We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Managment leave much to be desired” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 Court Place, Denver, CO 80202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #60 of 147 hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service and Managment leave much to be desired”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Recently experienced a first and last stay at this property. Poor service followed by lack of responsivness to service issues from the staff and manager, Chuck Schuringa, cut what would have been a 2 night stay to just a 1 night stay. Request for a copy of my statement via email after during check in was not fulfilled and it has taken multiple calls and encounters with staff who could care less (including Mr. Schuringa) before the request ever made it to the only person/department in the hotel able to respond to such requests. After several hours still waiting on a response....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear PiperBrown1: We apologize for the challenges you experienced with receiving your bill. It is our understanding that your concerns were resolved shortly after speaking with Mr. Schuringa. We do our best to make every guest feel welcome and assist with all concerns in a timely manner. If you have additional concerns or need further assistance with your bill please connect with us again. Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest program and we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    497
    368
    146
    56
See reviews for
153
258
116
659
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location was spectacular. The service was exceptional. Front desk was helpful. Service in 15/50 was friendly. Housekeeping was lacking.

I guess if you book a package, they put you in the Tower rooms. Evidently, the tower hotel was designed by IM Pei. Nice to know, but doesn't make the room any more livable. You have to cross under the street to get to the Tower and use the escalator and/or multiple elevators. If you have mobility issues, ask for the Plaza rooms. I specifically asked for a room without a connecting door. Guess what? That's what I got. Along with it came a minuscule closet and no full-length mirror.

The bathroom was very small and not well cleaned--same for the room. We had plenty of hot water and water pressure which reviews on other sites had complained about. We didn't have enough towels and despite leaving a tip for housekeeping and a note, we didn't get more. The room might be acceptable for one person for a short stay, but not for two. The bed was good and the linens nice. There was coffee spilled on the wall by a previous guest and was not cleaned up by housekeeping. The back of the door in the bathroom was gross.

It would have been nice to know that we could have gotten a minifridge, but there would not have been any place to put it in the room. One wall of the room included the small closet, the connecting door to the next room, the desk, TV stand with TV, tiny dresser, and chair. The other side of the room was just large enough for two night stands and a king bed.

We booked with two different rates--one the Van Gogh Package for one night and a AAA rate with breakfast for the next. We had to get replacement keys the second day because we were on two different rates. Our room wasn't made up because we were on two different rates. Finally, it was made up after 4 pm. Even though parking was included with the Van Gogh package, I was charged for parking. Their billing department is closed on the weekend, so I can't resolve it until Monday.

We used self parking and found it convenient. The tower elevators from the parking level smelled horrible. Whatever they sprayed didn't help. The Tower elevators are small.

You can't beat the location. Attention to minor details would make this hotel spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for a Plaza room if you have mobility issues or want a larger room. Higher up is better because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear ciezie: Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. We apologize that you were not assigned to a room as you requested. Whenever possible we do our best to accommodate such requests. Please feel free to let us know of anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable including bringing a mini-refrigerator to your room or sending a member of our housekeeping team to make up your room. We hope you enjoyed your experience at the Van Gogh exhibit at the Denver Art Museum. Denver has many other exciting attractions we can recommend within walking distance as well. Please connect with us directly if you still have questions regarding the parking charges on your bill and we will be happy to assist you. The next time you are in need of a getaway, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Traveled with a group and this is a combined opinion of the hotel. Location is superb; situated along the shopping mall. Many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. A free city shuttle is also provided. Try not to trip over all of the people sleeping in the streets, begging for money and pay no attention to people fighting or ranting in the streets of Denver. Rooms were adequate and ranged from small to very large. The furniture and design ranged from 1970 to present. Lighting in all rooms was OK except the bathroom where it was dismal. They do not want to let you see what you really look like. One room did not have functioning climate control and the party taped the air duct to keep from hearing the conversation from some other room. The beds were OK. Nothing special. Not one person rated there bed as super comfortable. If you speak to the staff they will tout their 70 million dollar +/- renovation. I do believe they spent the money but only in the common areas. The common areas are impressive. It is a very large hotel and 70 million does not go as far is it did years ago. The food offerings in the hotel are poor. No variety, overpriced and mediocre at best. Workout area superb and large. The best part of the hotel is the staff and the cleanliness. All rooms and common areas sparkling clean. Every staff member was helpful and knowledgeable. The hotel food ( convention menu) high on presentation average on quality. Nothing to write home about. Lots of highs and mediums. Would I stay there again? Yes, after I try the top rated hotels on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear LinusBF2: Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased our team members made you feel welcome and that you had the opportunity to experience the 16th Street Mall during your stay. It is wonderful that you appreciated the renovations made to our public space. Our $70M renovation did include the guestrooms and public space. During your next stay we hope you and your group will have the opportunity to experience all of our restaurants and bars which feature a range of prices and cuisines from casual soups and salads to traditional Irish or American options. Our concierge would be happy to recommend other local restaurants as well. We do apologize that the air conditioning was not working properly in one of the rooms. Please let a member of our team know and we will address the problem as quickly as possible to make sure all out guests are comfortable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our community again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Your staff was wonderful. From the Front Desk employees, Managers and housekeeping. It was very refreshing to walk by a housekeeping employee and to be asked if everything was ok and if there was anything that we needed.

