We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Free Parking, 1207 Pennsylvania Street, Denver, CO 80203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5280 Dinner Package
Ranked #1 of 9 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at CHM for three nights will visiting our daughter in December. She lives very near downtown and through Tripadvisor we found CHM. What a find!
Our stay was excellent to say the least. The owners of the B&B were very friendly and very helpful.
The breakfasts were more than anyone could hope for.
We were walking distance from downtown and enjoyed a few brisk/chilly walks during our stay. We never drove our car the entire time.
The property is historic, beautiful, and comfortable. When we checked into our the room we found our bed was very squeaky. Shortly after informing the owner the bed was tightned up and no longer made any noise. He thank us for letting him know.
We will be staying at the Capitol Hill Mansion B&B anytime we come back to visit in Denver!

Room Tip: Saw just about every room and they all looked great. I would be happy staying in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    46
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
262
59
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The inn was amazing - comfortable atmosphere - great location -within walking distance of many historical landmarks of Denver. The rooms were lovely and charming , each one unique and decorated to the period. The breakfast was excellent ---- waffles with whip cream and peanut butter...we wanted more and more. Nicci and David

Room Tip: We love the "Shooting Star" room , but I think the "Bluebell" is the best lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went here with my husband for our anniversary! What a gorgeous place! Each of the rooms were uniquely decorated - I couldn't help but sneak a peak at the ones that weren't occupied - and I absolutely loved them! Our room was so charming - had a sitting room, a fireplace, a hot tub and big, fluffy bed that we sunk into and didn't feel like getting out off!! they even decorated it with rose petals, had a beautiful bouquet on the desk, with champagne and chocolates for us! What I really appreciated though was that at breakfast the next morning, the chef went out of his way to make a vegetarian breakfast for my husband even when he told him that he'll make do with fruits and toast. I thought that was very kind of him and the breakfast was delicious! Very innovative and filling and full of love and warmth! :) Seeped through your body and kept you happy all day! Totally recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This lovely restored B&B was within walking distance to our daughter's apt. We had a wonderful 3 night stay and woke up to the most delicious breakfasts imaginable! While we never experienced the 5:30 pm "happy hour" since we were out visiting family members, the breakfasts were second to none. (Hope you post the recipes for your Tuscany poached eggs and the meringue cream, Carl.) We were in the Paintbrush room, convenient to the dining room. The room had several thoughtful amenities; fresh flowers, toiletries, hot pot for tea, drinks in the mini fridge. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels had a very pleasant scent. Thank you, Carl & Bailey, for your gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Well, I can't say enough about this Bed and Breakfast, the place is absolutely Beautiful the rooms are clean and charming! The owner Carl makes you feel very much at home, he is a chef so the breakfasts are AMAZING. Our stay was a memorable one! I look forward to returning.

Anne & John

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for our 5th Anniversary! Carl and Bailey are so nice and the Carl's breakfast was outstanding. We were in the Pasque Flower room and our oversized jetted tub was sooo enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I planned a surprise getaway for my husband's birthday, and Capitol Hill Mansion did not disappoint. Well-maintained, elegant and comfortable, the 1891 house reflects the care that Carl the Innkeeper puts into it. The mansion sits in the heart of Capitol Hill, just blocks from several Denver attractions. We strolled over the the Denver Art Museum, as well as the Clyfford Still Museum (not to be missed if you enjoy Abstract Expressionist art), and the fantastic vegetarian restaurant City O'City is within walking distance as well. The breakfast at the mansion was stellar; Carl really has a gift and a passion for cooking and baking. We will definitely return to the Capitol Hill mansion, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#35 of 150 in Denver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: Free Parking, 1207 Pennsylvania Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Denver "A Journey through Architecture" "Located in the heart of the Museum district, downtown Denver. A gorgeous, romantic Denver Bed And Breakfast nestled in the quaint Capitol Hill Neighborhood in downtown Denver, this national and state historical-registered Inn is a short walk to the State Capitol, gourmet restaurants, theaters, museums, shopping and more. Eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites offer turn-of-the-century opulence with modern day flair. Some rooms feature private balconies, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs. All rooms feature private baths, beautiful antique furnishings, fresh cut flowers, high speed wireless internet, cable TV, writing desks, modem ready phones, in-room refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, and air conditioning. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast each morning prepared by Denver's Urban Culinary Creations, Chef Carl S. Schmidt II and as well as wine service each evening featuring Colorado wines. Free On-Site Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Mansion Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.