We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dowtown Option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #16 of 149 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gainesville, Florida, Usa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Dowtown Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This Hampton lives up to the quality we expect from the Hampton Inn chain. The location is perfect for anything you want to do in downtown Denver. Coors Field and the 16th Street mall are easy walks. Rooms were perfect and the staff was very nice. The only issue may be parking. First option would be valet parking ($20), but that fills up if you arrive late. There is a pay parking lot across the street, but you have to be out by 6:00 AM. I ended up parking a block down at a meter that is free until 9:00 AM.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us - we appreciate your feedback! I'm glad to hear that the hotel's location made it easy for you to enjoy all the options for dining, shopping and entertainment in downtown Denver. It is easy to walk or use the 16th Street Mall shuttle to get to most everything within the city center area. I appreciate you sharing your experience with parking as well. Our valet lot doesn't fill up all the time but there are good nearby options for parking as well with street meters being free from 6pm - 9am and free for the duration of the weekends. There are several private lots as well with most of them having options that suit many people's needs.

We hope you and your family will come back to stay with us again if you make the trip from Florida again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    170
    41
    9
    7
See reviews for
129
114
40
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Always a good quality stay at a Hampton Inn. This one maintains the quality expected. Good location close to the Rockies ballpark. All employees very friendly, the breakfast was good and everyone helpful to get cabs at all hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! Our team is glad to hear that you enjoyed great customer service and all that our property has to offer. We hope you'll come back to visit us again for a baseball game at Coors Field or a vacation away to enjoy some Colorado sunshine. Thank you again for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is convenient to the 16th Street Pedestrian Mall (about 5 blocks) and Coors Field (15 minute walk). There are so many restaurant options within walking distance that getting your car out of the adjacent pay lots or valet is not necessary. The hotel is clean, quiet and the breakfast is serviceable.

Not a bad choice for convenience and cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay - we appreciate your feedback and observations and appreciate you offering tips to other travelers. We are located very close to tons of restaurant, entertainment and shopping options in Downtown Denver so you've got plenty of choices for your free time. We hope that you'll come back to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is my second time staying here. The place is very clean and the staff is so helpful and friendly. It's a great value for the price. I will always stay here when I visit Denver. The only gripe is they need more luggage carts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for writing your rave review - we love hearing about all the things you enjoy about our hotel! Our repeat guests become a part of our family here at Hampton Inn & Suites. We love seeing familiar faces and learning the preferences of our return customers so we can better serve them. We hope to see you again soon - thank you for your continued loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This Hampton Inn is well located, walkable distance to shops and restaurants without downtown prices. The neighborhood is fine - a stunningly beautiful highrise apartment building is nearby. Sherman St is a block off of busy roads, so traffic noise is absent. Plenty of parking is available at a reasonable cost if you choose not to valet-park your car.

Checkin was prompt and courteous. The lobby is spacious as is the breakfast area. Our king bedroom was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The window is operable, a nice touch. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We are pleased that you made us your choice for lodging this summer. It is fantastic to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed the location, the amenities & services we offer and our staff was helpful. We hope that your business travels will bring you back to Denver so we have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you again for your review - it is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location of this downtown HI&S puts you within 3 - 4 blocks of the 16th Street Mall where there are a myriad of stores and restuarants to choose from. Not sure the age of this property but it appears relatively new as all the public areas and room accomodations are in good condition and well maintained. The lobby is relatively small but it serves the purpose. Valet parking only at $20/night.

So what separates a HI&S from its peers and makes a traveler like myself rave about a property is THE STAFF - the men and women charged with making maybe only a one night stay a truly memorable experience. This is where this property needs serious improvement.

For example:
1. As an Honors member they did not accommodate my room preferences as other properties always do. They did not offer a room upgrade or even a simple bottle of water to compensate. Instead, I was left with only a few room choices the best of which was on the back side of the bldg. facing the wall of the adjoining building. This is not the Hilton Honors way. The room itself was fine except for no exhaust in the bathrooms.

2. When I needed my car from valet parking, I personally handed my claim ticket to the young man behind the front desk and waited for his return. He returned and instead of personally handing me the keys with "have a nice day " etc., he walked right past me and dropped them off at the front desk where I then had to request them. He was oblivious to how this situation should have been handled.

3. The two mornings we had breakfast the eating area was a disaster. Food was all over the floor, tables were not wiped, the trash cans were overflowing and they RAN OUT OF COFFEE. On top of that, other hotel team members (including managers) casually walked past all these issues, didn't jump in to personally help or even redirect others to remedy until a hotel guest brought it to their attention. In the hospitality business it all eyes and ears on the guest - something this team needs to better understand.

Summary: the location here is good and so are the accomodations but reserve here knowing that you will not be serviced like you should when spending in excess of $ 200/night. The team at a HI&S in Missouri we stayed in recently and which cost us less than $ 100/night ran rings around this team. This team is unattentive, lacks casual engagement with the guests, is impersonal and in serious need of training to meet Hilton standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us - we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

I am very sorry to hear that despite the good things that you enjoyed about the property you were still left with a bad feeling after your stay here. All of our team does their best to provide each guest with great customer service but it sounds like we fell short of your expectations.

We feel that any mistakes are an opportunity for us to revisit the core values of hospitality that we base our business on and do some retraining if necessary to ensure we are delivering all our customers a great experience. On behalf of all of our team members, I want to apologize for you not receiving the best impression of us; this is not the "norm" for our hotel and we are sorry that we didn't better meet your needs.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again if you return to Denver so we can show you the exempliary customer service we are known for at this property. Thank you again for providing us your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days during one trip and was pleased with my stay. The hotel is in walking distance of some great areas in dowtown Denver and the staff was friendly. It should be noted that since you are in downtown Denver it is not easy to find parking which means you most likely will have to get valet service. It is 20 dollars for your stay for with unlimited come and go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us! We pride ourselves in providing clean, comfortable accommodations and friendly service to all our guests; it sounds like you experienced just that!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the parking as well. Due to the limited amount of space that we have, we believe the valet parking is the best option for guests so they can come & go as they please without paying multiple times at the parking lots in the area.

We hope that you'll come back to visit us again soon so we can show you more of our Denver "Hamptonality"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Address: 1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Denver
#19 Business Hotel in Denver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Denver hotel offers a comfortable retreat in the heart of downtown. And if you're overwhelmed by all the exciting entertainment opportunities in the Mile High City, don't worry. The Hampton Inn & Suites® Denver-Downtown hotel team will be happy to guide you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hampton Inn And Suites Denver Downtown
Hampton Inn Denver
Denver Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.