We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Convenient Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #62 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Waynesville
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Convenient Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The good:
The staff is great at attending to your needs and making sure your stay is pleasurable. Each morning is filled with a full breakfast buffet that is sure to give you a good start of the day. The hotel is connected with the Brown Palace. You need to take time to walk into this lovely place. Be sure to eat at the Ship's Tavern. Best trout you will find in town! The hotel is located just a block away from the 16th street mall which has a multitude of stores and dining establishments.

The okay:
Because this is an older hotel, some of today's amenities are not available such as large, spacious rooms and large ventilated bathrooms.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    143
    97
    30
    22
See reviews for
41
116
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Comfort Inn in Downtown Denver is in a great location. It is just a block away from the central shopping and entertainment district and within walking distance of the Convention Center. I had a corner room with 2 walls of glass and an excellent view from the desk area.

Room Tip: The corner rooms, with curved glass, have a good deal of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Arkansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere safe, with a good location, and somewhere to sleep for the night (no bells or whistles) this is the place for you. Downtown is a great place to visit. You can walk everywhere. Lots of fun restaurants, shops and entertainment. This hotel is across the street from the Brown Palace and they share their amenities. When I say across the street, imagine a small residential street - it’s that close. In a way you get all of the luxury of the Brown Palace at a fraction of the cost. I was at a convention for work, held at the convention center. One evening I had to order room service due to lack of time and it was delivered from the Brown Palace (quickly and very fresh).

The customer service at the Front Desk was very good. The complimentary continental breakfast was minimal (on comparison to other complimentary continental breakfasts I've had at other hotels I'd give it a grade of a "C") But again, this is a value hotel so it was good enough. The condition of the room was again a "C". When I checked in, one of the main light bulbs was out, there was a used bar of soap with hair on it under the desk (I'm hoping the housekeeper accidentally just dropped it on her/his way out) and the TV remote didn't work. It took 3 calls to get the remote replaced. I didn't bother telling them about the soap or light bulb. The room was small. But again... it was good enough. The hotel seemed older but, kept up with decor. Walls were thin - I could hear everyone in the next rooms - I think that was likely due to the style of hotels when this one was built. The fitness room had everything one would need, and the equipment seemed very new - I was impressed.

I hope this review doesn't sound cynical in anyway... I want to make sure to be as honest as possible for you so that when you are deciding on a hotel you know what you are getting. All in all I would recommend this hotel based on location and price - however, make sure you go in knowing what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COHospitalityGuru, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear ARTravelmama,

We appreciate your candor with your comments regarding your stay with us. Thank you for describing the service opportunities we can improve on as well as the opportunities we are succeeding with. Most importantly thank you for your recommendation based on the value we strive to provide and our centralized location.

Thank you,
Brandt Ellwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Comfort Inn has a great location and a good price. I attended a conference at the nearby Sheridan, about 2 blocks away. As compared to the conference price at the Sheridan, I paid $30.00 a night less, got free wi-fi, and the hotel offered a great breakfast. The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the 16th street pedestrian mall. The front office staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the use of the business center was free. It also is easy to get in and out of the hotel, as opposed to having to wind your way past multiple stores to get out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last year and enjoyed it.
Perfect downtown location. One block off of the 16th Street Mall.
Rooms are clean and large.
Had problems with the door keys but the staff was very helpful.
Great value for being downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COHospitalityGuru, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Jack H,
We are flattered you took the time a year after staying with us to spread the news about the comfortable, clean, and valuable destination in the heart of Downtown Denver. I am pleased you recognized how our staff made the difference when handling the problem you encountered. We extend to you our upmost thanks for your continued loyalty and continued patronage.

Thank you,

Brandt Ellwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We traveled to Denver for a meeting, went early to enjoy Denver. Got hotel room through the convention housing center. Since we had stayed in this hotel in the past and liked it we were happy to get a room there. Very convenient to the center of town, to the 16th street mall and the buses there, plenty of restaurants, shops, museums. Also had a shuttle bus to the convention center from this hotel - very convenient. The convention center is actually within walking distance. Hotel is comfortable, convenient free breakfast, Internet access is free. Fitness center available, but too busy to use on this trip. Husband came with me, but it was my meeting.

Room Tip: Two bed room was adequate, but on the small side. Since we usually use the hotel only for sleep it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here because it was located in downtown Denver and we had a special deal that made it much cheaper than the standard rates (by over half price). I wouldn't stay here for the typical price. It is old, rundown, and needs a complete rehab. The staff was wonderful and the valet parking was always smooth. Our room was large with plenty of windows but this made it impossible for the old air conditioning to keep up. It was unbearably warm in the room by late morning (and I'm normally always cold). We had a nice time with our friends and I'm not that snobby when it comes to normal hotel wear and tear but this place just feels old.

Room Tip: When you are checking in and they offer a corner room, don't take it (at least not in summer mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COHospitalityGuru, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am truly sorry you did not have the experience you deserve and expect. We are constantly working on making our rooms more efficient and comfortable for a business traveler or vacationers’ needs. If you would be willing, I would appreciate you to contact me so I can hear more of your remarks and bring them to our design team to implement.

Thank you,

Brandt Ellwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exceptional value in the heart of the Mile High City at the Comfort Inn Downtown Denver. Located one block from the 16th Street Mall and Denver Pavilions, steps from prestigious companies and vibrant nightlife, this perfectly priced downtown Denver hotel offers a modern, fresh, and fun destination for both business and leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.