We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, modern, clean, close enough to walk to most places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #18 of 148 hotels in Denver
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap, modern, clean, close enough to walk to most places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What more could you want??

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was super friendly and even went out of their way to find us a new light bulb for our night light. The hotel was well-kept and the decor was modern. The rooms were clean and neat (and we got a good deal on our rate). The hotel was close enough to the heart of downtown that we could walk to the 16th Street Mall and many other locations. The free breakfast was pretty tasty each morning (and it was FREE!).

Well, I'll tell you, my only complaints were minor and they were that 1) I think there was only 1 elevator working during most of our stay, so you occasionally had to wait a long time for a lift. 2) Twice we made it downstairs 1-2 hours before the end of breakfast and there was no coffee to be had (except decaf, bleh)! 3) There's no vents in the rooms' bathrooms so it got really hot and foggy in there really quickly. You have to crack the door ASAP or risk passing out!

Overall, I think I would return to this hotel the next time we're in Denver and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us - it is good to hear that you felt right at home here! Our staff always tries to ensure we provide you with excellent service and make your stay memorable.

I'm sorry you experienced some issues with our elevators while they were being serviced. We have worked tirelessly to make sure that both elevators are in tip-top shape and there are no future outages to inconvenience our guests.

I am also very sorry to hear about you not being able to enjoy coffee during some mornings of your stay. Coffee is one of the most important ways to start the day for many of our guests and staff so we know how disappointing that must have been. Your feedback is essential in working with our staff to ensure we can correct this moving forward.

Thank you again for all your comments and feedback - we truly appreciate you taking the time to send your review. We look forward to serving you again if you return to the Mile High City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    136
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
103
94
34
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location, close to 16th street. Little pricy, but probably because is in the middle of downtown Denver. Not much parking available. Bfast was good, staff was friendly, room met our needs. Pool and fitness center were great, but hot tub was broken while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown - it was a pleasure to have you as our guests!

I am glad to hear that the hotel was a good fit for you and met your needs for a weekend away. I am sorry that you weren't able to enjoy the hot tub during your stay. Our maintenance department worked diligently to resolve the issue and it was available for use just after your departure from the hotel. I know that doesn't provide any consolation since you weren't able to use it but please know we did our best to fix it as quickly as possible. We hope that you'll return to our hotel if you come back for a visit to Downtown - we would love to have you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanopolis, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Its nice what you pay for, bed is a little uncomfortable. they never had fresh made cookies at the front desk (which is a nice treat some locations offer). Shower was small, but I was just there for a business trip. Not personal. I have 2 more trips already planned to stay at this hotel for location/price

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown for your recent stay in Denver! We appreciate your feedback on your stay and are very glad to hear that you will be returning to see us again in the coming weeks.

We are sorry you didn't get a chance to have any of our fresh baked cookies! We bake cookies every day of the week and they are available in the afternoon around 3-4pm. Make sure you stop by right around then and you are sure to find them in our lobby.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us - we look forward to serving you again during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in downtown denver. Very clean. Rooms are huge! Beds are comfy. I love how ALL the bedding is clean for every guest!! So nice not to be grossed out by the bed spread! The breakfast was amazing!! Eggs, sausage, waffles, oat meal with nice topping selection, yogurt, 6 kinds of cereal, pastries, bagels, fresh fruit and juices. Also, all day long they have small snacks, fresh fruit, ice water and coffee/tea/cocoa out. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Great pool, hot tub and workout room. Nice office/work area with several computers and printers, free to use. Short walk to convention center, 16th st mall, museum, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! It is fantastic to know that you enjoyed your time here. You got to take advantage of all our amenities and we were a perfect fit for you! Our housekeeping department does a wonderful job providing clean and fresh rooms for all of our guests - thank you for noticing our hard work! We appreciate your feedback and hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wonderful location in downtown Denver. Coors Field is a 0.9 mile walk away. Room was nice and spacious, very clean. What a bargain with the free b-fast included, which was always hopping :). Staff very friendly. We paid $20 a day to have our car valeted at the hotel and they would pull the car in front for us within 5 minutes each time we needed it. Perfect stay for our family of 3 (with 10 year old). Even made use of the indoor pool and Jacuzzi in the basement. Nice workout room there as well.
Can't go wrong with staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for writing such a rave review of the Hampton Inn & Suites - it sounds like we "knocked it out of the park" during your stay! Coors Field is a wonderful place to watch a baseball game and it is an easy walk from here. It sounds like all our amenities were a perfect fit for your family and you even had a chance to enjoy a great breakfast each day of your stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel - our team is thrilled to provide excellent service and take care of guests like you. Come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Capitol of Colorado is an historic place and lovely. Across from it is a great Art Museum as well as the city of Denver library as well as a park where many activities take place. The walk to downtown is pleasant and safe. This is a great hotel to stay at if you are interested in any of the above.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us - we appreciate your review! We are conveniently located next to the Capitol, the Denver Art Museum, History Center of Colorado, public library and so much more! I hope you enjoyed all the wonderful cultural attractions our city has to offer that are closeby and had a great stay. It sounds like you found a great "home away from home" here at Hampton Inn & Suites! There are plenty of other things to see in the city so if you plan a return trip, come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was very clean and comfortable. The beds were excellent. The location was perfect. The hotel staff was great. We left an expensive item in the hotel and did not notice for several hours. We called and they found it and promptly shipped it back to us. Great service/ We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed your time at the hotel. We are also very glad that we could ship back your belongings to you. It's so easy to leave something behind but our team tries to ensure that we can recover everything from guest rooms and return it as quickly as possible. We hope you'll come back to see us again - it would be our pleasure to have you as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Address: 1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown , Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Denver
#20 Business Hotel in Denver
#26 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Denver hotel offers a comfortable retreat in the heart of downtown. And if you're overwhelmed by all the exciting entertainment opportunities in the Mile High City, don't worry. The Hampton Inn & Suites® Denver-Downtown hotel team will be happy to guide you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hampton Inn And Suites Denver Downtown
Hampton Inn Denver
Denver Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.