We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE Hotel but Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Court Place, Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #64 of 148 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
chicago
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“HUGE Hotel but Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Hotel
The hotel has 2 towers/ buildings and everything is far away from everything else. For example the restaurants are in one building and the gym is in the building across the street. The conference center may be in your building / tower however there is no quick access to the conference area... need to go through a series of hallways and escalators to get there. If your meeting only gives you 1 hour for lunch... you will spend 15 minutes of that lunch just getting to a restaurant. There is a take out in the " building" but a very limited menu. The hotel is HUGE... and it will be a walk to get to anything in the hotel... the pool, the gym, the restaurants. Get a map to find things. Be prepared to get lost. The layout does not make it easy to find things.

Room Service:
Because I was conducting a management skills training class I ordered breakfast every morning. What was frustrating is that I marked on the card what time the tray should be brought up ( within a 15 minute window)... everyday they arrived up to 30 minutes before to deliver the tray. One time room service came 45 minutes early ... needless to say I really was not ready to see anyone! Once i realized the time issue.. it was great. The food was well prepared, came hot, and tasted good.

Conference rooms
Need to know they are far away from your room. You will get a work out just getting to your conference room. Some of the rooms are better than others. The one I was teaching in was next to the kitchen and participants complained of the noise! The room also had a BIG pillar in the middle of the room, so half of the room was useless. There is a phone of the wall to get assistance and help is quick to respond... which is nice. The temp in the room was comfortable. The lighting was good as well. No complaints here. The biggest complaint is how far away it was from everything else for breaks and lunch.

The Room
My room was on the small side for a king size bed. They had these " smart systems" thermostats in the room which kept really cool during the hot summer month I was there. I have noticed that in hotels with the "Smart Systems" thermostats the room temps are controlled better .... never too hot or too cold. So while my room was on the small side it had a great view and was clean. I was given the option to a free continental breakfast, which I did not use.

The Bed
Great bed. Very comfortable. they give you lots of pillows all with different degrees of softness. You will find one you like. I typically do not sleep well when on the road but I slept very well. Between the room temp being perfect and a great bed, I had a great nights sleep every night.

Location
WOW what a great location! the mall is right out side the door and the "mall bus" is right there. So shopping and restaurants are right there.. so many choices to choose from... good luck.
This hotel is in the center of the Heart of Denver. Could not ask for a better location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear ChgoGal2,
We apologize for the challenges you faced while in our community. We have passed along this information to our In-Room Dining managers so that we can improve on our services. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed, as well as the comfort in our room temperatures. We hope you allow us a second chance to improve on the mishaps that are in our control. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
Tony Dunn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    557
    402
    156
    64
See reviews for
163
280
123
727
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent last weekend, 2 nights (8/23,24) at the Sheraton Downtown Denver. Overall I had a great experience, There is a pool on the 5th floor with free cabanas and lounge chairs. Bar at the pool. Everyone seemed to be having a good time, kids in pool, people sun bathing. Newly renovated rooms. Very nice workout facility.

Brooke?? (passion was Iowa Football) Made checkin a breeze, very friendly !

This hotel is pet friendly for dogs up to 40lbs. There was no cost, just a wavier.

Room service was good. Good choices til midnight- Southwest chicken quesadilla was great and the burger was cooked a perfect medium

On 16th street mall. -There are a lot of homeless people on 16th street, very nice, but letting you know. Pianos in the street, art everywhere and random street performers. Free shuttle running up and down the street.

Cabs are always lined up outside of the hotel.

$25 dollar cab ride to dicks sports field in commerce city.
$12 dollar cab ride to Broncos stadium.
Under $10 to Rockies depending on # of people or walk.

Only down side was a fire alarm on the morning of Sunday the 25th. Alarm started at 4:40am and continued on til 4:52am.

Room Tip: room #'s ending near 50 and 51 are a far walk from the elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: Make a green choice by not having room service come for a day and recieve a $5 voucher to use for food or drinks at in house restaurants, lounges and bars.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear shredDaily,
It sounds like you did a great amount of exploring Denver while staying with us! We love to have our guests get to know the city we call home. We do apologize for the fire alarm waking you, but greatly appreciate your compliments on your stay regardless. We have passed along your feedback to our front desk managers to share with their team and hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Thank you.
Tony Dunn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

On August 12 and 13, my wife and I and our two teenaged children stayed at this hotel in downtown Denver. This is a nice looking four star downtown hotel right in the center of the action, next to the 16th Street Mall and a couple of blocks from the state capital and the mint.

The room was well appointed and had a little extra room between the two queen beds and the television and dresser. It had a nice desk and a separate reading chair with a reading light.

