We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic Restaurant Takes You Back in Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Rockets

Johnny Rockets
3000 E 1ST Ave, Denver, CO 80203-4823
+1 303-399-5522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,063 of 2,558 Restaurants in Denver
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Restaurant Takes You Back in Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Did you grow up in the 50's or the 60's with the little diners that had checkerboard tiled floors and a real soda fountain? Then, Johnny Rockets' the place for you! We visited this location twice during our recent stay in downtown Denver. First, we ate supper--footlong chilli cheese dogs and burgers and fries. Yum! The chocolate shake finished off our meal with a cherry on top. The next morning we returned for breakfast. Eggs cooked to order, hash browns, and thick sliced bacon filled us up. Located on the famous 16th Street Mall, this restaurant is perfect for any time of day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great shakes and burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Johnny Rockets in Denver was the best place on 16th Street for a superb shake and burger. It's an excellent choice for a quick lunch when craving a burger and an old timey shake!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great shakes and bottomless fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We were on holiday in Denver in July from Belfast in Northern Ireland and ate in the Johnny Rockets on 16th St twice. We thought it was a fantastic 50's style dinner with great value and tastey burgers. They do a meal deal of burger/chilli dog/toasted sandwich and fries for $5.99 and you can ask for as many refills of fries as you can eat. The burgers are pretty tastey and for a few cents extra you can add toppings of your choice to personalise your tastey patty. We had a strawberry milkshake and a Fanta orange float which was absolutely delicious and to die for. A big shout out to our waiter Aleandro (sorry about the spelling). He was a really nice kid who worked hard and had a massive genuine smile and thank you when we tipped him $5 which was nothing much really. Keep it up, you'll go far with your work ethic and friendly attitude :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Walk away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and kids went there on our last trip to Denver. We stay at the Sheraton on 16th street. We are all foodies, yes even my 7 and 11 year old!! We love good food, expensive or not. As long as its good we are there. We thought to go there since we all enjoy a good burger. We walked in- got seated and the waitress took our drink order and food. She brought out our waters and my sond sprite. The waitress was such a space case that she spilt the sprite ( as she was holding it) all over me and my $200 purse! It was beyond upsetting! I went to the bathroom to clean up what I could only to see the bathroom was soo dirty. We got our food because it was already late, I had two hungry kids, and I couldn't do anything about my cloths or purse. I sucked it up and before you knew it the waitress brought us a bill thinking I was gonna pay for her mess. I ended up talking to the manager and straggtened things out. The waitress Forgot to let the manager know!! The place is gross, the food is nothing special. Ignore the bright sign and go somewhere else!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A Quick Bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Nothing fancy here but we didn't expect that. The service staff were very friendly and speedy. It was a quick lunch. For one thing - it was certainly a cheaper Johnny Rockets than the one we went to in Roppongi Tokyo many years ago! Food quality could use a little work. Convenient location.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Rockets also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Rockets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Rockets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.