We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Appaloosa Grill

Appaloosa Grill
535 16th Street, Denver, CO 80202 (Downtown)
(720) 932-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Appaloosa Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #152 of 2,558 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 16th St. Mall @ Welton
Transit: Appaloosa Grill is located one block from Northbound Light Rail Station and two blocks from Southbound Light Rail Station. The Grill's front door is located at a "free mall ride shuttle stop" as well. The "Mall Ride" shuttle runs the length of downtown Denver from Union Station to the Capitol.
Description: Established in 2001, the employee owned Appaloosa Grill is a refreshingly unique choice among eateries that line the 16th St. Mall. The diverse all day menu features 100% natural meats as well as a variety of vegetarian choices.
Wichita, KS
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“quick dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Good variety. Bison is a featured entree. Service is attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Good food, good experience

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    93
    41
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Quite Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I recently had dinner at the Appaloosa Grill and unfortunately, the experience left me underwhelmed. The restaurant itself was fine. They have a few outside tables, which was nice to take advantage of the warm July afternoon. The tables have umbrellas, and the pole goes right down the middle. That made it a little awkward on our table because I felt like I was continually peering around the pole.

The food really wasn't great. I ordered a Caesar Salad with grilled chicken. It was one of the most tasteless, forgettable salads I have had. I ate about 1/3 of the salad and then just had no desire to continue. I was so disappointed I didn't even bother looking at a dessert menu. They did offer a decent selection of beer, although other grills have MUCH better selections.

The service was good- our waitress was friendly and checked in on us frequently. No issues there.

I also didn't think the value was very good. For the amount we paid, the quality of the food did not justify the cost. I felt the restaurant feeling like I'd been a bit ripped off.

The 16th Street Mall has lots of food choices. Next time I'm here, I will definitely choose a different restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Large Group - Decent Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a large group on a Saturday night and was pleased with the service. The food was ok and considering the weekend crowd, the staff were very nice and did a great job of taking care of us. Would go there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quite good, pleasant, older decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pleasant lunch time beer and bison burger for casual business. Very helpful server. Ambience was good. Interior somewhat dated and holes in upholstery. Cutlery all clean and that's probably more important.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Tried the Pistachio Lemonfish due to a recommendation by another user on TripAdivsor. It was delicious with a variety of flavors. The bartender stated that the dish is his favorite as well. I would have again if in the area. This restaurant is located at the 16th Street Mall so it is a destination.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appaloosa Grill also viewed

 

Been to Appaloosa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appaloosa Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.