We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay before a football game!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 Welton St., Denver, CO 80202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #29 of 147 hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great stay before a football game!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I recently decided to travel once a year to follow our home football team,. the San Diego Chargers. For 2013, that away game was the Chargers vs Broncos game in December. We decided on the Hyatt because it offered a great value and it was centrally located (a 2 block walk to the main 16th street area with tons of shops, restaurants and a free trolley... it also was about a 10-15 minute trolley ride away to Sports Authority Stadium). There's a bunch of places to eat nearby and a 7-11 practically on every corner... oh and a Starbucks on site!! The rooms are nice and spacious and very quiet. The hotel is also very new and in excellent condition. We ordered room service which will run you the standard hefty room service price, but it was actually pretty good and we were super tired so it didn't matter. The hotel staff was great, very attentive and very helpful. As an added bonus, we didn't know it at the time of booking, but it turns out the Chargers team was also staying there!! So about 2-3 hours before the game was set to start, we saw them from about 5 feet away leaving the hotel.
BIG TIP!!!!: We made the mistake of paying for a taxi to take us from the airport to the Hyatt and the guy charged us $70 for both of us. NEVER AGAIN. The Hyatt offers a shuttle service through Super Shuttle for $22 each person which is much more reasonable than $35 per person. We booked them the night before we were set to leave and they run every 15 minutes. Excellent. You can book by calling the hotel or if you're already there, just going to the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattExec, Executive Assistant at Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for the great comments and congratulations on the Chargers win.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    96
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
49
9
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was like any other Hyatt. Nothing exceptional about it. A Holiday Inn would offer more facilities at a better price than Hyatt. The rooms were nice and comfortable, skipped the breakfast at the hotel so I cannot comment. Stayed there only for a night. There is free parking just outside the hotel on the street after a certain time until morning, better than paying at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattExec, Executive Assistant at Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks for your comments. Regarding parking: there are street parking options in Denver but be certain to read signage and posting carefully to avoid costly parking violations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on December 31 and attended their Ultimate New Year's Eve party. There were four parties in the hotel proper and one in the Pinnacle Club next door. The hotel staff was attentive and very helpful from arrival through check out. The Gatsby Party in the Pinnacle Club (38th floor) was spectacular with views of the entire Denver area, including the fireworks. While the cost of the overnight stay and all the parties was not inexpensive, the food, drinks, service and entertainment were all top-notch. This review is for a once a year event, but I think it's worth thinking about for 2015.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattExec, Executive Assistant at Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Wonderful to hear that you stayed at the Grand Hyatt Denver to ring in 2014 and that you also dined on the tasty delights from our restaurants and chefs. We'll pass on the "top notch." Thanks for the compliments and we'll see you for 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The wife and I stayed for one night in December for my company Christmas party that was happening in Downtown Denver. The hotel is located close to the 16th street mall so if you've never stayed in Denver it's a good location. But since we're already Denver natives, that wasn't too important to us. I'm a Hyatt rewards member and used my rewards for the night. So I'm familiar with quite a few Hyat hotels. Considering the number of rooms the Hotel has, I felt the lobby and lobby bar was quite small and very average. Unfortuantely for us we were there when it was 5 degrees outside and the lobby bar was freezing. Everyone was bundled up while having a coctail. Its a nice hotel if the location is important to you. Other than that, average ameneties.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattExec, Executive Assistant at Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
First, please accept our thanks for staying with Hyatt. We realize that we are a choice among many, and we do value your business.

During our recent cold spell in Denver we did experience some temperature swings in our newly renovated lobby. We have since resolved these issues and are pleased to say that the lobby is now a comfortable and consistent temperature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed there for a software convection past 3 years. When they have big meetings going on they give out cheap upgrades to suites. $19 extra a night got me a huge room with a dining area, large sitting area and a large wet bar and full size fridge. Resturant has great food. Hotel is one block from the 16th mall. One nice bar in the lobby and a quiet bar on I think what is the 26th floor with perfect view of the city lights at night. The place was spotless. Everyone friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was Supposed to be the first part of my vacation ( 2 nights, 3 days)with my two daughters ( 6 yrs and 14 yrs) beginning with a hotel stay!! It should have been a festive, fun and exciting beginning to our 6 night 7 day vacation! From the minute walked into the hotel, it seemed as if Christmas had been just ignored altogether. That part was just sad and a downer because My kids wanted to enjoy the holidays. From the moment we stepped foot into the hotel room we experienced one problem after another! I Spent more time having to try and rectify issues with the room than I did trying to enjoy my vacation! whenever I travel I always Stay in a Hyatt Hotel. I enjoy them and their services are aces. I will never return nor will I ever recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattExec, Executive Assistant at Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
WE would love to discuss your stay more and learn the specifics….Please contact the hotel directly and ask for the General Manager to discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here the 23rd and 24th of December. Our flight was late into Denver and we got to the hotel at 3:30 AM, to be met by the nicest desk clerk ever, Bill. We stayed on the Club floor and it was worth every dime. Comfortable room, nice night lights under the nightstands and in the bathroom that came on when there was movement. Breakfast was great: smoked salmon, brie cheese, and all kinds of goodies along with fresh fruit and cereal. The grand club room has snacks during the day; a refrigerator full of soft drinks, cookies, and make your own trail mix. The same room had a cocktail hour with cheeses and other snacks, and an honor bar with very nice wine and liquor. There's a concierge in the room who is very helpful. The bed was comfortable, and everything was wonderful. Every single employee we dealt with was polite, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: I know it's more expensive but the club floor is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown

Address: 1750 Welton St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Denver
#9 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#18 Business Hotel in Denver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#39 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Diamond AAA award winning Grand Hyatt Denver is in the heart of the Mile High City's business district. Complete with a host of comforts, each spacious accommodation, one of the region's largest, features the Hyatt Grand Bed, free 24 hour fitness facility, indoor pool, room service around the clock, well-lit work stations and high-speed internet access. Reminiscent of the Colorado Rockies, a sandstone fireplace provides a warm welcome for arriving guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, TIG Global and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hyatt Denver Downtown
Denver Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.