We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better last year” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“better last year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location but strange updating of bathrooms! They have changed traditional solid doors for opaque glass sliding doors, which leaves a 1/2 inch gap around the programme and no privacy whatsoever. We did complain and was offered another room which we took.

Complimentary breakfast is a nice start to the day with plenty choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    151
    113
    36
    23
See reviews for
44
126
37
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is in a great location for downtown activities! While it is by no means a elegant hotel for the price it is fitting! We stayed their because our event was downtown! Location and price were nice and our actual time in the hotel was minimal! The staff was wonderful, which made up for the flaws of the hotel! Would have liked to see the rooms cleaner! That was probably our biggest complaint!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has decent rooms for a fair price for a downtown location. The location was strategically located. Many places to eat and shop were within walking distance. My only beefs were that the climate control system took forever to respond to a thermostat change (probably needed maintenance) and the towels were pretty thin. The room interior had recently been remodeled and it was nice. We had a high floor (recommend) so the street noise was minimal. The breakfast in the morning reminded me of hospital food but it was free and you had enough variety to find something palatable. I highly recommend crossing over to the Brown Palace Hotel via the skybridge and indulging in their breakfast. It will cost you but you will enjoy it. All and all I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location was close to my work meetings, and the 16th Street Mall. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was decent, but not fantastic. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was small and dated. My room was located at the end of a hallway, so I did not hear a lot of hallway noise, which I appreciated. This hotel offers various discounts at the Brown Palace Hotel next door, and there is a walkway on the second floor that connects the two buildings. All in all, the hotel is fine if you're staying for a night or two and want to be close to the 16th Street Mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horse Patch, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Downtown Comfort Inn is only one and half blocks from the 16th Street Mall and is one of the cheaper downtown motels. My room was spotless, and I really liked it that it had a small couch to sit on to watch TV. That was wonderful. The bathroom had nice roomy walk-in shower and the view out my 15th floor room was fantastic of the city at night. The free breakfast was about the same as the Comfort Inn's I've stayed at. Nothing fancy but adequate and a nice variety of cereal, eggs, sausage, yogurt, etc. They also provide free copies of USA Today in the Lobby had a public computer. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I arrived early morning in the middle of a snowstorm. Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant and in exchange for a double bed instead of a queen size bed, they gave me early check-in, on a high floor. The room was pleasant. The doors to the room were old, but were safe. During my three-night stay, staff was always visible and very helpful. The hair dryer to my room was set way back on the closet shelf, to where I did not see it. Upon calling the front desk, I had a hair dryer within 10 minutes. Internet connection, while free, dropped many times during my stay. The walk to the convention center was quick and easy. Breakfast was convenient and well stocked. I really appreciate the friendly staff, the location, the price, and the accommodations. Thanks! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a downtown Denver hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was the worst hotel we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Denver and Vail, CO.

Staff at the front desk were professional and courteous, but the parking valet staff treated you worse than a nuisance if you weren't going to pay $28 extra per day to use their service. We walked past them a few times on the way to a car park a block away, and the staff didn't even acknowledge us. Staff in little cheap hotels in the suburbs we stayed in could teach these guys how to treat guests.

The room was crowded and poorly appointed: only a coffee maker, nothing else to prepare snacks, let alone meals. The fan in the ensuite ran continuously, 24h per day, and could not be switched off.

For what you pay (this was far more expensive than other hotels we used), this was very disappointing.

We stayed here because it was connected with the conference we attended at the Colorado Convention Center. I would hope that other hotels in the city were better than this, but you pay so much you have to wonder if it is worth it.

Room Tip: Avoid higher floors if you want to get from the lobby more quickly. We were on the top floor, and of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Address: 401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.