We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, excellent service, most stuff within walking distance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #18 of 148 Hotels in Denver
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, excellent service, most stuff within walking distance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. Good rooms, nice size too, clean, and well kept. Walking to 16th St or 17th is very easy. Parking is the only problem here. Their nightly parking is expensive and the only other option is uncovered, public parking.

Room Tip: Park across the street, it is only $10 a night vs $20
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown. We are all pleased to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and had great customer service from our staff. We pride ourselves on exceeding guests' expectations and we're glad to hear that you were comfortable here.

I apologize that you were not satisfied with our parking option. Due to the busy nature of our downtown location and limited parking facilities, we have to offer valet parking. I am glad that you found an alternative that met your needs within close proximity of the hotel.

We hope you'll come back to see us again if your travels bring you back to the Denver area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    146
    38
    6
    7
See reviews for
109
102
37
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I assumed since it was a Hampton and there are parking lots all around the hotel, they would have a self park option. They don't...only a $20 valet service which is a joke. The lots adjacent to the hotel are privately owned. I parked next to the hotel and paid the ticket not realizing they had no overnight parking. My car was towed. For the rest of my trip I was constantly having to run outside and pay a box to keep my car from being towed...either at 6 am or 6 pm. I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISDenverDowntown, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown. I understand that you were unhappy with the valet parking offered at the hotel and I apologize for the inconvenience. Due to the downtown location that we have, our parking is limited onsite and does come with a fee. We do have discounted rates available at two nearby parking lots that offer you an alternative option for parking. I am sorry you didn't get this information prior but we hope you'll come back to visit us again and let us give you some parking alternatives to better suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were in Denver for the Great American Beer Festival and stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are very large for a Hampton. The front desk staff were very friendly and gave great advice on places to eat. It's only a few blocks from the downtown pedestrian mall. The pool and Jacuzzi were nice. Beware of the cab drivers - most of them didn't know where they were going, thankfully we used our GPS on the phone to help navigate. Take the pedicab/rickshaw rides, they are a blast and the drivers are a hoot!

Room Tip: The king suites are laid out odd - it's one long room with no separation between the living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Now I see what all the 5 stars are about! The staff was very friendly, helpful, and the place is just very, very, very clean - something you don't see even in the finest hotels anymore! The room and bed was quiet and comfortable. When we checked in, we asked about parking, and they gave us the options of the pay lot across the street, parking meters or their Valet service for $20. We opted for the Valet, as we could come/go as we wanted and not have to rack up parking fees across the street. The parking also just worked better for us as we were only there for one night, and needed the car that evening to attend a concert.

The breakfast was good - nothing really spectacular but it was fresh and tasty. The hotel is located pretty close to just about everything downtown, and in a good neighborhood as far as we could tell.

Kudos to the Hampton Inn staff on making this a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There are no rooms with a "Good View"...it's in the middle of downtown, so there will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a perfect Hampton Inn! I loved it from the minute I arrived until the minute I left. It's in perfect condition, very, very clean, and had by far the most food of any Hampton I've visited, and I've been to over 20 of them all over the county. The people who work here love their jobs, care about their guests, and work very hard to make the guest experience as good as possible! The rooms are marvelous, the beds are great, and it has a great exercise room and pool on the lower level. It was a short walk to 16th Street and the Convention Center, so we did not have to drive here. I went with a group of co-workers, so we stayed in six separate rooms. Everyone agreed they loved this hotel! The only bad experience we had was our supervisor was kicked out of her room on the first morning and had to pack her bags and leave them at the front desk, and move into a different room the second night through the rest of the week. The first room was better with a King size bed and she was moved to a room with two double beds. She was never given a good explanation for why this occurred. I am sure this well run hotel will make sure this does not happen to future guests. I will stay here every time I'm in Denver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend here and loved the location. We walked a few blocks to the 16th Street mall and felt very safe the entire time. This hotel has all the usual Hampton inn amentities including a great breakfast in the morning. Our room was on the top floor(6th) but unfortunately didn't have a great view, facing the office building next door - typical of many downtown hotels. The staff was very pleasant and helpful in providing directions.

Room Tip: Free weeekend parking on the street in front of the hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a three night stay over a long weekend for the Broncos vs. Texans game on 9/21-9/24/12. I found this as being one of the most reasonable rates for that weekend (as everything downtown is hiked up for game weekends). We like Hampton Inn so we decided this was a good choice. The parking was good, as there are 4-5 spots a few yards in front of the lobby door for loading/unloading. They have free parking not far away on the weekends and a paid parking lot directly across the street. The decor was very modern and colorful, we liked it. I enjoyed the two big screens in the fitness center as well as the free breakfast with plenty of healthy choices. Our bed was comfortable and the room was much bigger than expected. The room was quiet overnight. Our only issue was the elevator. This hotel is six floors and we were on the sixth floor. Several times I took the elevator to save time because one of the two elevators was out. If you need use of the elevator for a disability, etc., I would request a room on the first floor. We had a very good stay and would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Very nice! The staff was impecible and very friendly!

Room Tip: Only two elevators, choose first floor in case one of the two elevators is out of service as with ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown

Address: 1845 Sherman Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown , Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Denver
#19 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique-style Denver hotel offers a comfortable retreat in the heart of downtown. And if you're overwhelmed by all the exciting entertainment opportunities in the Mile High City, don't worry. The Hampton Inn & Suites® Denver-Downtown hotel team will be happy to guide you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Denver Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hampton Inn Denver
Denver Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.