We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Free Parking, 1207 Pennsylvania Street, Denver, CO 80203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5280 Dinner Package
Ranked #1 of 9 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the bluebell suite, which is even prettier than in the photo. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the whole place is beautifully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was cooked fresh every morning by Carl and was varied and delicious, served in the pretty garden.
The only snag, which in my opinion is not serious, is that the bluebell suite is right next to the kitchen and Carl's computer desk is right outside the suite door, so if you know he is there it might put you off being intimate with your partner, if you know what I mean ;-)
Still, I'm sorry we inly stayed 2 nights as it is a really delightful place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    46
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
265
59
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A beautiful place in a quiet area of Denver and still in walking distance to 16th street. We stayed in the Elk Thistle room with the original bath tub from the early 20th century. Despite the absence of Carl, everything worked perfectly and Bailey did a wonderful job. Bailey, all the best for you and your baby!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Living in Breckenridge, we've tried lots of B&Bs on our trips to Denver. This is by far and away the best ... ambiance, food, rooms: All fabulous. We've been looking for a home-away-from-home B&B for fun/business/etc in Denver and this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I just spent an amazing week at the Mansion. The place is beautiful and the food is out of this world! Carl Samuel and his daughter Bailey work very hard to ensure that everyone fells welcome. They even prepared a special meal for my daughter-in-law to comply with her dietary needs. I would definitely recommend this place to my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed four nights in the Blue Belle suite. There was a private entrance from the garden so we could come and go from our room to the car easily. Carl was a warm and friendly host who served wonderful gourmet breakfasts in the beautiful garden. Unfortunately we did not get to meet Bailey as she was away for a few days. Our suite was large, perfectly appointed and well kept for us during the four days we were there. The mansion is located in the heart of the older part of the city only a block or so from the Molly Brown museum. We have stayed in a few other B&Bs that could not hold a candle to this one. I am convinced that we could not have found a better place to stay while visiting Denver for our 40th wedding anniversary.
Vicke and David from Ohio

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent a Saturday and Sunday with Carl and Bailey at the Mansion. We stayed in the Shooting Star Room and had a wonderful time. The mansion is beautifully restored and is elegant and comfortable. We opted for the Romantic Getaway and had a bottle of very nice chilled champagne awaiting us along with beautiful roses that we unfortunately could not take with us and some absolutely delicious chocolate-dipped strawberries that disappeared fairly quickly. The bed was strewn with silk rose petals. Every time we sat on the bed, some more stuck to us, which was cute. The location was excellent, although the neighborhood is a little edgy at times. We were accosted by a very aggressive homeless man, which was a bit disturbing. However, it's close to everything downtown, just a few blocks away.

Then there were the breakfasts. Carl obviously loves to cook, and the product showed it. One morning we had pancakes with greens topped with fried eggs. Never missed the syrup. The next morning, we had souffles that were just yummy. Lunch was not necessary. We highly recommend the Capitol Hill Mansion for a stay in Denver

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this beautiful B&B and we liked it very much!! The welcome of the daughter of the owner was so nice and friendly we immediately felt at home! Later we met owner and he was also very nice and friendly. They helped you to learn the nicest spots in the area. In the afternoon there is wine and beer. You can chat with other guests. Also the breakfast is an experience! It's delicious!!! This is the place to stay in Denver!!!! Highly recommended!!! Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#35 of 150 in Denver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hotel Monaco Denver - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: Free Parking, 1207 Pennsylvania Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Denver "A Journey through Architecture" "Located in the heart of the Museum district, downtown Denver. A gorgeous, romantic Denver Bed And Breakfast nestled in the quaint Capitol Hill Neighborhood in downtown Denver, this national and state historical-registered Inn is a short walk to the State Capitol, gourmet restaurants, theaters, museums, shopping and more. Eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites offer turn-of-the-century opulence with modern day flair. Some rooms feature private balconies, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs. All rooms feature private baths, beautiful antique furnishings, fresh cut flowers, high speed wireless internet, cable TV, writing desks, modem ready phones, in-room refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, and air conditioning. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast each morning prepared by Denver's Urban Culinary Creations, Chef Carl S. Schmidt II and as well as wine service each evening featuring Colorado wines. Free On-Site Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Mansion Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.