks to David in the Spa/Salon, I now have a great hair stylist in the Denver neighborhood. He knows how to deal with curly hair, and easily worked to correct a few prior bad cuts without commenting or making any negative comments. I love the fact that he is quiet, respectful and low key. Everything worked out perfectly and I will go back in 5 more weeks for another cut.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize the professional and exemplary service you received from David in our Spa recently.

He is a wonderful asset to our organization and I know he will be delighted to receive your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Spa at The Brown Palace again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Yes, I said First! Before my time was over at The Brown Palace, I was booking my second stay!! My Fiance and I had an amazing night celebrating his birthday. The Room, practically perfect. The Dessert and Drinks at the Palace Arms was, The MOST AMAZING sommelier combination of Banana Fosters and wine. <3 I love The Brown Palace, and would recommend it to Anyone who enjoys that old classic Victorian style and Amazing Service!

Room Tip: Corner Suites ROCK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Please pass on our warmest belated birthday wishes to your fiance! We're so pleased you chose The Brown Palace to celebrate his special occasion and are ecstatic to know that you are already making plans to return.

We are anticipating your return and look forward to providing you both with many more cherished memories and unique moments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Staying here is luxurious and romantic. Every part of our stay, from the valet parking to the complimentary drinks, chocolate, and rose petals on our bed, oozes luxury. The following morning we had breakfast delivered to our room and enjoyed eating in our soft hotel robe and slippers. I plan on visiting the spa on our next trip. The atmosphere at the hotel was so nice I just didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are so delighted to read that your recent stay was truly romantic, pampering and memorable. We do hope you will have an opportunity to enjoy the Spa in the future as this will only heighten an already amazing experience for you.

Please return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Doormen dressed up as doormen with top hats, long overcoats and smiles on their faces. When you walk in, you are taken aback by the high stained glass ceiling and the staircase in the back that you can see going all the way to the top floor. The service was exceptional. Had room service only one night but the food was good and abundant so the typical high price of the sandwich could have easily been shared. But you're not here if you're counting pennies. Exercise room is in the neighoring hotel but my son said its just a simple weight room. Overall excellent though and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We're happy to know your family's stay was enjoyable and that you appreciated the authentic charm and style of the hotel.

We hope you will come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#20 Business Hotel in Denver
#24 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.