We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty underwear in bed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Denver Marriott City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Denver Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Denver Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #49 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dirty underwear in bed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upon arrival in my room, I always check for bed bugs and while I was happy that I didn't find any of those, I did find two pairs of dirty men's underwear between the mattress and box spring. While the staff I told was nice enough, they only said a casual "I'm sorry". They didn't ask what room I was in, or anything, so that they could follow up with the housekeeping staff. I expect a higher standard from the Marriott brand. The room was run down with paint chipping on the bathroom door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and your recent stay our hotel! The Marriott’s housekeeping staff is trained to collect any items left in the room and send to lost and found. Depending on where between the mattress and box spring these items were placed could have resulted in our staff missing them. Typically, this is not an area where things are left behind. With that, we will remind the team to ask more qualifying questions rather than just apologizing. As far as the bathroom door goes, we have found some recent paint chips and our Engineering Team will put this on their list of things to audit in all of our guest rooms. The next time your travels take you to Denver I encourage you to give us a second chance! Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    213
    117
    36
    19
See reviews for
46
71
38
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest the only negative was that we were only there for 3 nights. From the very friendly front desk to the wait staff to the valet to Teodosia the cleaner, everyone was top notch. The room was perfect - quiet, well appointed, clean, top quality furnishings - the one thing missing was a mini fridge. The room was quiet from all the sounds of the city & didn't even hear the thunderstorm. The pool was refreshing, I don't think its heated but was perfect for the hot weather. The restaurant for breakfast was well stocked with plenty of options from pastry, to breads, to hot & cold cereals & dairy. The hot foods were plentiful and good as well they had a chef to make your own personal omelet, waffle or pancakes. Valet was fast & efficient moving the cars & having them ready when promised. A great location for people going to any sporting event in Denver or to just explore the city. It was a perfect stay, but it is also a Marriott something you expect. Would definitely recommend & stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. I will share this note at our staff meeting this week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here as part of a city-wide convention. The hotel is located about 4 blocks from the convention center and one block from the 16th Street Mall. Yes, there was construction in the plaza next to the hotel, which got to be annoying because it was difficult navigating through it.

The staff was efficient when I checked in and explained where the restaurants were located (Lower Level) and when they were open. Because I'm a platinum member, I received access to the concierge lounge. Like most US hotels, the lounge was closed Friday afternoon to Monday morning. However, I was offered vouchers for breakfast at Allie's (their restaurant) or I could take the points instead. That was a great gesture and I hope that all Marriott properties in the US take up this practice.

Anyway, my room was on the 11th floor facing the construction. I was high enough that the noise didn't bother me. It was a typical, recently renovated Marriott room, with comfortable bedding, a nice work area, and smallish bathroom. the work area had several outlets so it was easy to plug in my phones, laptop, etc. without having to unplug half the lamps in the room. The room was clean and comfortable and housekeeping was efficient and thorough.

The restaurant and bar featured the typical Marriott fare and service was good.

The business center is located on the Lower Level and you access it via your room key. It's a pay-for-play deal with work stations and a printer. I believe you have to go to the front desk to have something faxed. Still, it was a basic business center.

There are a few drawbacks, though. The pickup/drop off area is constantly crowded, so you have to wade through cars to get to California Street, where the taxis are lined up. If your hauling luggage and the bell staff is overwhelmed, this can be problematic.

The bar area gets *really* loud when there is a convention in town and service can be sluggish.

However, it's a good hotel and I'm likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was at this hotel for three nights. Room was big, price was much less than comparable hotels in area and the location terrific. Walk to Coors field easy at about a little more than a mile. I would stay here again as a single traveler or with family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The organization I work for just held its annual conference here. The staff was super attentive, and was great when some of my "diva" coworkers got a bit ridiculous/demanding. I'm sure they were glad when our group left!

For the most part, it looked and was clean. But I did have the fruity water they offer in their conference area and found a bit of dirt in my glass, which grossed me out. The Starbucks is very convenient, and we spend several nights enjoying the bar. It was great to drink and get late night snacks there.

The rooms were mediocre. Super small, especially the bathrooms. The view from my room was horrible, as there was construction going on and my room overlooked it. The hotel is centrally located, which is definitely one plus.

It's a business hotel, yet there is no free wi-fi in the rooms, and the one in the lobby and conference area is spotty. Guests at the conference were constantly complaining.

All in all, it's good for business, but I would not stay there on my own dime.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve A, Director of Sales at Denver Marriott City Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I really appreciate your comments about our “super attentive” staff. We strive to have excellent customer service as we know you have many options. Regarding the dirt in your glass from the fruit infused water, I would agree with you about that being disgusting. I will pass this on to our banquet staff who manages the water each day. This is the first I’ve heard of this so it’s definitely not a reoccurring issue. Most people really enjoy having this free option down in the meeting room level. We just got funding for an internet upgrade throughout our hotel so the bandwidth capability will be much enhanced. Please come back and see us again! Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower had strong water pressure and very hot water. Starbucks in the lobby for a quick coffee and muffin, or a reasonably priced breakfast is available in the restaurant on the lower level. There is also good food available at the bar.
There are many tourist attractions within walking distance - the Denver tourism office is very nearby and they were incredibly friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What can i say - its a big chain hotel and as such you get what you expect. It is clean and tidy, rooms are clean with comfortable bedding. I wouldnt stay here on vacation personally (this was a business trip) as i prefer something a bit more trendy/boutique but it is a pleasant enough hotel.

Rooms are a decent size (i was on the executive floors) but was rather dark. There is no minibar/fridge which is a bit disappointing. The bathroom as other guests have stated is tiny.

Location-wise it sits just 2 blocks from 16th st mall (the shops/bars) so is well positioned to take advantage of that.

The staff are super-helpful and friendly; more so than you normally get in a chain hotel so well done!

Room Tip: The club lounge which you get when on the executive floors (15/16/17) has a wonderful breakfast (tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Denver Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denver Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.