We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Denver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #66 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Belgrade, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Downtown Denver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great hotel in an excellent location! One block from 16th St. Mall! Staff were accommodating and helpful. Can't wait to stay again! Pay the extra for the City View Room, the view is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Go for the City View Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    145
    101
    31
    22
See reviews for
43
118
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dolores, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Perfect location for our overnight stay before international flight.
Convenient for dinner and an entertaining after dinner stroll.
Courteous and helpful staff got us into our room early and let us keep it late, so that we could leave the hotel and go straight to the airport.
We've stayed here on at least 3 previous pre-trip occasions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After going out to dinner, we were unable to get into our room in spite of three key changes. The night manager, Brandon, came up and even tried to use his key card. We were told that the mechanism inside the door would need to be fixed. He said we should go across the street to the Brown Palace where we would have a $20 credit and that he would be over soon. We did so - enjoyed a nice glass of wine and then Brandon came over and gave us keys to a newer, nicer room. I thought he did a nice job of accommodating us after a crummy situation. As we left, we found we hadn't been charged the parking charge either!

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel was okay. It was small, however, it was adequate. The bathroom had mostly new fixtures, and for the most part, the hotel was clean. However, there were water stains near the window in our room, which was unfortunate. The location was really nice, as it was only a block away from the 16th Street Mall, which offers a ton of shopping and great places to eat. We stayed here because the price was good, but if we had planned ahead a little more, we might've been able to find something nicer, similarly priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This location is great for getting to 16th St Mall and public transport. It's a convenient and clean hotel but we hated the throwaway plates and utensils at breakfast and the waste that must be generated daily was a horrid haunting thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arrived at 9am from an overnight train trip. We were made very welcome and allowed to go straight to our room. The room was everything that was expected.
The Complimentary breakfast was of a good standard. Close location to City Mall and restaurants - Can recommend the Vietnamese Restaurant on the Mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Other reviews speak to the location - it is fine and convenient. You are very close to the useful and free shuttles that run up and down the 16th street mall. We travel a lot and use Choice Hotels a fair bit (that is the chain that Comfort Inn as a part of). This is one of the worst in the chain bar none. We stayed six days and had our room cleaned once and that was at 8 a.m. Want to sleep in to 9, you are out of luck. I had to find our own replacement towels, soap, dump our own garbage. The dust was so thick on the dresser that I wrote "dust me" on it )(see the picture below) it was still there when we checked out. Food from room service lingered in the hall for more than 36 hours - you get to watch the sausage rot in this hotel. We requested a "Do Not Disturb" sign from the front desk, none was ever provided despite the promise to have one brought to the room. I could go on, but you get the point. A decent property that suffers from neglect. Where is the manager of this place? Send in Gordon Ramsay, please.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortDenverFD, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear bluesonwhyte,
It was truly disheartening to learn that we failed to give you the comfortable experience you expected and deserve. I assure you that the Housekeeping problems you faced are far from typical. I have addressed your concerns with our Housekeeping and our In-Room Dining teams and will be thoroughly reviewing our operations so that no guest ever faces what you encountered. I sincerely apologize to you, and thank you again for pointing out areas we can focus our training efforts.

Respectfully,
Brandt Ellwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Address: 401 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.