We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Denver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Denver to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Denver
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save $30 on Suites
Ranked #22 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Denver, CO
2 reviews
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

A nice hotel, great location. The entire staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the wine/beer reception and the milk & cookies was a big hit with our grandson! We had a small maintenance issue which was literally fixed within 10 minutes. The pillows are GREAT! The complimentary breakfast has a lot of choices, although the hot food (scrambled eggs, gravy, etc) was bland. The Magnolia is always in our top 3 choices for Downtown Denver.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear tazdenver,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're glad you keep coming back and had a good experience with our pillows, helpful staff, and milk and cookies. Next time, if you feel the hot food could use some pizzazz, let one of our staff know and we'll find a way to spice things up.

We appreciate your continued patronage and your review. We'll see you next time.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    556
    146
    59
    39
See reviews for
242
904
150
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We decided to spend my birthday weekend in downtown Denver and chose the Magnolia for our stay. Location, location, location! Smack in the middle of downtown, yet quiet and peaceful in the room. Service was great, most of all because it was so personable. Right on arrival, the valet asking us about our evening plans and encouraged us to call if we needed a ride anywhere. Then at check-in, the agent pointed out all the hotel amenities (the kids loved the evening cookies!) and make sure we had directions to our dinner location.
We had a standard room with two queen beds: plenty spacious for a family of four, it was elegant, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning hit the spot: it was served on the lower level that had various seating areas, which made it less formal. This must be the only full service hotel offering free breakfast and we were impressed. And if you prefer Starbucks coffee: they operate a Starbucks store across the drive with delivery to your room!
All is all: a great stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hey LoveTopHotels,

First off, Happy BDay! Secondly, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Reviews like yours are like candy! And we love candy!

In regards to the attentive staff, helpful valet, awesome amenities, delicious milk and cookies, wonderful breakfast and delivered Starbucks...that's just how we do things.

Come back and see us for your next celebration. We'll be here.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A nice little hotel with a lot of potential. It is a nice location if you need to be in downtown Denver. The light rail runs right beside, and I do mean right beside the hotel; however, the light rail does not currently go to the airport. You will need a cab, public transit, or an airport shuttle (hotel does not offer a shuttle), or a rental car to get to the hotel. If you get a rental car be prepared to pay premium for parking - $26.00/day; ridiculous.

Check-in and check out was smooth, reception staff were very friendly. Elevators are tired, so be patient when waiting for them and for the doors to open once you have landed. Cookies, coffee and milk in the lobby is a nice touch. Lobby is small, downstairs lounge is a nice place to hangout with friends or family. Staff throughout the hotel were always very friendly and helpful.

Room was okay, it was clean, offered flat screen t.v., lounge chair, desk and chair. Beds can be a hit and miss in hotels; obviously, everyone has different mattress taste but if you like firm you will like these beds. Heating system was a challenge in my room, I had to turn heat way up and keep the fan on to get a comfortable temperature at floor level. Others with our group also had heating issues and loud fans. Bathroom was clean. I suggest the hotel invest is some new shower heads.

Housekeeping did a good job but did not come to my room until after 5:00. That is a little late, and I had just returned from an all day meeting. I told them to come back in an hour; which they did.

We ate at the lounge, Harry's, one night. Food was okay, service was not good, one waitress for a full lounge. If you are arriving at the hotel late, it's 0 degrees outside and you are hungry go for it.

Breakfast is complimentary. Hot food tasted okay. Breakfast staff was very helpful.

There is no pool, no hot tub, there is a steam room but it was "out of service". Fitness room is good. Life Fitness stuff. Strength machines are okay, free weights should be replaced.

As I said, this is a nice hotel with a lot of potential. Upon returning to Denver I would pick another place; however, with time and if recommended by Tripadvisor, I would consider staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Irishrover1019,

Thank you for your review, and thank you for your level of detail. Reviews that are specific and well-crafted help us zero in on areas which need improvement, and improving is something we're always game for.

We do hope your next trip will being you back, so you can see our true colors. Until then, best of luck.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday 12/14/13 for one night. The hotel is nice as was all the staff and the room was great. Not sure if we were upgraded but we stayed in a room with a kitchen, dining room, living room in one area and then you walked down a hall to the bedroom and bathroom. It was nice that it was so large and the bed was really comfortable. The only problem we had was with the noise. We were on the 3rd floor and our room faced what is like a courtyard that overlooks the valet/entrance area. Anyway, there just so happened to be a Holiday party going on that night with people that really seemed to know how to party! There was hooting and hollering pretty much until dawn with people coming and going from the hotel or standing outside smoking so we were kept up for a lot of the night and awakened every so often when people got really loud. Due to the layout it seemed the noise was probably amplified by the courtyard that funneled up. Maybe if we were higher up we wouldn’t have noticed? Also, no fault of the hotel, but someone had puked all over one of the elevators which I saw that night thanks to the fact that they left the doors open on the elevator for everyone to see before cleaning it up and of course in the morning this was the elevator I had to get in to head downstairs and it reeked! Anyway, I would definitely stay here again – just maybe in a room that was on a higher level and hopefully not when a crazy Holiday party was going on!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sdenzel,

We are so appreciative of all of our guests, regardless of party size, and we understand how crazy things can get. We're very thankful for guests like you, who understand large crowds, understand that due to complex physics, sound may travel, and understand that due to simple science, some people can't hold in their spirits.

We're glad we handled the issues when we could, and we have addressed them to the appropriate parties. We're very thankful that you took the time to review your experience with us.

We look forward to doing it again, without the ear and nose plugs.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

this was our second stay at the Magnolia and I love its location, an easy walk to all of the Denver attractions. Parking is easy and although busy, the valets were fast and efficient. We enjoyed the bedtime milk and cookies and the free breakfast the following morning hit the spot. Our only complaint was poor lighting in the bathroom but apart from that a wonderful stay. The Magnolia will always be our Denver hotel choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hey sage0,

Thank you for penning this review! We're happy you took advantage of all our perks and I've informed the maintenance staff of your brightness issue in the bathroom.

We hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel and you can't beat the price. The valet service was excellent and they were very friendly. The breakfast could be improved upon as the choices are slim and it was a bit cold but okay. The service in the breakfast area is excellent - they are very friendly and helpful. While we did not make it to the manager's reception we did stop into Harry's Bar at about midnight and I think the bartender and the waitress were caught off guard by the crowd that came in, the service wasn't very good.

Overall this hotel is an excellent value with great staff. I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a suite - while all the rooms are very nice and comfortable the suites are the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear ortegmm,

Thanks for writing and sharing your experience with us. We are glad you found us to be helpful and attentive, and in regards to the breakfast temp and choices, and late-night waitstaff, the appropriate parties have been notified.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I liked its central location, the free wifi and the solid housekeeping.

I didn't like that my room was ice cold, when I arrived. The room was also very noisy, so bring your ear plugs. Staff at checkin and checkout seemed annoyed. We all had to work to pay for our college. No reason to be annoyed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Ruedinho,

Thank you for writing this review and thank you for balancing the positives and the negatives.

If you should find yourself staying with us in the future and another noise should disturb you, call down to the front and we'll help secure you a more cozy and comfortable nights sleep. Your comment about our staff being annoyed due to financial concerns relating to their personal development has also been noted.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Denver

Address: 818 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#22 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Denver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Denver hotel features guestrooms and suites ideal for extended stay, corporate, and leisure travelers near many city attractions, restaurants, and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Denver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.