We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in an elevator!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stuck in an elevator!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had stayed at the Hampton Inn a few years ago and had a good stay so I chose to stay there again. Oh how things have changed over time. The beds are worn out (one was very squeaky and another was shaped like a u so you rolled to the middle), my children got stuck in the elevator for 25 minutes and had to be rescued by the fire department because the hotel did not have an emergency key, and the rooms were not clean. The staff was not eager to help and was overheard talking about us behind our back more than once! We also had neighbors who were smoking marijuana and the smoke was coming into our room. When we called down to the front dest the staff said that they would call the room next to us but did nothing about our room filled with smoke!! I do not normally write reviews but thought anyone thinking of staying at this hotel should be made aware of how we were treated and proceed with caution. The location is close to downtown and the breakfast food was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and cannot apologize enough for your experience. We strive to provide the best in service and amenities and apologize you did not receive that. I understand that someone from your party has recently been in contact with our General Manager and we will do our best to remedy the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at this location over Christmas with my mother and my husband while in Denver visiting my daughter and was definitely not disappointed. The location is terrific as it is within walking distance to her condo. The included breakfast was nice although be careful about timing as they do close it down at 10 am sharp. We booked one suite as well as one regular double queen. I would have preferred that the rooms had been located nearer to one another but the hotel staff did as much as possible to accommodate us. I appreciated that management gave the cleaning staff Christmas day off to spend with their loved ones as well. We will certainly be booking this location for our future visits to wonderful Denver!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabelle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel from your stay over Christmas! We appreciate you sharing your experience and our staff is thrilled to hear that you had a great holiday at the hotel. The location sounds perfect for your family and we are glad we could offer you all the comforts of home while you were on the road. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you come back to visit your daughter!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on the back of a business trip.

Hotel doesn't look like much from the outside and the lobby looks fairly generic but I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were huge (it had a living room and kitchen) with large tvs in both the living room and bedroom. There was free wifi and the gym was decent as well. The buffet breakfast was pretty decent (mix of hot foods, fruit, toast, cereal etc.).

Location is very good as you're about a 5 - 10 min walk from the main shopping/restaurant district.

Overall, I had a very nice stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gung_ho_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites during your visit to Denver! We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and had great customer service from our staff. It is always great to hear that we exceeded your expectations and left you feeling great about your hotel choice. We hope you'll come back to visit us on your next trip to Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel last weekend, with a very reasonable rate from hotels.com. The check in was efficient, and Brianna was friendly and helpful, as were all the staff on subsequent days. The room was nice and clean, and the beds were comfortable, as usual for a Hampton. A few specific details that I think are helpful. This hotel doesn't have a large drive through area to check in. There is just a "loading zone" area directly in front where you can park to check in, and/or valet your car. The front desk people also function as valet, so you just take your keys in to them. Valet parking is $20/night with unlimited ins and outs. There is a pay parking lot directly across the street from the hotel, if you wish to park your own car. I believe it costs $10 each time you leave your car there. (We did not use that lot.) The breakfast is a reasonable hotel breakfast - not the best, but not the worst. They offered scrambled eggs both days, and cheese bagels once, sausage, fruits, waffles (make your own), juice, hazelnut and french vanilla creamers for coffee. The croissants were hard and stale, but the fruit was fresh and nice. The shower pressure wasn't strong enough to suit me but my mother thought it was fine. You can occasionally hear the neighbors in the hallway or neighboring rooms, but overall it was quiet and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkwinwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We take pride in our hotel and are glad to know that you were comfortable throughout your stay. We appreciate your sharing the details about breakfast - we always strive to make sure we have fresh, delicious options and plenty of choices for our guests. We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your visit in Denver and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family stayed at this property for one week over the Thanksgiving holiday. After much deliberation about which hotel to choose, there are many other choices that are so much more expensive, I decided to go with what I know and appreciate. This property had everything my family needed and was a perfect fit for us. The service was quick and friendly, housekeeping was efficient and our room was always spotless with fresh linens and toiletries. We used the pool, hot tub, fitness center and the laundry. The indoor pool and hot tub was a treat before bed for us as east coast, eastern time zone travelers. We were typically up early for the 6am breakfast, 6am - 10am, and in bed before 9pm Denver time and never had any issues with noise. The breakfast was a wonderful value with a huge selection of hot and cold items each day and saved us a ton of money. If we were on the go and were in a hurry the bagged breakfast was perfect. I am a huge fan of the "fresh bed" and appreciate it for myself and my family, comfortable and CLEAN! 16th street mall and many attractions are within walking distance. We took a taxi to the Pepsi Center, Sports Authority Field, Children's Museum and the Zoo, for everything else we walked. We rented a car for only two days of our week long trip to explore Colorado Springs and the many scenic roadways, there is plenty of on street parking with meters (free at night) or the hotel will valet your vehicle for $20/day with unlimited use/checkouts. We were able to find on street parking both days, there is an Avis and Thrifty Rental within walking distance of the hotel. Taxis are readily available ALL over Denver, never a problem. The only issue is the expensive, $60+ taxi fare to/from the airport. There is a Subway Cafe and coffee shop across the street for quick/inexpensive meals for the whole family. My family felt safe at this location however I was STUNNED by the HUGE population of homeless people in the city of Denver, they are everywhere. I would absolutely recommend this property to any traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlumtravelerX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! It is such a pleasure to hear that from check-in to check-out, you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We love having families on vacation stay with us as you have a host of options for entertainment, dining, shopping and sightseeing close by; we also have plenty of amenities and services onsite to help make your vacation even more memorable.

