We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent rooms, bad everything else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #66 of 148 Hotels in Denver
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, decent rooms, bad everything else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed May 2013 for work. Great location near 16th street mall with lots of bars, restaurants, shops etc.

The rooms are a decent size and clean. Everything else is shoddy though. Intermittent wifi, no real milk at breakfast, non dairy creamer in rooms, bad coffee at breakfast. The decor looks like the inside of someone's colon.

Other than that it's lovely :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Flaston,

Thank you for your willingness to share your comments regarding your stay here at the Comfort Inn Downtown. I find it regrettable that you experienced problems with the internet and did not approve of the rooms decor. I am pleased you enjoyed the city as a result of our favorable location.

We would be most pleased to hear from you personally to discuss potential areas we may approve upon. We truly value your business and are committed to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Brandt Ellwood
bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com

No car is necessary! Here are the top ten things to do within a short walk from our location:
1) Promenade over to the historic Brown Palace Hotel and Spa (.5 blocks)
2) Step out the door to the 16th street pedestrian mall and 1.5 miles of restaurants and shops (1 Block)
3) Stroll over to the State Capital building (5 blocks)
4) Meander through the Denver Art Museum or Clyfford Still Museum (5 blocks)
5) Stride to the Denver Convention Center (5 blocks)
6) Saunter to the History Colorado Center (6 blocks)
7) Stumble upon a Colorado Rockies Baseball Game (10 blocks)
8) Ramble in safety about the city center
9) Strut to the US MInt (6 blocks)
10) Sashay to the Denver Performing Arts Complex (6 blocks)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    145
    101
    31
    22
See reviews for
43
118
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location but strange updating of bathrooms! They have changed traditional solid doors for opaque glass sliding doors, which leaves a 1/2 inch gap around the programme and no privacy whatsoever. We did complain and was offered another room which we took.

Complimentary breakfast is a nice start to the day with plenty choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location for downtown activities! While it is by no means a elegant hotel for the price it is fitting! We stayed their because our event was downtown! Location and price were nice and our actual time in the hotel was minimal! The staff was wonderful, which made up for the flaws of the hotel! Would have liked to see the rooms cleaner! That was probably our biggest complaint!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has decent rooms for a fair price for a downtown location. The location was strategically located. Many places to eat and shop were within walking distance. My only beefs were that the climate control system took forever to respond to a thermostat change (probably needed maintenance) and the towels were pretty thin. The room interior had recently been remodeled and it was nice. We had a high floor (recommend) so the street noise was minimal. The breakfast in the morning reminded me of hospital food but it was free and you had enough variety to find something palatable. I highly recommend crossing over to the Brown Palace Hotel via the skybridge and indulging in their breakfast. It will cost you but you will enjoy it. All and all I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location was close to my work meetings, and the 16th Street Mall. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was decent, but not fantastic. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was small and dated. My room was located at the end of a hallway, so I did not hear a lot of hallway noise, which I appreciated. This hotel offers various discounts at the Brown Palace Hotel next door, and there is a walkway on the second floor that connects the two buildings. All in all, the hotel is fine if you're staying for a night or two and want to be close to the 16th Street Mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horse Patch, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Downtown Comfort Inn is only one and half blocks from the 16th Street Mall and is one of the cheaper downtown motels. My room was spotless, and I really liked it that it had a small couch to sit on to watch TV. That was wonderful. The bathroom had nice roomy walk-in shower and the view out my 15th floor room was fantastic of the city at night. The free breakfast was about the same as the Comfort Inn's I've stayed at. Nothing fancy but adequate and a nice variety of cereal, eggs, sausage, yogurt, etc. They also provide free copies of USA Today in the Lobby had a public computer. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I arrived early morning in the middle of a snowstorm. Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant and in exchange for a double bed instead of a queen size bed, they gave me early check-in, on a high floor. The room was pleasant. The doors to the room were old, but were safe. During my three-night stay, staff was always visible and very helpful. The hair dryer to my room was set way back on the closet shelf, to where I did not see it. Upon calling the front desk, I had a hair dryer within 10 minutes. Internet connection, while free, dropped many times during my stay. The walk to the convention center was quick and easy. Breakfast was convenient and well stocked. I really appreciate the friendly staff, the location, the price, and the accommodations. Thanks! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a downtown Denver hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Address: 401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.