We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant redeemed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Ristorante Italiano

Venice Ristorante Italiano
1700 Wynkoop St, Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)
(303) 534-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Venice Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 2,347 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 17th Street
Transit: Union Station bus terminal
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Restaurant redeemed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

It was our first time there during 5280 week with a party of 5. We got there at 7 and all ordered within 20 minutes. We didn't get out food until a little after 9 including the salad. The waiter didn't seem to concerned with our food and kept bringing us bread. We were with family from out of town so we had plenty to catch up and didn't complain. Once we got our food it wasn't very good and some had cold food. The next week I called and talked to the manager. He apologized and asked us to come back in for a free meal. We went back a month later with a couple of our friends. Everyone's food was amazing. At end of our meal the owner came and asked us how our meal was and apologized for the bad service we had. He brought us a nice bottle of Italian champagne and sat with us for a bit. Everything ended up being free which was probably well over $250. I was only expecting a free meal not everything for free!! The owner went far beyond our expectations and we were all very great full. I have never had the owner of a restaurant come sit with me to ask about my meal. I will definitely go back and eat there again because the food from the regular menu was much much better than the 5280 menu. Lesson learn from this is don't go to a restaurant for the first time during 5280 week. The food is not on the regular menu and you might be disappointed and never return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    44
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Food and Service was Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Before arriving in Denver, we had heard from a friend that if you want Italian food, then the Venice Reistorante is the place to go. Since we were staying downtown just off of the walking street, we decided to give it a try. We inquired about directions at the hotel concierge and they made us a reservation. We arrived our table was almost ready so we opted to check out the bar. There was plenty of seating available there, the selection of wines seemed endless, and there was a very good selection of beers. Once seated at the table our waiter explained the day's specials, made great recommendations, and allowed ample time for us to completely review the menu before ordering. We all opted for salads of different varieties and fish. Everything was fresh, well presented, and the service was top notch! The decor of the restaurant is contemporary and nicely done. If we return to Denver again, this is on our list for a repeat visit. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good place to celebrate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were in Denver for a family celebration and dined at te Venice Ristorante at the suggestion of the innkeeper at our B&B. Overall, the experience was very good. The appetizer recommended by our server--an antipasto with proscioutto, salami, bruschetta, calamari was pretty tasty and plentiful, although the calamari was somewhat bland and I left a lot uneaten--and I love calamari. The entrees were very good--a seafood and pasta dish and a veal dish with a side of roasted potatoes. The chocolate mousse dessert was also very good but, again, bland. A highlight of the meal for me was the cappucino which came with truly steamed, hot milk--not like the cooled version one gets at other places.

The service was very attentive. Our server was extremely enthusiastic and this might put some people off but we liked it.

We would certainly try this restaurant again if we return to the Denver area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An excellent evening of fine wine, good food and attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I went to the Venice with a small group of friends for dinner. The butternut squash ravioli was excellent, though not convinced by the tempura sage leaves. Ossabucco was well cooked and a good portion. It was complemented well by the saffron rice. However the side bowl of penne with tomato was entirely superfluous. The richness of the food meant I had no desire for dessert. The wine was good. The waiter was effusive about everything and just a little over the top. I also felt somewhat pressured to order more wine though we had had sufficient. But he was polite, interested and attentive. A great evening out on a quiet Tuesday evening.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Taki!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Place is the same as olive garden, wasted of money. Save it and just go to olive garden same food less Price tag. Service was the wrost there was a person name pier fake Italian accent. Food took an hour to come the place was not busy. Bad manegment!!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Venice Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.