Here's a little tip - next time you come to Denver, use SuperShuttle to transport your family to/from the hotel. The cost is a bit more reasonable and you can schedule everything in advance of your arrival.

Thank you again for your review - we appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope you'll come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was only here a night, waiting to meet up with family and friends, this was a very nice Hampton. Well kept, clean, good location, and had at a very reasonable price. Good breakfast area (well kept neatness, well kept stocked during the breakfast). If you are not looking for crazy luxury, and crazy high prices, this is a solid place to stay! ** Please note, I DO NOT know about the parking situation since i was picked up at the airport and taken to this location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown - we are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us! Our team prides ourselves on great customer service, a good breakfast with options from healthy to hearty, convenient location and being a great value for guests. It is always nice to know that we met your expectations and even exceeded them a bit! For your future reference, we have valet parking onsite at $20/day; we also have parking lots nearby that offer discounted rates for our guests and street parking at meters for short term parking. We hope that you'll come back and see us again - we look forward to the opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When my wife and I travel to Denver we usually stay at the Marriot on the 16th Ave mall. However, this time their rates were quite high, so I shopped around and landed on the fairly new Hampton Inn a couple of blocks from the mall. It was an excellent pick! Everything about the hotel and the very accommodating staff impressed us. But one thing in particular amazed us...the size of our room...it was huge for a budget hotel! (It was not a suite either.) In fact, it was so big that we and our three Denver buddies blew off eating out one night, brought pizza and beer up to the room and watched football there. The staff brought in nice high-back chairs from the conference room, so everyone had a comfortable chair and view of the big TV!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron2062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated, spacious rooms. I am also glad you had an opportunity to relax with your friends, just like if you were at home!

We hope you'll come to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Denver. Tell your friends - we'd love to accommodate them as well. Thank you again for sharing your experience - we appreciate it a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#31 of 150 in Denver
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Address: 1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Denver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#23 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire beautiful Rocky Mountain views, take in a sporting event or discover cultural activities when staying at the Hampton Inn and Suites Denver-Downtown hotel. Conveniently located five blocks away from the convention center, we're close to restaurants, shopping, museums and more. Our Denver Downtown hotel is only three blocks away from the 16th Street Pedestrian Mall, which features 300 plus stores and more than 50 restaurants. Find rides and attractions only a mile away at Elitch Gardens. Cheer on your favorite Colorado Rocky, Denver Bronco or Denver Nugget at Coors Field, Sports Authority at Mile High or the Pepsi Center. Start your day with Hampton's free hot breakfast or grab a free On the Run Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Unwind in a guest room or accessible room offering one-king or two-queen bed room types. We offer one-bedroom, studio, and two-story suites with one-king or two-queen beds. Our rooms and suites feature a 37-inch flat panel HD TV with cable, video games and pay per view movies, a lap desk, mini-bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave and free WiFi. Enjoy staying at a hotel that offers thoughtful services and amenities while putting you in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hampton Inn And Suites Denver Downtown
Hampton Inn Denver
Denver Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing