We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Christmas stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HHonors Weekend
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Christmas stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at this location over Christmas with my mother and my husband while in Denver visiting my daughter and was definitely not disappointed. The location is terrific as it is within walking distance to her condo. The included breakfast was nice although be careful about timing as they do close it down at 10 am sharp. We booked one suite as well as one regular double queen. I would have preferred that the rooms had been located nearer to one another but the hotel staff did as much as possible to accommodate us. I appreciated that management gave the cleaning staff Christmas day off to spend with their loved ones as well. We will certainly be booking this location for our future visits to wonderful Denver!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel from your stay over Christmas! We appreciate you sharing your experience and our staff is thrilled to hear that you had a great holiday at the hotel. The location sounds perfect for your family and we are glad we could offer you all the comforts of home while you were on the road. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you come back to visit your daughter!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    153
    39
    6
    7
See reviews for
112
107
38
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on the back of a business trip.

Hotel doesn't look like much from the outside and the lobby looks fairly generic but I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were huge (it had a living room and kitchen) with large tvs in both the living room and bedroom. There was free wifi and the gym was decent as well. The buffet breakfast was pretty decent (mix of hot foods, fruit, toast, cereal etc.).

Location is very good as you're about a 5 - 10 min walk from the main shopping/restaurant district.

Overall, I had a very nice stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites during your visit to Denver! We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and had great customer service from our staff. It is always great to hear that we exceeded your expectations and left you feeling great about your hotel choice. We hope you'll come back to visit us on your next trip to Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel last weekend, with a very reasonable rate from hotels.com. The check in was efficient, and Brianna was friendly and helpful, as were all the staff on subsequent days. The room was nice and clean, and the beds were comfortable, as usual for a Hampton. A few specific details that I think are helpful. This hotel doesn't have a large drive through area to check in. There is just a "loading zone" area directly in front where you can park to check in, and/or valet your car. The front desk people also function as valet, so you just take your keys in to them. Valet parking is $20/night with unlimited ins and outs. There is a pay parking lot directly across the street from the hotel, if you wish to park your own car. I believe it costs $10 each time you leave your car there. (We did not use that lot.) The breakfast is a reasonable hotel breakfast - not the best, but not the worst. They offered scrambled eggs both days, and cheese bagels once, sausage, fruits, waffles (make your own), juice, hazelnut and french vanilla creamers for coffee. The croissants were hard and stale, but the fruit was fresh and nice. The shower pressure wasn't strong enough to suit me but my mother thought it was fine. You can occasionally hear the neighbors in the hallway or neighboring rooms, but overall it was quiet and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! We take pride in our hotel and are glad to know that you were comfortable throughout your stay. We appreciate your sharing the details about breakfast - we always strive to make sure we have fresh, delicious options and plenty of choices for our guests. We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your visit in Denver and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family stayed at this property for one week over the Thanksgiving holiday. After much deliberation about which hotel to choose, there are many other choices that are so much more expensive, I decided to go with what I know and appreciate. This property had everything my family needed and was a perfect fit for us. The service was quick and friendly, housekeeping was efficient and our room was always spotless with fresh linens and toiletries. We used the pool, hot tub, fitness center and the laundry. The indoor pool and hot tub was a treat before bed for us as east coast, eastern time zone travelers. We were typically up early for the 6am breakfast, 6am - 10am, and in bed before 9pm Denver time and never had any issues with noise. The breakfast was a wonderful value with a huge selection of hot and cold items each day and saved us a ton of money. If we were on the go and were in a hurry the bagged breakfast was perfect. I am a huge fan of the "fresh bed" and appreciate it for myself and my family, comfortable and CLEAN! 16th street mall and many attractions are within walking distance. We took a taxi to the Pepsi Center, Sports Authority Field, Children's Museum and the Zoo, for everything else we walked. We rented a car for only two days of our week long trip to explore Colorado Springs and the many scenic roadways, there is plenty of on street parking with meters (free at night) or the hotel will valet your vehicle for $20/day with unlimited use/checkouts. We were able to find on street parking both days, there is an Avis and Thrifty Rental within walking distance of the hotel. Taxis are readily available ALL over Denver, never a problem. The only issue is the expensive, $60+ taxi fare to/from the airport. There is a Subway Cafe and coffee shop across the street for quick/inexpensive meals for the whole family. My family felt safe at this location however I was STUNNED by the HUGE population of homeless people in the city of Denver, they are everywhere. I would absolutely recommend this property to any traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! It is such a pleasure to hear that from check-in to check-out, you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We love having families on vacation stay with us as you have a host of options for entertainment, dining, shopping and sightseeing close by; we also have plenty of amenities and services onsite to help make your vacation even more memorable.

Here's a little tip - next time you come to Denver, use SuperShuttle to transport your family to/from the hotel. The cost is a bit more reasonable and you can schedule everything in advance of your arrival.

Thank you again for your review - we appreciate you choosing Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope you'll come back to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was only here a night, waiting to meet up with family and friends, this was a very nice Hampton. Well kept, clean, good location, and had at a very reasonable price. Good breakfast area (well kept neatness, well kept stocked during the breakfast). If you are not looking for crazy luxury, and crazy high prices, this is a solid place to stay! ** Please note, I DO NOT know about the parking situation since i was picked up at the airport and taken to this location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown - we are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us! Our team prides ourselves on great customer service, a good breakfast with options from healthy to hearty, convenient location and being a great value for guests. It is always nice to know that we met your expectations and even exceeded them a bit! For your future reference, we have valet parking onsite at $20/day; we also have parking lots nearby that offer discounted rates for our guests and street parking at meters for short term parking. We hope that you'll come back and see us again - we look forward to the opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When my wife and I travel to Denver we usually stay at the Marriot on the 16th Ave mall. However, this time their rates were quite high, so I shopped around and landed on the fairly new Hampton Inn a couple of blocks from the mall. It was an excellent pick! Everything about the hotel and the very accommodating staff impressed us. But one thing in particular amazed us...the size of our room...it was huge for a budget hotel! (It was not a suite either.) In fact, it was so big that we and our three Denver buddies blew off eating out one night, brought pizza and beer up to the room and watched football there. The staff brought in nice high-back chairs from the conference room, so everyone had a comfortable chair and view of the big TV!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated, spacious rooms. I am also glad you had an opportunity to relax with your friends, just like if you were at home!

We hope you'll come to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Denver. Tell your friends - we'd love to accommodate them as well. Thank you again for sharing your experience - we appreciate it a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. Good rooms, nice size too, clean, and well kept. Walking to 16th St or 17th is very easy. Parking is the only problem here. Their nightly parking is expensive and the only other option is uncovered, public parking.

Room Tip: Park across the street, it is only $10 a night vs $20
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown. We are all pleased to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and had great customer service from our staff. We pride ourselves on exceeding guests' expectations and we're glad to hear that you were comfortable here.

I apologize that you were not satisfied with our parking option. Due to the busy nature of our downtown location and limited parking facilities, we have to offer valet parking. I am glad that you found an alternative that met your needs within close proximity of the hotel.

We hope you'll come back to see us again if your travels bring you back to the Denver area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Address: 1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Denver
#15 Business Hotel in Denver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Denver hotel offers a comfortable retreat in the heart of downtown. And if you're overwhelmed by all the exciting entertainment opportunities in the Mile High City, don't worry. The Hampton Inn & Suites® Denver-Downtown hotel team will be happy to guide you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hampton Inn And Suites Denver Downtown
Hampton Inn Denver
Denver Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.