We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, wonderful time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Denver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Denver to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Denver
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 17th St., Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save $30 on Suites
Ranked #22 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Denver
1 review
“Great stay, wonderful time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My parents stayed at the Magnolia Hotel in Denver for their 25th Anniversary. I was able to book a room that had a view of the parade of lights. The concierge helped me with making this a surpise for them, by having an early check in time and answering every request. The beer and wine reception and the cookie and milk buffet made the night awesome! I would stay in this hotel over and over again. The staff is helpful and always polite, and the valet is fast. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a little getaway or romantic time! Thank you Magnolia!

Room Tip: The suite is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    556
    146
    59
    39
See reviews for
242
904
150
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've stayed here several time before. The downtown location is great close to many businesses and restaurants. One block from the 16th Street free shuttle route. The suite rooms have a small or full size refrig and microwave which is good for several day stays. Starbuck's is on the street level along with a sandwich shop.

There are meeting rooms in the lower level where the breakfast area is located. We've used there rooms for off-site meetings and 20 person training sessions.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've stayed here a few times for work related events, and I really love this hotel. If you can, book a fireplace suite; they're spacious and have a beautiful gas fireplace that really adds charm. The regular rooms are pretty big as well, and the bathrooms in both the regular room and the suite are way above average, in my opinion (big soaker tubs). There are some great little touches, besides the fireplace suites, that make this hotel special: a nightly reception with free beer and wine, a late night cookie buffet and a free buffet breakfast. It's a small, cozy hotel in a terrific location. Beware the $26 valet fee, but if you can stomach it, it's super convenient. There are less expensive places to park all around the hotel, though, so you have lots of options. You can walk to the 16th Street Mall from here, as well as many of the area's best restaurants, but if walking isn't your thing, or if, like me, you wear 4" heels when you go out, you can easily grab a taxi right outside the doors of the hotel. This hotel is a great value...don't hesitate to book it!

Room Tip: Try to book a fireplace suite, and grab a corner if you can. I stayed in 1002, which has an adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my first time at the Magnolia and I loved it. I chose it as much for the price as for the location and free breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised with a complimentary happy hour as well as cookies and milk every night! The staff was very helpful in giving recommendations as needed, rooms are clean and comfortable and I don't think the price can be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed in a fireplace suite last January. All in all I had an average experience. The hotel shuttle was either out of service or unavailable and the one time it was sent to pick me up, it picked up someone else and I was left waiting in the cold until I called and they said they had already picked me up. Fortunately they at least covered the cost of the cab back. The room was pretty chilly even with the fireplace on. Staff was average friendly, but for a supposed luxury hotel, I would expect better customer service. I don't think I'd recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Magnolia in many times; it is my first choice of hotels in Denver. The location and facilities are terrific, particularly for the price. The beds are splendid and the breakfast, happy hour, and evening milk and cookies make this hotel a delightful choice.

Room Tip: We always get some sort of suite for the space and furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for the Thanksgiving holiday to visit family. Great breakfast and a nice happy hour with free beer and wine. Close to downtown which was an important part of the decision making. Clean and nice staff. Can't beat this small hotel for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Denver

Address: 818 17th St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#22 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Denver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Denver hotel features guestrooms and suites ideal for extended stay, corporate, and leisure travelers near many city attractions, restaurants, and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Magnolia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Denver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.