Thanks to the free downtown shuttle on the 16th Avenue Mall all of Denver was conveniently accessible. Both Coor's Field and Mile High Stadium are within reasonable walking distance of the shuttle.

There was a nice outdoor pool, on the 5th floor, but no hot tub we were aware of. Parking on site was convenient, but expensive ($24 self park, multiple entry). More affordable outside surface parking is in the next block.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear CletusMinneapolis,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed our positioning on the world famous 16th Street Pedestrian Mall. We feel that being close to almost everything our guests could want, sets us apart from competitors. We hope to welcome your family back again.
Tony Dunn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is in the heart of all the action and the 16th street mall which was a source of entertainment during my business trip. It's a huge hotel and getting from the lobby to my room was quite the jaunt. Due to it's size, it's easy to get lost trying to find conference rooms. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, especially Ben at the front desk. The rooms are large and clean. I was able to stay in a PURE room, which helps me sleep really well considering I have terrible allergies. Great views, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Executive Suite for a full weekend. It was a top pick due to location and services, in which it did not significantly disappoint.

Overall location-wise, the hotel could not be in a better spot. It is right on Court & 16TH. It is however at the start of 16th on the opposite end of Blake St. (Further down and towards Larimer). Bus rides, taxis, petty cabs are plenty though.

The service was great, anything asked for was given without hassle, and more. Room service was timely and service never took over 30 minutes. Confirmation of services was often as well.

The only slight disappointment was in the area of rooms/features/amenities. The suite was very spacious and comfortable. The rooms were not completely separated however (as by door, only by hall/pathway) and the bathroom was unexpectedly tiny (more than I've seen most standard non-suite rooms). Also the pool did not seem heated, was not very large or deep, and a hot tub was missing--thus we did not stay long. Refrigerators and microwaves were not standard but could be requested. Minor complaints for seemingly expected items/features.

In short, it was a great stay. Yardhouse, mix, 1550, Peet are all part of the hotel and were great places to frequent. The location was amazing and the room was overall relaxing. I would stay again, but keep an eye out for a possible better value or desired features.

Green Features: Great options in lieu of room service. For saving as well.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear LuzPez,
We greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our executive suite, as well as our positioning on the world famous 16th Street Pedestrian Mall. We feel that being close to everything our guests would need, sets us apart from competitors. We have shared your wonderful compliments with our associates and thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back to our community again in the future.
Tony Dunn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel a couple of times over the last couple of years. It's a great location if you want to see downtown and the 16th street mall. The 16th street mall shuttle runs up and down the street and you can access most restaurants and points of interests that are downtown from that shuttle. The last time we stayed here we had bid on Priceline and were able to get a nice deal. Our hotel room seemed a bit dated and it appeared that it had not been remodeled in awhile. Customer service was acceptable and we would stay again if we were looking for a deal downtown. There are many other nice hotels in the area that I would rank above the Sheraton though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear thatjordan,
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our location and serviced. I agree with you we have the best location of any hotel in Denver located directly on the 16th Street Mall. I am sorry that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. We have quite a few different options available to our guests in room size and type so let us know when you are returning again and we will ensure you have the best available room that meets your needs for that trip. Please let me know if you would like to interact with me directly by sending me an e-mail with your contact information at: chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Sheraton Downtown Denver is a huge hotel with lots of convention space but the rooms are not even close to being considered 4 star.
Pros:
Nice bedding
Staff was friendly
Check-in and out was efficient
Close to 16th street.
Cons:
One outlet in room, no where near bed
TV with poor reception on major news channel
TV Remote old and took superman force to press the buttons
King size bed took up virtually all the space with maybe 3 feet clearance in any direction
Coffee maker was nice but the room is so tiny that it took some acrobatics to use it because of the way they crowded in the furniture.
Tiny bathroom
Air conditioner extremely loud
Two out of three printers were non-functional in their lobby service area, but it was free.

Fine for 1 night but still a disappointing room for a Starwood member.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear EW62,
I appreciate you bringing these things to my attention.
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your accommodations. Since we are the largest hotel in the State of Colorado, we have many different room configurations and sizes. Each guest has different needs and we can definitely provide you with a much larger room upon a return visit. I am also sorry that a number of our other amenities and services were not properly operating and have made note of your comments to our leadership teams in a variety of areas. I would enjoy an opportunity to interact with you directly should you wish it, please contact me at chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com and provide a phone number should you like to speak with me.
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Address: 1550 Court Place, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#47 Family Hotel in Denver
#52 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel is centrally located in Denver's financial and business districts, surrounded by fantastic shopping, microbreweries, restaurants, and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.