We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Denver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Denver to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Denver
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save $30 on Suites
Ranked #22 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with everything about this hotel. Great location, conveinetly located within walking distance of business, restaurants, shopping and sporting events. My complimentary upgrade to a suite on 6th floor made it even better. Walked in to find I was staying in a small apartment...living room, dining room, full kitchen, large bathroom, bedroom and walk-in closet. Made business very easy...we could all regroup and work around the table in between meetings. Much more comfortable than Starbucks. Breakfast in the morning was nice with lots of choices, happy hour and then cookies and milk at night make it all that much better. Harry's has an amazing cheeseburger and the staff throughout are wonderful. I highly recommend a stay here and will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    556
    146
    59
    39
See reviews for
242
904
150
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for almost a week for a conference. The location is great, and the rooms are nice. The staff, however, wasn't especially courteous. They weren't mean, but just short. Some of them acted as though they were doing us a favor just by giving us directions or making an extra key. Our window overlooked the middle of the building instead of downtown. I expect it was because we were on an inside room, so it might be good to ask for a room overlooking the city and not the other side of the hotel.

Some examples of drawbacks: We asked for extra hangers when we got there. When the woman at the front desk asked me how many we needed, I said about a dozen...and ideally more. She said no problem, and when the gentleman came up with the hangers, there were only six. I didn't bother to ask for more, but it was a bit annoying. The design of the room was also a bit flawed. The light switch for the bathroom was by the sink, which meant you had to walk into the bathroom in the dark and then turn on the light. Oh, the drain on the shower didn't have a stopper, so despite the fact that it was also a tub in which i could have taken a bath, I wasn't able to do so. Also, the food was overall mediocre. The hotel catered the conference, so we got a good sense of their culinary skills... or lack thereof. Again, not bad, but not terrific.

There were a few things I LOVED about the Magnolia though. Top on that list: Cookies and milk every night in from 8-10. They're store-bought cookies, but still good. Also, they let us take the cookies and milk up to our room as well. I don't drink alcohol, but for those of you who do enjoy it, you may appreciate that there's also a cocktail hour every night, where I think you get a free drink or perhaps more. That was always more crowded than the cookies and milk. There's also a continental breakfast that isn't all that bad. I didn't ever go, but my husband did, and he said it was okay. Also, we didn't pay for the hotel, but I'm pretty sure the rates were reasonable--particularly given the great location. And the lobby is quite nice (though pretty small) as well. There are only 12 floors so it's not a huge hotel. Oh, and I almost forgot, the desk in the room has a granite top, which I loved. Also, there isn't any fun cable (hbo, showtime, etc), but their internet is free and trustworthy.

So yeah, the staff could be nicer, the rooms could be more thoughtfully designed and the food could use some improvement. Had they provided homemade (or at least more homemade-looking) chocolate chip cookies, I honestly think it would have made up for a lot...likely more because of my nearly absurd penchant for chocolate chip cookies than anything else...but it's not like I'm the only one out there who appreciates a good cookie.

Hope this helps someone!

Anyway, I hope this is of help to y'all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city and on the top (12th) floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The friendliest and cleanest hotel I have been to in a long time. This hotel prides itself on customer service and thinks outside the box. We were in town for a wedding and from directions to the church and asking valet for a cab ride to the reception. The Magnolia staff refused to call the cab, only to offer a ride themselves, we definitely didn't expect that ! Cookies and milk at night, what a real treat ! The 16th St. Mall and LODO just around the corner to make it a great location. Will definitely will be back !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very conveniently located near the 16th Street Mall and within easy walking distance of the Convention Center. Makes a great place to stay if you are working a trade-show, and the suites are a nice plus if you want a quiet place to cook a meal and retreat for a bit. Friendly staff and excellent concierge.

Room Tip: If renting a king suite, get utensils for the kitchen sent up at check-in; we have stayed here twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Magnolia, and I'm sure we'll be back. Both times, we've indulged in the Fireplace Suite, and the rooms are like little apartments downtown. Awesome location, and the price (for the area, and for what you get) can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Try the fireplace suites--they're comfy and roomy and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have stayed here several times. Always a good time. we get the king suite and having the extra room makes a week stay very comfortable. The happy hour and cookies downstairs are a nice little add on. When downtown, I will continue to stay here.

Room Tip: if possible get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Loved everything about the hotel. Got a room at the end of the hall. Quiet. Cozy. It was a great weekend. However, I noticed a charge on my credit card for a bottle of water that I never drank....the hotel refunded me, but it always makes me suspicious. I would try it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Denver

Address: 818 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#22 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Denver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Denver hotel features guestrooms and suites ideal for extended stay, corporate, and leisure travelers near many city attractions, restaurants, and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Denver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.