Thank you for making my nights stay and time with my grandchildren fun. They loved breakfast with Santa and the pictures were great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Marcia D: It is wonderful to hear that you had the opportunity to experience much of what our Denver community has to offer. We're confident there's plenty more to enjoy during your next stay with us. We apologize that your air conditioning wasn't working properly and hope one of our team members was able to assist you with adjusting to a comfortable temperature. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mile High City soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Friday-Parade of Lights and visiting family Sat-Park Meadows shopping Sunday-White Christmas at Buell Theater

Stayed three nights on Starpoints. Only hotel charges were for self-parking ($25/day). As a Gold member the desk offered us points or free internet.

First ever visit and found the underground parking garage before we found the lobby drive. Don't worry, turns out the desk will exchange your paper garage ticket for your room/parking keycard. In our experience, don't stress at the crowded parking on B3 (blue) level. Head further down to B4 (red) which was half empty when B3 was a jammed up mess.

We were placed in the tower on the 16th floor facing east (towards Capital building?). Engineering turned off the AC hot water as the AC blew heated air regardless of the thermostat setting (unusually warm WX for that time of year). Otherwise, we thought the hotel property appeared to be kept up very clean and nicely maintained. I did not see anything tore up. The room was cozy for two people and the bathroom was one-at-a-time. My wife did apprieciate the wide and deep vanity.

The some aspects of the furniture reminded me of a W style (French Quarter-New Orleans and the now-owned-by-someone-else Diamond Head-Honolulu). The bed was great though my wife did not care for the pillows. Even though there was a noticable gap under the room door, we almost thought we had the floor to ourselves because it was so quiet. And we were practically next door to the elevator and across from the vending/ice. We brought our own wheeled cooler - no fridge. Since it was so quiet, the convenience turned out to be a plus. Free-standing flat panel TV.

By day three I had the elevator shuffle figured out. From the tower elevator ride down to the 2nd floor. Walk across enclosed skybridge to main building. Ride another elevator (this one is very dimly lit inside - can barely read signage) down to lobby. Walk across the lobby bypassing the lobby driveway doors to another door that exits near the Yardhouse. IMHO the best way to get to the 16th Street Mall.

If you are in the tower, find the seperate elevators in the tower (not the ones that take you to tower guest rooms) that take you to the underground parking garage. Move your vehicle closer to these on the least crowded parking level (go deep).

There is a nice soup and sandwich shop that can be accessed directly from the tower lobby. The Yardhouse is a nice experience too. We also had lunch at Johnny Rockets down the street one block. We pretty much walked the 16th Street Mall from Sheraton to the Westin and back at least once to explore. Rode the free mall shuttle several times. There is a movie theater just a couple of blocks down the mall we visited twice.

We were very pleased with our stay and accomidations. Did not have time to try any other of the Sheraton's amenities. We may try the Westin sometime in the future (just because) but we would return to the Sheraton in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear David S: We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to experience the Holiday season in our community. We hope you and your family will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We could not believe how understaffed the front desk was on a Saturday. We arrived around noon and waited 20 min to check in. There was no concierge at the desk and the bell hop was overwhelmed. We also had to seek out someone to valet our car. 20 min wait was ok with us. We were early and they gave us our room. The problems started around 1pm and lasted through dinner. The line to check in wrapped orotund the corner and all the way down the hall past the shops. The front desk was clearly understaffed and it just got worse as the day progressed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear jocomitchells: We are disappointed to hear about the challenges you experienced at check in. We can assure that that typically the process is much more efficient and welcoming. We invite you to return so we can prove that what you experienced is not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here with a date and we did the Van Gogh package. Overall this was a very good value and we had a nice time. The hotel has very stifling and dry air and you could not open a window. Woke up feeling like I had slept in a sauna.

Room Tip: Bring a humidifier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear breckbmcq: We are excited to hear that you were able to experience the Van Gogh exhibit at the Denver Art Museum. During your next stay, feel free to let a member of our guest services team know if the air conditioner is not working properly and we will address your concern so you will be more comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to our community soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Address: 1550 Court Place, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#43 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel is centrally located in Denver's financial and business districts, surrounded by fantastic shopping, microbreweries, restaurants, and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.