We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Free Parking, 1207 Pennsylvania Street, Denver, CO 80203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5280 Dinner Package
Ranked #1 of 9 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was our 4th stay with Carl & Bailey. Wouldn't go elsewhere! The wonderful surroundings are exceeded only by their fantastic hospitality. The gourmet breakfasts in the garden just can't be beat. We'll be back - soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    41
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
70
230
57
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this B&B. The owner and his daughter were very friendly. We slept in the lovely Forget-me-not-room and it was a nice room. We could peek in some other rooms and they looked nice as well. The owner turned out to be a crafty cook and made us two very good breakfasts. The first day we had great strawberry cheese pancakes and bacon (the best we‘ve ever had). The second morning he made some spicy Mexican food from his Texas roots.

Hotel is located in the nice Capitol Hill area. It’s a 15 to 20 minute walk to the 16th street mall. You pass the State Capitol on your way there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

A beautiful B&B in a great location.The breakfasts were amazing with tasty foods and fresh fruits. Our room was beautiful with a nice balcony to sit and relax. We would stay there again on a future visit. 16th street was a nice walk from the B&B. Great time & wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Snowlover balcony room was a great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Great rooms, each with there own unique decor and amenities. Best breakfasts on either side of the Rockies.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was a brilliant place to end our Four Corners RV road trip. We stayed 3 nights to wind down and sample the best in historic B&B hospitality, ambience and fabulous breakfasts before hitting the sights in Downtown Denver. It certainly did the trick. We loved this place where our two hosts, Carl and Bailey, run a 'top notch' establishment. Why stay anywhere else when you can have beautifully furnished, comfortable, large rooms, gourmet breakfasts and a lot of fun.
The location is great, although be advised to get the super shuttle if you are travelling without a car from the airport. It is less than half the price of a taxi. There are a couple of nice little neighbourhood restaurants round the corner, City 'O city and Fleur Bistro. These are fun places and the food in each is good, tasty and reasonably priced. For a treat and a short 10 minute drive away, try The Buckhorn Exchange for something completely different!
Places within easy walking distance include The Molly Brown House Museum, Vance Kirkland Museum of Fine and Decorative Arts (a real gem), the Denver Art Museum, Byers - Evans House Museum, the State Capitol and 16th Street Mall, with it's free hybrid buses (if you get tired) and quirky brightly painted pianos on the pavement to play as you pass by. Finally, do not forget a visit to the Tattered Cover Bookstore!
This was our first visit to Denver and hopefully not our last and we wouldn't stay anywhere else but Capital Hill Mansion.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Carl and Bailey run a wonderful bed and breakfast. They are amazing hosts and it really is my home away from home! The house is beautiful with many different rooms - all decorated and well maintained. Equally as special is the breakfast that is made every morning for the guests. The entrees, the baked goods, fruit - EVERYTHING is so good and it has been consistent as long as I have been coming here.
It is truly a treat to stay here in this historic house and to be around such amazing hosts!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Our group of five stayed in three different rooms at the B&B in May 2011. All of the rooms were exceptional and spacious. The B&B is super close to downtown Denver and parking is free which was a huge perk as well. The breakfast each morning was delicious... breakfast was always something different, delicious, and unique to look forward to each day. They even made us cookies one afternoon! We would recommend this location to anyone staying in Denver. The hosts were very friendly and extremely accomidating.

Room Tip: Recommend staying on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: Free Parking, 1207 Pennsylvania Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Denver "A Journey through Architecture" "Located in the heart of the Museum district, downtown Denver. A gorgeous, romantic Denver Bed And Breakfast nestled in the quaint Capitol Hill Neighborhood in downtown Denver, this national and state historical-registered Inn is a short walk to the State Capitol, gourmet restaurants, theaters, museums, shopping and more. Eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites offer turn-of-the-century opulence with modern day flair. Some rooms feature private balconies, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs. All rooms feature private baths, beautiful antique furnishings, fresh cut flowers, high speed wireless internet, cable TV, writing desks, modem ready phones, in-room refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, and air conditioning. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast each morning prepared by Denver's Urban Culinary Creations, Chef Carl S. Schmidt II and as well as wine service each evening featuring Colorado wines. Free On-Site Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Mansion Hotel Denver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.